Thread Tools
Old May 11, 2011, 01:42 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
That is probably what it is, still waiting on Andy to pm me back. I remember when it was commented that the only thing you need to do when upgrading was BIND and program the radio BUT out of all my plane this was true EXCEPT for my Elevon jet that I need to SWAP servo leads.

This probably solve that so does this mean its going to be included in a future AirWare update for the DX8??
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 11, 2011, 01:45 PM
UNGN is offline
Find More Posts by UNGN
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
I hope that's it, because I've been whining about this for years.
Old May 11, 2011, 01:55 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
The picture does not change between Elevon and Elevon B SO? could be it..
Old May 11, 2011, 01:56 PM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
That would be a cool program option. I hate swapping wires, lazy eh?
Old May 11, 2011, 02:03 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pda4you View Post
That would be a cool program option. I hate swapping wires, lazy eh?
Kinda like CHANNEL MAPPING some radios have.
Old May 11, 2011, 02:41 PM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
Elevon B allows you to use a DX6i as a slave on an elevon model. The next DX8 code will have it too.

Andy
Site Sponsor
Old May 11, 2011, 02:45 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Thanks Andy.
Old May 11, 2011, 05:06 PM
UNGN is offline
Find More Posts by UNGN
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Elevon servo sides on a DX6i are opposite those of a DX7. Hmmm...
Old May 11, 2011, 05:22 PM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
It's historical, done so that it would be simpler for newbies upgrading the radios in their old Strykers with minimal other changes.

Andy
Site Sponsor
Old May 11, 2011, 05:35 PM
guy hanson is offline
Find More Posts by guy hanson
Registered User
guy hanson's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
It's historical, done so that it would be simpler for newbies upgrading the radios in their old Strykers with minimal other changes.

Andy
Historically, there is little commonality between brands and sometimes models within brands
But these new radios are sooooo easy to use - it appears we have spawned a generation of users who expect a system which automatically adapts to any model/situation .
on a different note -but sorta similar.
In one of the local schools (public) they recently gave each kindergartener. an IPhone because ---- ready for this ?--- using it makes the child more receptive to the learning process.
I believe automatic butt wipers are also to be installed in the powder rooms.
PS why don't new cars come with I phones built in?
Old May 11, 2011, 05:44 PM
karlpenney is offline
Find More Posts by karlpenney
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Elevon B allows you to use a DX6i as a slave on an elevon model. The next DX8 code will have it too.
Andy
Hmm, what? You can't use a DX6i as a slave on an elevon model now? I don't think I've tried that yet.
Old May 11, 2011, 05:59 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Thats why you get some that report issues and others that don't. It's simply because they were not using that part of it. It was claimed that all you has to do for those that were upgrading to the dx8 was to bind and program but it turned out it was not so for those with elevon setup, it was still doable but you needed to swap wires. No big deal for some but not so for others.

It's probably for this reason you could not buddy with dx6i for elevon setup, now I bet the new owner who sets up elevon won't have to swap servo leads.

Nice.
Old May 11, 2011, 06:38 PM
retiredVTT is offline
Find More Posts by retiredVTT
Registered User
This could be a dealbreaker...favoring the DX8...a second AR8000 receiver..FREE..!

http://www.atlantahobby.com/store/pc...-754p14240.htm

Is this a Horizon Hobby offer..?
I see nothing on their website about it.

Bill
Old May 11, 2011, 07:16 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Probably and most likely a store offer.
Old May 11, 2011, 08:40 PM
Stunt Double is offline
Find More Posts by Stunt Double
Registered User
This is turning into a great discussion. Lots of different opinions!

I cant find an instruction manual for the new DX7s and have some questions about its features:
  • Does it support dual flap servo channels?
  • Does it have any built in sailplane mixes?
  • Does it offer speed adjustments for each channel?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Spectrum dx7 like new bhood Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 14 May 03, 2011 08:51 AM
Sold Spectrum DX7 Like new, Airplane, Mode 2... Joe in Dublin Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Apr 06, 2011 09:37 PM
Discussion New Spectrum DX8 Registration iwchris Radios 6 Mar 31, 2011 03:10 PM
Sold Brand New DX7s Air Mode 2 190.00 shipped Pri Mail rino Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Dec 23, 2009 12:26 AM
Question Speculation on new Dx7s? spython Radios 1 Oct 01, 2008 09:34 AM