Thread Tools
Jul 20, 2011, 11:46 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckTseeker
Exactly like the one i flew, it was near on perfect in every area and flew really well straight out of the box

on a bad note, i ordered mine at last and now have to wait 2 weeks for the next shipment as they sold out DOHHHHHH! hahaha oh well lucky i have a PZ RAF SE-5a to play with (Vids are up )

cheers chuck
Sorry to hear that they were out of stock by the time you were able to get one.

It is interesting the variation between aircraft though, there are many on here who are reporting having to have the battery as far back as possible and still being a little nose heavy.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 21, 2011, 07:02 AM
Way to many airplanes!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kola
Anyone selling somthing like this?
Nobody make adapters like mine (I always torture myself and use 22awg wire to reduce wiring resistance). But somebody just a few post above said Glenn from RC-connectors.com is now making some (for 3 batteries I think). I've heard only good things about his connectors/adapters.
Jul 21, 2011, 07:38 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealGambler
Nobody make adapters like mine (I always torture myself and use 22awg wire to reduce wiring resistance). But somebody just a few post above said Glenn from RC-connectors.com is now making some (for 3 batteries I think). I've heard only good things about his connectors/adapters.
RG - Are you selling adapters as well or just making for yourself?
Jul 21, 2011, 09:39 AM
Way to many airplanes!
Quote:
Originally Posted by schooner2000
RG - Are you selling adapters as well or just making for yourself?
Sorry, not selling! I don't have enough time to do everything I want to do as it is. Heck, just keeping over 20 airplanes airworthy all the time is almost a full time job (with the way I fly them!) Trust me, I make my own battery packs, and I find that RCBabbels packs are really not expensive after all as I can appreciate the work. Same with Glenn who's making all kind of adapters. If I had more time, I would be tempted, but for now, I'm just happy I can find the time to make my own. Parts are cheap, buy putting them together in a reliable way take a too much time which I don't have. I think that if I would pay myself only $10 an hour to make them, my adapters would still be too expensive to sell!

P.S.: I'm a nerd. I crimp my wire then solder it too (take much longer). Still not trusting crimp only, even if someone said Nasa is crimping their wires... Knowing that, I would not go to the moon either anymore!
Jul 21, 2011, 09:44 AM
Way to many airplanes!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheese5
Here are the speed run tests part two, this time I flew closer to the camera .
Cheese:
Still no luck with RCSpeedo, WaveOscope and Hyperdine. I can isolate the part of video I want to investigate, I can even make a wav out of it, but the end result is almost noise. Probably the codecs your camera is using... It does make some pretty funky graph for sure!
Jul 21, 2011, 12:06 PM
Registered User
Cheese5's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealGambler
Cheese:
Still no luck with RCSpeedo, WaveOscope and Hyperdine. I can isolate the part of video I want to investigate, I can even make a wav out of it, but the end result is almost noise. Probably the codecs your camera is using... It does make some pretty funky graph for sure!
Hmm that's weird, how did you read the first video I made? I used a windows 7 computer to do the editing on the 2nd take on the videos, the first take I was using a vista computer to edit it. I flew with the same friend at the same place, around the same time. Does your converter work on the video I put on youtube?

That's a weird looking graph!
Jul 21, 2011, 12:16 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealGambler
Nobody make adapters like mine (I always torture myself and use 22awg wire to reduce wiring resistance). But somebody just a few post above said Glenn from RC-connectors.com is now making some (for 3 batteries I think). I've heard only good things about his connectors/adapters.
That would be me. Glenn will make up custom stuff for a very reasonable price. Just ask him. He made my 6S to 3 2S charging harness for a little less than the cost of the parts! Not say he'll do that for you, though... I'm "special".
Jul 21, 2011, 12:20 PM
Way to many airplanes!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheese5
Hmm that's weird, how did you read the first video I made? I used a windows 7 computer to do the editing on the 2nd take on the videos, the first take I was using a vista computer to edit it. I flew with the same friend at the same place, around the same time. Does your converter work on the video I put on youtube?

That's a weird looking graph!
This time, I used the last MP4 videos you sent me. Most of my editing/conversion software are somewhat working on them, as I can cut them, extract audio, etc. Yet, when I run my 3 different doppler software, they all come out empty, or with unreal results. I still suspect it's the camera you use, but again, I'm probably the only fool who's trying to get a doppler from such a small brushless motor, so maybe it's simply pushing it.

