New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jun 11, 2011, 04:15 PM
billpa is offline
Find More Posts by billpa
billpa's Avatar
Cool

ET Announces Standalone G-Force MicroSensors, starting at $26.99!


Need to know how many G's you pulled in that last barrel roll? Eagle Tree is pleased to offer the world's first standalone G-Force meters for RC models.



The tiny, low cost sensors measure G's in the X, Y, and Z axes during flight, and the maximum encountered forces on each axis (in 10ths of G's) are displayed on the built-in 7 segment LED.

Of course, the G-Force Microsensors are fully compatible with our eLogger V3/V4 and OSD Pro products, and provide real-time logging, display and graphing of of the G-force data when used with these products.

Each unit is factory calibrated, with no user calibration required. You can even use the G-Force MicroSensors in your own Firmware/Microcontroller project.

There are two models available:

* 3-Axis G-Force Microsensor, up to 8 g (7 g minimum) (MSRP $26.99 USD, p/n GFORCE-LOW)

* 3-Axis G-Force Microsensor, up to 40 g (38 g minimum) in X and Y axes, and up to 8 g (7 g minimum) in Z axis (MSRP $63.99 USD, p/n GFORCE-HIGH)

​Please click here or post questions here for more information!
Site Sponsor
Last edited by billpa; Jul 18, 2011 at 05:57 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 13, 2011, 05:40 AM
aa78 is offline
Find More Posts by aa78
Fast and low...
aa78's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa View Post
more to come...
Guardian?
Old Jul 18, 2011, 05:32 PM
billpa is offline
Find More Posts by billpa
billpa's Avatar
no.
Site Sponsor
Old Jul 28, 2011, 04:58 AM
tino_ale is offline
Find More Posts by tino_ale
Registered User
Well, this is great!!

Could people post what maximum G they see on various models ? That would really help the rest of us choose which is adequate for our intended use.

Is the 8G version easily maxed out ?

edit : deleted some questions I found some answers in the manual.

Thanks!
Last edited by tino_ale; Jul 29, 2011 at 01:24 PM.
Old Jul 28, 2011, 12:18 PM
B2Streamlines is offline
Find More Posts by B2Streamlines
Registered User
B2Streamlines's Avatar
The PDF manual states: "The JR/Universal servo end of the Standalone Cable connects to a spare Receiver channel or small battery. Note that the voltage must be between about 4V and 16V (4V to 6V for the High G sensor). Do not exceed 16V with the low G sensor, or 6V with the High G sensor!"

Is this a _nominal_ Voltage maximum or a measured Voltage maximum?

Our planned installation uses the High G sensor and a 5-cell NiMH pack driving a 2.4GHz radio system. When fully charged this battery pack puts out up to 7.2V for a very short time, 6.4-6.6V over an extended time. We can't use a 4-cell pack.
Last edited by B2Streamlines; Jul 30, 2011 at 01:17 AM. Reason: clarity of question
Old Aug 01, 2011, 08:39 AM
tino_ale is offline
Find More Posts by tino_ale
Registered User
anyone ?
Old Aug 01, 2011, 07:08 PM
billpa is offline
Find More Posts by billpa
billpa's Avatar
B2Streamlines, the calibration of readings above about 7G will be off at voltages above 6V. Further, voltages above 7V may damage the sensor. A possible solution is to insert a standard (not a schottky) diode between the battery/rx connection and the + (red) wire going to the sensor. That will generally drop the voltage by about 1+V.
Site Sponsor
Old Nov 04, 2011, 11:40 PM
achronox is offline
Find More Posts by achronox
Registered User
Problem solved - deleted this post.
Last edited by achronox; Nov 04, 2011 at 11:56 PM.
Old Nov 17, 2011, 05:52 PM
RC REDHOTS is offline
Find More Posts by RC REDHOTS
Registered User
Short question!
Can the wires on the G-Force module be extended , seeing is how sort they are.
If so will it have any affect!
RCREDHOTS
Old Nov 18, 2011, 06:26 AM
dhares is offline
Find More Posts by dhares
Registered User
Yes. ET sells an extension cable, or you can make one.
Old Feb 14, 2012, 02:04 PM
Frenchy Tomcat is offline
Find More Posts by Frenchy Tomcat
Registered User

High G sensor and FDR


How and where onnect the G sensor with the FDR. If tried onto G-Force port it seems that is not the right port and nothing is recorded
Old Feb 16, 2012, 01:27 PM
swami is offline
Find More Posts by swami
Registered User
swami's Avatar
Does anybody know about how many G-s can be expected at the landing?

Would it reset the maximum value?

With my Funjet i got about 10 G-s by pulling like crazy, but since it lands on it's belly that number might be exceeded.


Dirk.
Last edited by swami; Feb 16, 2012 at 01:45 PM.
Old Mar 23, 2012, 08:18 PM
rsowder is offline
Find More Posts by rsowder
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar

G sensor calibration


I have two of the low G sensors. The first one would read .92 sitting on the ground. I updated to he latest firmware and now it reads 1. The second one I recently installed in another plane reads .92 with the latest firmware. I see there is an option to calibrate, but it's greed out (not selectable). How do I calibrate it?

Randy
Old Mar 30, 2012, 03:58 PM
billpa is offline
Find More Posts by billpa
billpa's Avatar
Frenchy Tomcat, missed your post earlier. The G-force microsensor is not compatible with our flight data recorder. There is a separate hi-G sensor availble for that, on this page.

Randy, there's not a way to calibrate the G-force microsensors. I'm not sure why your unit is doing that. Did you buy the two units at the same time?

Glad to replace it for you if you'd like.
Site Sponsor
Old Mar 30, 2012, 06:39 PM
rsowder is offline
Find More Posts by rsowder
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
Bill, for some reason it is working fine now. Reads right around 1G sitting on the ground. So, no more issues :-)


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion ScaleAndTile3 - Placeholder for 25 December 2007 Release segraves Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 2 Dec 02, 2007 11:38 AM