Thread Tools
Jun 07, 2011, 04:05 PM
Registered User
just did some parameter tuning on my big Y6, and it was bombing around the sky great! very nimble and stable too.


I will post some settings and a video tomorrow hopefully

cheers

Josh
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 07, 2011, 04:15 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Mortimer
...
Just watch the others try and follow.
Yeah, but Josh broke his landing gear. Can I NOT follow that?
Jun 07, 2011, 04:20 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic
Yeah, but Josh broke his landing gear. Can I NOT follow that?
hehe, I broke mine so you dont have to
Jun 07, 2011, 04:23 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb
... very nimble and stable too...
I will post some settings and a video tomorrow hopefully
You'd better, we all like nimble and stable

Cheers,

Sander.
Jun 08, 2011, 03:43 PM
Registered User
doing some parameter testing, the parameters used after this video were shot were better but my camera lady was a bit chilly so it wasn't recorded.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzbxVrzs2I8
Jun 08, 2011, 04:41 PM
Hovership
3rdeyepro's Avatar
Looks good!
Jun 08, 2011, 08:54 PM
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
wow, very nice Josh
Jun 09, 2011, 12:02 AM
Registered User
Kevo500's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb
My Y6 is set up with Xaircraft ultra pwm escs with run at 500hz but the update rate only goes to 400hz. could this be increased?

cheers

Josh
Xaircraft "ultraPWM" is not the same thing as 'normal pwm'..

in "ultra" mode , that esc expects a signal between .2 and 1.2 ms , not the normal 1 and 2 ms spacing. 400 hz is the quickest you can really expect from a "normal" pulse .. 2.5 ms per update.

Not really sure if there would be a big problem with getting that loop down to 2 ms max. Might be a good idea to post a feature request on the actual OP forums.

Is this currently flying with CC ? did you need to adjust the throttle end points ?

Likely it should not be a problem , but i dont recall reading about anyone using these with cc yet.

EDIT: .. Ok I see others have commented on this already.

I am curious as to what your output sliders are set at.Did you need to set them to 200 and 1200 ?? Or did the esc detect a 'normal' pwm pulse and is listening to a 1 and 2 ms for min and max ?
Last edited by Kevo500; Jun 09, 2011 at 12:08 AM.
Jun 09, 2011, 02:12 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevo500

I am curious as to what your output sliders are set at.Did you need to set them to 200 and 1200 ?? Or did the esc detect a 'normal' pwm pulse and is listening to a 1 and 2 ms for min and max ?
hi,

you have to set the outputs to about 150 min (so the motors are not running all the time) and 1200 max. If you were to set them as 1000-2000 the motors would instantly run at 200 under max throttle which wouldn't be a good thing

cheers

Josh
Jun 09, 2011, 06:37 AM
Registered User
new version of GCS out

edit:

just installed it and it cant see any of the settings in my cc board....
Last edited by Joshbb; Jun 09, 2011 at 06:43 AM.
Jun 09, 2011, 06:47 AM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb
hi,

you have to set the outputs to about 150 min (so the motors are not running all the time) and 1200 max. If you were to set them as 1000-2000 the motors would instantly run at 200 under max throttle which wouldn't be a good thing

cheers

Josh
its a preference, its a good thing for me that they run at idle/arming
Jun 09, 2011, 06:49 AM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb
new version of GCS out

edit:

just installed it and it cant see any of the settings in my cc board....
Recommended upgrade procedure:

Since it is a major upgrade which changes all UAVObject IDs, you have to export your settings first, then update GCS, then upgrade the bootloader, then update the firmware for your receiver type, then import your settings back.
Jun 09, 2011, 06:52 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad_Addict
Recommended upgrade procedure:

Since it is a major upgrade which changes all UAVObject IDs, you have to export your settings first, then update GCS, then upgrade the bootloader, then update the firmware for your receiver type, then import your settings back.
ooops
Jun 09, 2011, 06:55 AM
Z06 Tony's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad_Addict
Recommended upgrade procedure:

Since it is a major upgrade which changes all UAVObject IDs, you have to export your settings first, then update GCS, then upgrade the bootloader, then update the firmware for your receiver type, then import your settings back.
Im screwed now. I have a feeling I will mess it up and it will take me forever as I am computer illeterate.
Jun 09, 2011, 01:42 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony
Im screwed now. I have a feeling I will mess it up and it will take me forever as I am computer illeterate.
Tony best thing would be take screen shots of settings and uninstall and install new then setup again with your settings if u cann figure out how to save settings u will be fine bro


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion The Aussie RCG Coffee thread (aka "we don't drink instant") glydr Australia 164 Sep 08, 2012 03:33 AM
Discussion NEW? -Openpilot flight controller tc3wins Multirotor Drone Talk 229 Mar 02, 2012 05:14 PM
Discussion Share your art! PinkYakRC Painting and Finishing Tips 13 Apr 27, 2011 07:04 PM
Discussion RCG 07 JR Indoor Live Coverage Thread Jim T. Graham JR Indoor Electric Festival 19 Nov 04, 2007 01:36 PM
Discussion My first RCG flame thread WBE Chit Chat 6 Sep 04, 2007 09:17 PM