Apr 21, 2011, 08:57 AM
Terry Dunn
Thread OP
Discussion

WACO CG-4A for aerotow

I've been flying a 73" span Venom C-47 for a couple months now and like it a lot. I decided to build a WACO CG-4A to the same scale for a little historic aerotowing fun. The 65" span WACO is stressed foam (no internal formers) using 1/2" blue foam sheet. The wing is wire cut from blue foam as well. Cellfoam 88 was used for the tailfeathers and nose sheeting. All markings are brushed on acrylic paint.

The glider is just about ready to fly. I just need to tidy up the wing struts, fab some fake vertical struts for the landing gear and finalize the CG. I'm thinking it will be right under 30 oz. RTF. If it flies well enough, I'll finish up the CAD plans and it'll be a build article in Fly RC.

Here are a few teaser photos. Of course there are numerous scale concessions for the sake of simplicity, but I think the overall effect will give me what I'm after. I'll post more pix when it's complete and let you know if it flies worth a hoot. I'm not expecting true glider performance, just a docile plane that behaves well during tow and takes its time coming back down. I guess we'll see how it goes.

Terry
Last edited by mopar_man; Apr 21, 2011 at 02:12 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Apr 21, 2011, 09:59 AM
Very cool! I am building a CG-4A too, have the sheeted foam wings complete, starting on the fuselage design. Will be watching this with great interest. How are you planning to do the mods to the C-47 for the aerotow?

I have flown the full scale "C8" at the Cavanaugh Flight Museum

Ed
Apr 21, 2011, 10:44 AM
Terry Dunn
Thread OP