Thread Tools
Jun 09, 2012, 05:40 AM
Gotta Luv Gasser Helis..
_Peter's Avatar
+2...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 13, 2012, 06:58 PM
Registered User
I would like to see a telemetry device that would simply take an RS232 stream and feed it into the airborne XPS receiver and then on the ground the XPS transmitter would make the RS232 stream available to be plugged into an external laptop computer or microcontroller. Has anyone developed such a device?

I have been intending to develop this myself but I keep getting sidetracked on other projects. I already have a commercial variometer that puts out a serial RS232 data stream and I believe there are other devices that support RS232 output. I also have a GPS with an RS232 output. Also, it is fairly simple to interface sensors to an Arduino microcontroller which can convert the data into an RS232 serial stream. It seems like this would make it quick and easy to adapt existing sensors to the XPS system.
Jun 14, 2012, 12:00 AM
Registered User
That's how FrSky does telemetry. With such a link, you could use their hub and sensors. They have some neat sensors, like cell voltage for 12S.

Fred
Jun 14, 2012, 09:28 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
We use a RS232 data stream. It's very well documented here:

http://www.xtremepowersystems.net/devinfo.php
Jul 06, 2012, 12:01 PM
SidGates
sidgates50's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew
With several hundred thousand XtremeLink systems in circulation, I thought someone would have jumped on this as well. Especially since we gave away the data stream format, schematics, PCB layout, source code, etc. Its free income for someone.

We do have a box that will let you interface any of the Eagletree or Hitec sensors. We are waiting for those, the receiver carrier boards, and other products to arrive. So, I guess you could always buy an Eagletree sensor and our adapter box.
Is there any word on availability of the "box" mentioned above?
Jul 08, 2012, 01:21 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
We're waiting for Graupner to confirm they have the new boxes available. Graupner's box uses 3.0v, which is not compatible with normal TTL (3.3v) systems. Not sure why they did this. Also, the voltage regulator they were using had a max input voltage of 6.0v, which means you could not connect a transmitter battery to it for power. That had to also be changed (as part of the regulator change). When they are available we can get them and reflash them with our code and make them available.
Jul 09, 2012, 09:12 AM
SidGates
sidgates50's Avatar

"box"


Thanks for the update.
Aug 03, 2012, 11:35 AM
SidGates
sidgates50's Avatar

"box"


Jim- Any news on availability of the "BOX"
Sep 08, 2012, 05:04 AM
Registered User
twang's Avatar
What has happenned to the Scanner software? Just downloaded the XDP package and it isn't there. How do I see the little telemetry I am getting?
Sep 11, 2012, 11:08 PM
Registered User
twang's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by twang
What has happenned to the Scanner software? Just downloaded the XDP package and it isn't there. How do I see the little telemetry I am getting?
Anyone?
Sep 11, 2012, 11:40 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
I contacted Graupner about the Smart Box, and they still do not have the new version that has the higher voltage regulator. So, I am going to see if we can get unassembled units and change the regulators ourselves and finish the assembly.

I just checked the latest setup program, and you are right - the scanner.exe program is missing! The .ini file is there for it, but the executable is gone. Not sure what happened with the installer creator. I will fix that when I arrive at the office tomorrow.
Sep 12, 2012, 11:56 AM
Registered User
twang's Avatar
Thanks Jim. I want to use it to monitor RSSI from a Tricopter
Sep 13, 2012, 10:47 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Ok, the installer has been updated to include the latest FTDI USB drivers as well as the missing Scanner program. Use the same link as previously.
Oct 01, 2012, 06:05 PM
Registered User
I would be more than happy to be able to purchase/use the 'optimized' version of Graupner's SmartBox together with your firmware code for XPS/iFS telemetry display. Even if I would have to re-import it to Germany via direct XPS order. Please lets do this ! Hopefully Graupner will support your efforts, too (supplying unassembled hardware building blocks).
Oct 02, 2012, 09:58 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
The problem is that Graupner built their SmartBox with a maximum input voltage of 6.0v. This means that you can't run it with a fully charged 4 cell Nicd or Nimh pack (forget about a 5 cell, A123, or 2S Lipo) or it will smoke the box! I have been trying to get Graupner to change the regulator on their production runs so we can support iFS as well as our customers. The box can be used for so much more than just telemetry. It's a great platform, but I am now starting to look elswhere for a solution.
Last edited by JimDrew; Oct 03, 2012 at 11:21 AM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spektrum Telemetry Options VasMan Radios 1385 Jun 10, 2017 10:22 AM
Discussion The Quanum telemetry system starcad Vendor Talk 2 May 31, 2011 11:40 AM
For Sale Hitec Telemetry mr.x. Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 09, 2011 03:01 PM
Discussion XC logger/telemetry equipment. FlyVA Cross Country Soaring 2 Mar 08, 2011 02:46 PM
Sold Hitec Aurora 9 TX&RX +HPP-22 + Telemetry Pack sold joe1l Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Mar 07, 2011 04:09 AM