Jun 08, 2011, 01:19 PM
Thread OP
Question

Can I Use 40-50A ESC for Floater-Jet EPO Motor 2100KV?

Hey Guys,

Please help, I'm a newbie.

Can I use a 40-50 ESC for Floater-Jet EPO Motor 2100KV?

Here is the detail for the motor I've found googling:
AX-2208N 2150 KV Outrunner 27.7x31.4mm (DxW), 3mm shaft, 40 gram, 18A with 5x5 prop 3s.

Here is the detail for the ESC I got from Hobby King:
Cells: 2-4S
Max Current: 40A
Burst: 50A
BEC: Opto Only
Timing: 1/7/15/30 programmable
PWM: 8/16K

Here's my thinking so far:
- If I give full throttle, the ESC will push 50A to the motor.
- If I give zero throttle, the ESC will push 0A to the motor.
- If I give half throttle, the ESC will push 25A to the motor.

Is my thinking true? Please do correct me if I'm wrong.

But if it is true, does it mean that I have to limit my throttle at only 36% in order not to give the motor more than 18A?

Please help because I really don't wanna fry my motor at the first time flight experienced. It would be a discouraging accident for a newbie.

Thanks a bunch,
Beruang.
to remove ads between posts
Jun 08, 2011, 01:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beruang
Here's my thinking so far:
- If I give full throttle, the ESC will push 50A to the motor.
- If I give zero throttle, the ESC will push 0A to the motor.
- If I give half throttle, the ESC will push 25A to the motor.

Is my thinking true? Please do correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks a bunch,
Beruang.
Your thinking is wrong.

The ESC doesn't "push" anything to the motor, it only passes on from the battery what the motor demands so, in this case what you have is:

1. A hugh safety margin because the ESC can handle 40 amps but your motor, with the setup you quoted, should never demand more than 18.

2. A slight problem in that the ESC does not have a built in BEC so you will need to buy a seperate one to power your reciver and servos when you reach Low Voltage Cutoff for the motor.
Jun 08, 2011, 03:24 PM