New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jun 29, 2011, 04:17 PM
Nobert is offline
Find More Posts by Nobert
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
Peabody
Thanks for the info. The pcbs will be the same size as the CC???
Neal
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 29, 2011, 04:24 PM
Kilby is offline
Find More Posts by Kilby
Registered User
I just noticed this thread, but I picked up a CC board a few weeks back. I'm loving the stable mode. It makes FPV an absolute breeze for a beginner like myself. I had to wait for a few upgrades to come in for my FPV set up, but I'll be back at it this week shooting some fresh video. Here is a little something I shot 2 weeks back.

http://vimeo.com/25327234
Old Jun 29, 2011, 04:40 PM
superdave42 is offline
Find More Posts by superdave42
Designer
superdave42's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilby View Post
I just noticed this thread, but I picked up a CC board a few weeks back. I'm loving the stable mode. It makes FPV an absolute breeze for a beginner like myself. I had to wait for a few upgrades to come in for my FPV set up, but I'll be back at it this week shooting some fresh video. Here is a little something I shot 2 weeks back.

http://vimeo.com/25327234
Sweet video and Machine Kilby
Old Jun 29, 2011, 09:45 PM
Nick Papagiorgio is offline
Find More Posts by Nick Papagiorgio
Registered User
Nick Papagiorgio's Avatar
Man i cant wait to get one....
Old Jun 30, 2011, 08:14 PM
AlPackin is offline
Find More Posts by AlPackin
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
I've been reading the OP WIKI and could someone explain what "Spektrum satellite receiver support" means.

Does that mean I can just plug my satellite receiver into the CC board rather than using the main receiver hardwired to the inputs?
Thanks
Ed
Old Jun 30, 2011, 08:31 PM
Joecnc2006 is offline
Find More Posts by Joecnc2006
www.joescnc.com
Joecnc2006's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlPackin View Post
I've been reading the OP WIKI and could someone explain what "Spektrum satellite receiver support" means.

Does that mean I can just plug my satellite receiver into the CC board rather than using the main receiver hardwired to the inputs?
Thanks
Ed
you first bind the receiver like you normally do, then unplug the receiver, and plug the satellite directly into your CC board with out the receiver, you will need an adapter plug i believe. There is a section on the Openpilot forum which shows picture of it.

http://forums.openpilot.org/topic/50...__1#entry15267
Last edited by Joecnc2006; Jun 30, 2011 at 08:36 PM.
Old Jun 30, 2011, 08:34 PM
AlPackin is offline
Find More Posts by AlPackin
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joecnc2006 View Post
you first bind the receiver like you normally do, then unplug the receiver, and plug the satellite directly into your CC board with out the receiver, you will need an adapter plug i believe. There is a section on the Openpilot forum which shows picture of it.
That is too cool, I just received my CC board in the mail today. I just happen to need a frame too


edit: I found the adapter cable but I don't think its available to buy yet
http://www.openpilot.org/product/ope...-serial-cable/

would be kinda long too, I hope they have an adapter plug
Last edited by AlPackin; Jun 30, 2011 at 08:46 PM.
Old Jun 30, 2011, 09:06 PM
Vantasstic is offline
Find More Posts by Vantasstic
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlPackin View Post
That is too cool, I just received my CC board in the mail today. I just happen to need a frame too


edit: I found the adapter cable but I don't think its available to buy yet
http://www.openpilot.org/product/ope...-serial-cable/

would be kinda long too, I hope they have an adapter plug
You don't necessarily need an adapter. You can 'solder' your satellite receiver to the CC board. The big thing is the CC board is 5v on the srial plug. Evidently the satellite Rx's use 3.3v, hence the soldering to the CC board. Someone was nice enough to post a picture of it soldered to the board...I'll have to see if I can find it for you...just another option...

Okay, found this: http://wiki.openpilot.org/download/a...cccopter03.jpg Not the best picture, but you could probably map out the connections via the picture.
Last edited by Vantasstic; Jun 30, 2011 at 09:13 PM.
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:25 PM
Joecnc2006 is offline
Find More Posts by Joecnc2006
www.joescnc.com
Joecnc2006's Avatar
The OpenPilot TV Episode 2 - PID Tuning, was just posted, this is very informative for people who want to dial in their MultiCopters.

http://www.openpilot.org/pid-tuning/


OpenPilot TV Episode 2: PID Tuning (36 min 51 sec)
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:49 PM
dankers is offline
Find More Posts by dankers
OpenPilot
dankers's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
You don't necessarily need an adapter. You can 'solder' your satellite receiver to the CC board. The big thing is the CC board is 5v on the srial plug. Evidently the satellite Rx's use 3.3v, hence the soldering to the CC board. Someone was nice enough to post a picture of it soldered to the board...I'll have to see if I can find it for you...just another option...

Okay, found this: http://wiki.openpilot.org/download/a...cccopter03.jpg Not the best picture, but you could probably map out the connections via the picture.
Its dead easy to solder it, use power for the SBL jumper, this is 3.3V regulated.

Some more news, all new CCs in future will come with the serial cable now.

Adapter for Spektrum is being made as well for the people that want plug and play.
Old Jul 01, 2011, 12:38 AM
Stacky is offline
Find More Posts by Stacky
Pants first, then shoes
Really helpful episode. Excellent stuff Thanks.
Old Jul 01, 2011, 05:52 AM
Joshbb is offline
Find More Posts by Joshbb
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joecnc2006 View Post
The OpenPilot TV Episode 2 - PID Tuning, was just posted, this is very informative for people who want to dial in their MultiCopters.

http://www.openpilot.org/pid-tuning/


http://vimeo.com/25839978
nice footwork on the vid I take it that is a new version of the software I dont yet have?


ps thanks for the cable Dankers
Old Jul 01, 2011, 06:17 AM
Gary Mortimer is offline
Find More Posts by Gary Mortimer
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
Axis lock is likely to be in the next GCS build along with a couple of helicopter things. No timescale hopefully within two weeks.

Remember if you update the GCS, you will need to update your Firmware.

Before you do that save your current settings so you can import them into the new GCS version.

Keep watching the downloads page

http://wiki.openpilot.org/display/BU...ware+Downloads

All the other tuning advice still stands for current versions of course.

If you really can't wait you can always build your own GCS all the instructions are on the wiki.
Old Jul 01, 2011, 07:46 AM
jes1111 is offline
Find More Posts by jes1111
Registered User
Just to emphasise something Gary said above -

The GCS Software and the CC board's Firmware are ALWAYS a matched pair. If you upgrade/downgrade/change one you MUST change the other to the corresponding version.

Currently there is no "version number", you go by the date of the build. Version numbering will be used when the product goes to full release.
Old Jul 01, 2011, 07:52 AM
reptor is offline
Find More Posts by reptor
a.d.m.i.n
reptor's Avatar
WHy in OpenGCS there is no button "update". Will you add this option for automatic update, or I just didn't seee this option.

thanks


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion The Aussie RCG Coffee thread (aka "we don't drink instant") glydr Australia 164 Sep 08, 2012 04:33 AM
Discussion NEW? -Openpilot flight controller tc3wins Multirotor Talk 229 Mar 02, 2012 06:14 PM
Discussion Share your art! PinkYakRC Painting and Finishing Tips 13 Apr 27, 2011 08:04 PM
Discussion RCG 07 JR Indoor Live Coverage Thread Jim T. Graham JR Indoor Electric Festival 19 Nov 04, 2007 02:36 PM
Discussion My first RCG flame thread WBE Chit Chat 6 Sep 04, 2007 10:17 PM