Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Jun 29, 2011, 03:17 PM
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
Peabody
Thanks for the info. The pcbs will be the same size as the CC???
Neal
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 29, 2011, 03:24 PM
Registered User
I just noticed this thread, but I picked up a CC board a few weeks back. I'm loving the stable mode. It makes FPV an absolute breeze for a beginner like myself. I had to wait for a few upgrades to come in for my FPV set up, but I'll be back at it this week shooting some fresh video. Here is a little something I shot 2 weeks back.

http://vimeo.com/25327234
Jun 29, 2011, 03:40 PM
Designer
superdave42's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilby
I just noticed this thread, but I picked up a CC board a few weeks back. I'm loving the stable mode. It makes FPV an absolute breeze for a beginner like myself. I had to wait for a few upgrades to come in for my FPV set up, but I'll be back at it this week shooting some fresh video. Here is a little something I shot 2 weeks back.

http://vimeo.com/25327234
Sweet video and Machine Kilby
Jun 29, 2011, 08:45 PM
Registered User
Nick Papagiorgio's Avatar
Man i cant wait to get one....
Jun 30, 2011, 07:14 PM
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
I've been reading the OP WIKI and could someone explain what "Spektrum satellite receiver support" means.

Does that mean I can just plug my satellite receiver into the CC board rather than using the main receiver hardwired to the inputs?
Thanks
Ed
Jun 30, 2011, 07:31 PM
www.joescnc.com
Joecnc2006's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlPackin
I've been reading the OP WIKI and could someone explain what "Spektrum satellite receiver support" means.

Does that mean I can just plug my satellite receiver into the CC board rather than using the main receiver hardwired to the inputs?
Thanks
Ed
you first bind the receiver like you normally do, then unplug the receiver, and plug the satellite directly into your CC board with out the receiver, you will need an adapter plug i believe. There is a section on the Openpilot forum which shows picture of it.

http://forums.openpilot.org/topic/50...__1#entry15267
Last edited by Joecnc2006; Jun 30, 2011 at 07:36 PM.
Jun 30, 2011, 07:34 PM
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joecnc2006
you first bind the receiver like you normally do, then unplug the receiver, and plug the satellite directly into your CC board with out the receiver, you will need an adapter plug i believe. There is a section on the Openpilot forum which shows picture of it.
That is too cool, I just received my CC board in the mail today. I just happen to need a frame too


edit: I found the adapter cable but I don't think its available to buy yet
http://www.openpilot.org/product/ope...-serial-cable/

would be kinda long too, I hope they have an adapter plug
Last edited by AlPackin; Jun 30, 2011 at 07:46 PM.
Jun 30, 2011, 08:06 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlPackin
That is too cool, I just received my CC board in the mail today. I just happen to need a frame too


edit: I found the adapter cable but I don't think its available to buy yet
http://www.openpilot.org/product/ope...-serial-cable/

would be kinda long too, I hope they have an adapter plug
You don't necessarily need an adapter. You can 'solder' your satellite receiver to the CC board. The big thing is the CC board is 5v on the srial plug. Evidently the satellite Rx's use 3.3v, hence the soldering to the CC board. Someone was nice enough to post a picture of it soldered to the board...I'll have to see if I can find it for you...just another option...

Okay, found this: http://wiki.openpilot.org/download/a...cccopter03.jpg Not the best picture, but you could probably map out the connections via the picture.
Last edited by Vantasstic; Jun 30, 2011 at 08:13 PM.
Jun 30, 2011, 09:25 PM
www.joescnc.com
Joecnc2006's Avatar
The OpenPilot TV Episode 2 - PID Tuning, was just posted, this is very informative for people who want to dial in their MultiCopters.

http://www.openpilot.org/pid-tuning/


OpenPilot TV Episode 2: PID Tuning (36 min 51 sec)
Jun 30, 2011, 09:49 PM
OpenPilot
dankers's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic
You don't necessarily need an adapter. You can 'solder' your satellite receiver to the CC board. The big thing is the CC board is 5v on the srial plug. Evidently the satellite Rx's use 3.3v, hence the soldering to the CC board. Someone was nice enough to post a picture of it soldered to the board...I'll have to see if I can find it for you...just another option...

Okay, found this: http://wiki.openpilot.org/download/a...cccopter03.jpg Not the best picture, but you could probably map out the connections via the picture.
Its dead easy to solder it, use power for the SBL jumper, this is 3.3V regulated.

Some more news, all new CCs in future will come with the serial cable now.

Adapter for Spektrum is being made as well for the people that want plug and play.
Jun 30, 2011, 11:38 PM
Pants first, then shoes
Really helpful episode. Excellent stuff Thanks.
Jul 01, 2011, 04:52 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joecnc2006
The OpenPilot TV Episode 2 - PID Tuning, was just posted, this is very informative for people who want to dial in their MultiCopters.

http://www.openpilot.org/pid-tuning/


http://vimeo.com/25839978
nice footwork on the vid I take it that is a new version of the software I dont yet have?


ps thanks for the cable Dankers
Jul 01, 2011, 05:17 AM
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
Axis lock is likely to be in the next GCS build along with a couple of helicopter things. No timescale hopefully within two weeks.

Remember if you update the GCS, you will need to update your Firmware.

Before you do that save your current settings so you can import them into the new GCS version.

Keep watching the downloads page

http://wiki.openpilot.org/display/BU...ware+Downloads

All the other tuning advice still stands for current versions of course.

If you really can't wait you can always build your own GCS all the instructions are on the wiki.
Jul 01, 2011, 06:46 AM
Registered User
Just to emphasise something Gary said above -

The GCS Software and the CC board's Firmware are ALWAYS a matched pair. If you upgrade/downgrade/change one you MUST change the other to the corresponding version.

Currently there is no "version number", you go by the date of the build. Version numbering will be used when the product goes to full release.
Jul 01, 2011, 06:52 AM
a.d.m.i.n
reptor's Avatar
WHy in OpenGCS there is no button "update". Will you add this option for automatic update, or I just didn't seee this option.

thanks


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion The Aussie RCG Coffee thread (aka "we don't drink instant") glydr Australia 164 Sep 08, 2012 03:33 AM
Discussion NEW? -Openpilot flight controller tc3wins Multirotor Drone Talk 229 Mar 02, 2012 05:14 PM
Discussion Share your art! PinkYakRC Painting and Finishing Tips 13 Apr 27, 2011 07:04 PM
Discussion RCG 07 JR Indoor Live Coverage Thread Jim T. Graham JR Indoor Electric Festival 19 Nov 04, 2007 01:36 PM
Discussion My first RCG flame thread WBE Chit Chat 6 Sep 04, 2007 09:17 PM