This thread is privately moderated by old_dude, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Jun 12, 2011, 10:10 AM
Groundloop World Champion
Thread OP
Discussion

SCORPIO ThreeDee400 Maidened

Well folks, I've had this Scorpio ThreeDee400 ARF for a number of years... Actually, I have two of them but only one put together and ready to fly. I hadn't flown it because I thought my older flying skills may have deteriorated and I do not like to crash !

A couple of Thursdays ago it was calm and so I thought, what the he**, lets see if it will fly and I can fly it. It turned out to be more of test of my flying skills than I had intended . The takeoff went just fine (I need to relinquish my Ground Loop World Champ title ). I found that as I advanced the throttle it wanted to climb .... no problem. BUT, uh-oh MAYDAY !! The 3D was real jumpy and wasn't responding to my inputs properly. Being an experienced test pilot, I quickly realized that the stupid crew chief (that's me also) had the ailerons reversed .......aaarrrggghhh.

This is where my many years of experience took over and I managed to land without any damage...wheew. Now, one of the mandatory basics that one needs to learn is how to control roll when your plane is flying toward you. There are two (perhaps more) techniques for this. One is to mentally put yourself in the cockpit and turn your body more or less in the direction the plane is traveling, while looking over your shoulder at the plane. The other is to move the control stick in the same direction as the down going wing. I use the second method and doing so has saved my ass a couple of times. In this case it was relatively easy (mentally) to reverse the technique, move the stick in the direction of the up going wing.