Apr 17, 2011, 09:43 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Can anyone recommend a rc helicopter that handles wind well.

Hi. I'm new to RC helicopters. I got my Double Horse 9053 coaxial a week ago and it's virtually uncontrolable with even the slightest breeze. The catch 22 is that it's size make it hard for me to fly indoors.

I understand wind lift is a drawback to coaxial designs. But, if I go to a fixed pitch single blade copter (say a with a rotor diameter of 15 inches and I'm think of the Double Horse 9100) would I still have as much of a problem? Or, would I really need to go to the 450 class? Thank you.
to remove ads between posts
Apr 17, 2011, 09:56 PM
Thread OP
I know this may be a bit premature but how well does the Walkera Creata handle windy conditions? I'm also living on a hill (about 1500 feet above sea level) and am surrounded by other hills which does cause some windy conditions in my area.

Apr 17, 2011, 10:10 PM
2011 - Year of the clones!!!
The creata 400 is a collective pitch helicopter. It would certainly handle the wind well but it's not a beginners helicopter, at all. It would be difficult to fly and set up.

Fixed pitch helicopters (single rotor) do handle the wind better than a coaxial, but not by much.

I would suggest looking into a flybarless fixed pitch. It won't handle a storm, but it will be the best compromise between difficulty to fly and wind handling ability. I.e. it won't be too difficult to learn to fly and it will handle more wind than a coaxial.

The Walkera V200D01 may suit your needs.

A collective pitch helicopter certainly has the best wind handling capabilities, but they take a lot of money, discipline, time and practice to learn to fly. The mCP-X is a tamed down micro CP helicopter, it may be worth a look into as well.
Apr 17, 2011, 10:41 PM
Cranky old fart