Turnigy 9X Review - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
May 27, 2011, 06:45 PM
Suspended Account
Discussion

Turnigy 9X Review

I'm posting this here as I reckon it's most likely that new people to helis are most likely to look at these

I'm not one to shy away from anything just because it's cheap or because it doesn't have my favourite brand name printed on it, so after reading reviews and a lot of searching I only found folks who sing the praises of this transmitter

It's very powerful (considering the meagre cost), it has 9 channels (8 useable), receivers are cheap enough too

As a complete newbie I didn't find it too hard to figure out the programming and there's loads of advice on the net on how to do things with it

Let me say this up front though..
If you're not a DIY electronic tech head then leave this one alone and spend more money on something you don't HAVE to tinker with, I say HAVE in bold as there can be some serious flaws that need to be ironed out before using it

It all appears to work as it should, sticks are good no notchyness etc
The battery compartment is a big let down, it's a very tight fit and getting the cover back on can result in the tags breaking off, worse though is that the battery holder is is far too tight in there, this prevents the batteries from sliding along to maintain contact (pushed by the spring) if the case is flexed, even by a tiny degree the batteries will lose contact resulting in your radio going dead, not so bad if your on the simulator at the time like I was but it would be a nightmare with a heli in the air, some switch over to using a 3S lipo and some who have done that have toasted their radio due to the over voltage on a fully charged lipo, also lipos are prone to their own problems.