Lumenier RB2205C-12 2400KV SKITZO Ceramic Bearing Motor
Thread Tools
Old Jan 29, 2012, 12:38 AM
jeff2215 is offline
Find More Posts by jeff2215
Registered User
jeff2215's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabster101 View Post
Setting up RSSI has nothing to do with getting RTH working. RTH, once configured properly, will work with or without having RSSI hooked up.
Well it must be causing some issues if my RTH quit working. Once I unplugged the RSSI input it was working again. Hence the resistor on the signal pins.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2012, 07:48 AM
bakchos is offline
Find More Posts by bakchos
WannaBeLikeJoshTheSlowJet
bakchos's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2215 View Post
Well it must be causing some issues if my RTH quit working. Once I unplugged the RSSI input it was working again. Hence the resistor on the signal pins.
No it has nothing to do, its a coincidence, when you run the rc wizard, that's when it all get calibrated, so if you did not rerun the wizard thats why it was not working.

The resistor also helps your RX, it can drain power without it and causing problem/short range.
Old Jan 29, 2012, 07:50 AM
bakchos is offline
Find More Posts by bakchos
WannaBeLikeJoshTheSlowJet
bakchos's Avatar
anyone here using an LC filter with RVOSD ?
my ESC is very noisy and i am not sure where to place it, should it be after the current sensor -> osd or between the osd -> VTX ?
Old Jan 29, 2012, 08:49 AM
jeff2215 is offline
Find More Posts by jeff2215
Registered User
jeff2215's Avatar
I still think its causing the issue but that's not worth discussing :-)

So I'm assuming you still have to calibrate the RSSI. Can you just set the minimum RSSI by turning your tx off?

Also, the 10K resistor just gets soldered in the signal line then going from the rx rssi out to the temp/rssi in on the osd?

Thanks
Old Jan 29, 2012, 09:04 AM
bakchos is offline
Find More Posts by bakchos
WannaBeLikeJoshTheSlowJet
bakchos's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2215 View Post
I still think its causing the issue but that's not worth discussing :-)

So I'm assuming you still have to calibrate the RSSI. Can you just set the minimum RSSI by turning your tx off?

Also, the 10K resistor just gets soldered in the signal line then going from the rx rssi out to the temp/rssi in on the osd?

Thanks
You can set the minimum but i think you should redo the wizard, you will be sure that 100% and minimum will be set at the same time.

And yes for the resistor.
Old Jan 29, 2012, 09:09 AM
jeff2215 is offline
Find More Posts by jeff2215
Registered User
jeff2215's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
You can set the minimum but i think you should redo the wizard, you will be sure that 100% and minimum will be set at the same time.

And yes for the resistor.
Will do. Thanks!
Old Jan 29, 2012, 10:13 AM
SLCPilot is offline
Find More Posts by SLCPilot
Registered User
Flew with the RVOSD autopilot for the first time yesterday. The plane is a Sig Rascal (40 size) with the camera on the bottom of the plane. The fly-by-wire and level flight modes worked really, really well! The RTH not so much.

What bank angle does should the RVOSD command after passing home? How quickly should the turn start? At what angle should the plane climb or descend? Does it climb or descend based on the input limits?

For what it's worth, it amazing what it does for the cost!

To the developers...PLEASE have a display feature that lets the pilot know what mode they're in all the time. Also, an option to control the display without using the right stick would be nice!

Cheers!

SLCPilot
Old Jan 29, 2012, 10:22 AM
jeff2215 is offline
Find More Posts by jeff2215
Registered User
jeff2215's Avatar
I agree. It would be nice to know what mode your in. It only flashes briefly on the screen.
Old Jan 29, 2012, 01:23 PM
Elcheapo is offline
Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
The only mode that disappear from screen is the fly by wire mode, all the other modes will stay on screen. The reason for this is that I am not only a programmer, but I do also FPV.
I turn FBW ON from the very moment the plane take off, so is annoying having it on the screen, so I made it disappear after few seconds. However notice that you will see four dots blinking around the flight path mark(FPM) when regular FPM is selected, or two additional radials steady when smaller(default) FPM is selected.
And the plane on FBW mode is to much stable to be unnoticed.
Old Jan 29, 2012, 11:12 PM
cabster101 is offline
Find More Posts by cabster101
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
anyone here using an LC filter with RVOSD ?
my ESC is very noisy and i am not sure where to place it, should it be after the current sensor -> osd or between the osd -> VTX ?
Between the osd and VTX seems to work best for me.
Old Feb 02, 2012, 04:36 AM
Aussie Pete is offline
Find More Posts by Aussie Pete
Registered User
Aussie Pete's Avatar
...
Last edited by Aussie Pete; Jun 16, 2012 at 11:01 AM.
Old Feb 02, 2012, 05:12 AM
ommadawn is offline
Find More Posts by ommadawn
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Hi Pete,
I havent looked at the whole thing yet as the web service is a bit slow here. Im on Koh Samui atm, just chillin.
Cant wait to get back and do some real flying.
Old Feb 03, 2012, 04:08 AM
Phelec is offline
Find More Posts by Phelec
TBs are GO!....FAB....no..FPV!
Phelec's Avatar
Can any one tell why the waypoint function for the OSD5 is "disabled for outside of the USA"?
By the way I am here at home "atm, just chillin".
Old Feb 03, 2012, 04:11 AM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phelec View Post
Can any one tell why the waypoint function for the OSD5 is "disabled for outside of the USA"?
By the way I am here at home "atm, just chillin".
Because everyone living outside the US is considered a potential terrorist.
Old Feb 03, 2012, 08:52 PM
Phelec is offline
Find More Posts by Phelec
TBs are GO!....FAB....no..FPV!
Phelec's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps View Post
Because everyone living outside the US is considered a potential terrorist.
So, from this I understand it's ok to make some sort of guided (even destructive I guess)) flying object to go to a waypoint situated in the USA, but you are forbidden to do this outside of the US?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 744 Oct 16, 2015 10:17 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 11:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 01:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 03:51 AM