Winds are in the 40mph range right now, but as soon as I can, I'll try a few more video from my side to see if it can be done reliably. I'll use the keychain, and my Canon camera (which can make video up to 1080P).
Jul 21, 2011, 02:37 PM
Registered User
DoomsDay's Avatar
You can get a decent radar gun for around 80 bucks from amazon. I bought one but havent had the chance to use it yet.
Jul 21, 2011, 03:13 PM
Registered User
microheli's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLK Count
Something concerning dynamic prop balance at the SBach:

Remove the cowling, hold the plane with one hand and move the throttle stick to full power-put one finger on the motor frame top-you feel the vibration--add thin tape on one blade > trial & Error method > and check the vibration again....more or less vibs ?...try more tape or change the blade side. Don't miss the blades where you had taped before and removed > one blade side has "GWS" marked, the other side "dimensions"

Good luck...and none vibrations in the future
I do that and the most noise is gone. A little but not much louder than the Beast now.
Last edited by microheli; Jul 21, 2011 at 03:29 PM.
Jul 21, 2011, 03:27 PM
Way to many airplanes!
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomsDay
You can get a decent radar gun for around 80 bucks from amazon. I bought one but havent had the chance to use it yet.
You'll have to come back with a report soon. I've heard they do work with the ultra-micro airplanes, but sure enough, it will be interesting to hear how easy (or not) it is to get the speed with it. On the other side, software is free, and everybody has a camera. Heck, I'm using a $10 keychain camera myself!
Jul 21, 2011, 03:39 PM
Beast 60E Maniac
SLK Count's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by microheli
I do that and the most noise is gone. A little but not much louder than the Beast now.
Yes, the benefit is great, isn't it
Jul 21, 2011, 04:45 PM
Heli Hooligan
I ended up buying a couple of ThundePower G6 25C 2s 250mAh packs whilst in my LHS. I didn't realize that the Sbach connects to the the stock lipo via a 3 pin balance connector. So now I need to change the balance connectors on my ThunderPower lipos. Where can I get the connectors from?

Or maybe I should just use Micro Deans but then I won't be able to use the stock battery. I heard it's really poor but I've not been able to fly the plane yet, due to bad weather and family commitments.
Jul 21, 2011, 05:01 PM
Registered User
Cheese5's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealGambler
This time, I used the last MP4 videos you sent me. Most of my editing/conversion software are somewhat working on them, as I can cut them, extract audio, etc. Yet, when I run my 3 different doppler software, they all come out empty, or with unreal results. I still suspect it's the camera you use, but again, I'm probably the only fool who's trying to get a doppler from such a small brushless motor, so maybe it's simply pushing it.

Winds are in the 40mph range right now, but as soon as I can, I'll try a few more video from my side to see if it can be done reliably. I'll use the keychain, and my Canon camera (which can make video up to 1080P).
Oh well......that's weird. Maybe the motor is not loud enough. But I remember seeing a video of turboparker's sukhoi xp flying high speed passes and someone (was it you?) dopplered it to be around 42mph. Maybe someone can get the speed of the Sbach, a ballpark measure would work well . I'll try some other software and see if they can get a measurement.
Jul 21, 2011, 05:03 PM
Registered User
Cheese5's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahbouni
I ended up buying a couple of ThundePower G6 25C 2s 250mAh packs whilst in my LHS. I didn't realize that the Sbach connects to the the stock lipo via a 3 pin balance connector. So now I need to change the balance connectors on my ThunderPower lipos. Where can I get the connectors from?

Or maybe I should just use Micro Deans but then I won't be able to use the stock battery. I heard it's really poor but I've not been able to fly the plane yet, due to bad weather and family commitments.
You could convert all your batteries to one connector of the other. I don't get how the thunderpower JST connector batteries work. They don't have a balance connector, so how do they balance the 2 cells?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion NEW!!! E-Flite UMX Extra 300 3D BNF!!!!! DFflyer 3D Foamies 748 Mar 01, 2013 07:12 AM
Discussion Sbach 342 Full fuse Free Plans bbjsw10 Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 142 Apr 07, 2012 02:48 PM
Yippee! e-foamy sbach 342 maiden larsy87 3D Foamies 26 Nov 01, 2010 10:25 PM