Thread Tools
May 18, 2012, 01:20 AM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMEIV
Yes I understand that the distances are on the air but I was wondering if you had done a distance test on the ground in Low Power mode...
No, not ground test with low power mode.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 18, 2012, 08:34 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp
No, not ground test with low power mode.
I made this test when I make the first flight of a new FPV airplane to learn more about how far I can get.
May 21, 2012, 04:24 PM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Please, can someone explain me why it's necessay a resistor 100 kilo ohms on yellow cable of the rssi signal ?
May 21, 2012, 04:48 PM
Registered User
i was told to use between 10-100k ohm, so i went with a 22k ohm..
have no clue why its necessary.
May 21, 2012, 07:13 PM
Registered User
The resistor protect RVOSD input - RSSI analog input on RVOSD is not buffered. Without it, any voltage spike above 3.3V could kill the RVOSD main board MCU.
May 21, 2012, 08:41 PM
WannaBeLikeJoshTheSlowJet
bakchos's Avatar
Hey guys, i made a quick clip of my RTH, it was ok on my skywalker but since i have it on my wing, i have a strange problem, it works and get my plane over me but the throttle is on and off in short burst, i have redone the wizard before this flight and get the same result, i have the throttle around at 50% when asking level flight, is this ok or should i ignore the throttle on this step of the wizard ?

Watch that clip, btw never mind the shaking, it was 60+ km/h winds today !

Return to home problem RVOSD G5 (0 min 50 sec)
May 22, 2012, 12:54 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HF_ATL
The resistor protect RVOSD input - RSSI analog input on RVOSD is not buffered. Without it, any voltage spike above 3.3V could kill the RVOSD main board MCU.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bauf
i was told to use between 10-100k ohm, so i went with a 22k ohm..
have no clue why its necessary.
Yes but the red cable is disconnected so I don't understand why a spike above 3.3V could kill the RVOSD.. The only cables connected are black and yellow ?
May 22, 2012, 01:12 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
I use a FrSky receiver 8ch and to obtain the rssi signal I put this electronic modules by Mieciu http://uav.org.pl/index.php?page=sho...id=105&lang=en

I can see on Mieciu's electronic modules a couple of resistor.. So do you think that in this case it's necessary another 10-100 kilo ohms resistor ?
May 22, 2012, 03:08 AM
Registered User
The signal wire carries the RSSI signal and is that signal that can have spikes above 3.3v, nothing to do with the power.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMEIV
Yes but the red cable is disconnected so I don't understand why a spike above 3.3V could kill the RVOSD.. The only cables connected are black and yellow ?
May 22, 2012, 03:59 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos
Hey guys, i made a quick clip of my RTH, it was ok on my skywalker but since i have it on my wing, i have a strange problem, it works and get my plane over me but the throttle is on and off in short burst, i have redone the wizard before this flight and get the same result, i have the throttle around at 50% when asking level flight, is this ok or should i ignore the throttle on this step of the wizard ?

Watch that clip, btw never mind the shaking, it was 60+ km/h winds today !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVgpc36f-wc
i see that the "return to home" text is flashing a little, i think you have the failsafe points to close. http://rangevideo.com/forum/showthre...n-progress-%29
maybe you need to adjust step 7. ?
i had that problem same problem,the return to home text was flickering, and the servos and motor went on and off.
May 22, 2012, 05:47 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HF_ATL
The signal wire carries the RSSI signal and is that signal that can have spikes above 3.3v, nothing to do with the power.
Ok thanks.
May 22, 2012, 08:25 PM
Registered User
superevan's Avatar
Does anybody have any experience or videos of launching with RVOSD stabilization on?

I've found some with FY-31ap and Ruby, but not RV.
May 22, 2012, 08:28 PM
WannaBeLikeJoshTheSlowJet
bakchos's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by superevan
Does anybody have any experience or videos of launching with RVOSD stabilization on?

I've found some with FY-31ap and Ruby, but not RV.
i have, let me upload the take off
May 22, 2012, 08:36 PM
WannaBeLikeJoshTheSlowJet
bakchos's Avatar
there you go, that take off is with Fly By Wire.

fly by wire (0 min 15 sec)


The shaking is because of the 60km/h winds, i always take off with FBW, that way you only have to worry about the elevator.
May 22, 2012, 10:48 PM
Registered User
superevan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos
there you go, that take off is with Fly By Wire.

The shaking is because of the 60km/h winds, i always take off with FBW, that way you only have to worry about the elevator.
Awesome bakchos, thanks for posting your video. So overall do you feel comfortable launching with fbw on every time or just when conditions aren't the best?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 744 Oct 16, 2015 09:17 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 10:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 04:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 12:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 02:51 AM