AR drone control with RC transmitter, yet another Wifi-less mod - Page 234 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Nov 14, 2012, 01:32 PM
Registered User
I have an update regarding my original altitude problem. IT WORKS!

I have just been out in the night sky, and travelled to 461 feet :lol: (brave)

Flew spot on and the original stopping at 100m is cured, many thanks to all that helped, heres the finished mod shrink wrapped and in the drone
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 15, 2012, 03:57 AM
Makers gonna make...
pawelsky's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJW2511
I have an update regarding my original altitude problem. IT WORKS!

I have just been out in the night sky, and travelled to 461 feet :lol: (brave)

Flew spot on and the original stopping at 100m is cured, many thanks to all that helped, heres the finished mod shrink wrapped and in the drone
Well done! Make sure you leave easy access to the USB port to be able to update the mod in future.
Nov 15, 2012, 04:44 PM
Registered User
tonyh0905's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJW2511
I have an update regarding my original altitude problem. IT WORKS!

I have just been out in the night sky, and travelled to 461 feet :lol: (brave)

Flew spot on and the original stopping at 100m is cured, many thanks to all that helped, heres the finished mod shrink wrapped and in the drone
Nice job!...did you range check your setup? If so what sort result did you get?...Only asking because there was such a huge difference in my results on the EU and US power setting on the Dx6i.
Nov 15, 2012, 04:45 PM
Registered User
i set it straight to US based on your advice so no direct comparisons, not had chance to properly range test yet as its dark every day when i get home lol, il have proper results at the weekend
Nov 15, 2012, 04:58 PM
Suspended Account
After being unable to get a Pro Mini Mod to work with a Level Shifter, I've built a completely new one with a both a New Shifter and a new Pro Mini and I still can't get the Mod to work on a v1 Drone using the Level Shifter. The old Mod works fine with resistors, but I gave up on it and started again with completely new components.

I actually have two sets of Drone wires connected to the Same Mod now (to avoid having to keep removing and resoldering between the two types) and when connected to the Drone via resistors it fires up every time. When using the Level Shifter it won't work, although I do sometimes get the Arduino flashing at 12hz but with RED motor LEDs, so it won't fly.

Tested the Level Shifter every which way with help from happul3 over PM and it's doing exactly what it should do.

Checked the wiring again and again and there is nothing else I can see to check.

As the connection diagram shows 3.3v for the v1 and 1.8v for the v2 when using the Level Shifter and I only get 2.5v and 1.6v am I actually suffering from an undervoltage problem?

What voltages should I be getting at Tx and Rx at the Drone end when connected via Resistors and via the Level Shifter using both a Nano and a Mini Pro?

Can anyone who has got either/both test and let me know what they get between each of them and GND?
Nov 15, 2012, 09:16 PM
Registered User

Proximity of Arduino (minipro) and RC Receiver (Spektrum AR8000)


I am getting ready to commit this mod to my Drone 2.. and one option I am considering has the Arduino and Level Shifter mounted right on top of the RC receiver in front of the battery tray.
Has anyone an idea if there will be an interference with this arrangement? Has anyone any experience of intermittent or unexplained problems that might be related to have the processor board and receiver too close?

Advantage of this arrangement is that wires are for the most part as short as possible and the electronics are as far as possible from the (noisy) motors. Disadvantage would be any unwanted stray interference between the receiver and Arduino.

thanks in advance
Nov 15, 2012, 11:04 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon2
I am getting ready to commit this mod to my Drone 2.. and one option I am considering has the Arduino and Level Shifter mounted right on top of the RC receiver in front of the battery tray.
Has anyone an idea if there will be an interference with this arrangement? Has anyone any experience of intermittent or unexplained problems that might be related to have the processor board and receiver too close?

Advantage of this arrangement is that wires are for the most part as short as possible and the electronics are as far as possible from the (noisy) motors. Disadvantage would be any unwanted stray interference between the receiver and Arduino.

thanks in advance

I have arduino and receiver as close as they can possibly can be and it works just fine. I don't think arduino@16MHz would be capable of creating interference for 2.4GHz band. By the way, drone's motors are brushless, hence no arcing there and no interference either.
Nov 16, 2012, 08:32 AM
Makers gonna make...
pawelsky's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon2
Has anyone an idea if there will be an interference with this arrangement? Has anyone any experience of intermittent or unexplained problems that might be related to have the processor board and receiver too close?
I have receiver (Turnigy) basically glued to Nano (see here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=2732) and observe no problems at all.
Nov 16, 2012, 09:12 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawelsky
I have receiver (Turnigy) basically glued to Nano (see here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=2732) and observe no problems at all.
OK! Two reports that it works is good for me.. so thats my plan.
Thanks!
Nov 16, 2012, 09:46 AM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by obelix662000
I built 2 mods with Pro Mini and Level shifter exactly as described in the wiring diagram. Both are fine with Ardrone v2 , no special care.
OK, thanks. That's confusing. Any chance you could PM me a photo with your wiring, as this is beyond baffling?

It's clear the Nano and Pro Mini are different because I only get 4.63v from a Nano, but 5.01v from the Pro Mini at VCC>GND (powered through USB), but is that enough to explain the problems I'm having?

The new Nano has turned up, so I'll wire that to the Drone's 12v/GND and measure what's at VCC and what's going back through Tx and Rx with Resistors or another new Level Shifter.
Nov 16, 2012, 01:30 PM
Suspended Account
I guess all this Mod testing has finally taken it's toll on my poor v1 Drone.
Still flies, still works with a Mod (with resistors), but when I telnet in with no Mod plugged in - just standard - I now see this, which is what I saw last time I was testing with a Level Shifter Mod before it dropped the connection.

BusyBox v1.14.0 (2011-12-13 10:35:27 CET) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# ls

x▐╚ΘΘ┴P∙╧╝Θ░╚]?!u≈│n{+▀⌡$JU≥╝╙▼╙Θ}:■#■↓.═φ6╢5▓ΓM
bin
data
dev
etc
factory
firmware
home
lib
licenses
mnt
oΣ╚■ε
proc
root
sbin
sys
tmp
update
usr
var
╤φ8╨

░√G∙╢ְ*_,7d╛o┴■ΦbΓ█╦∩]┴╖W
α▼■■α■≥ⁿ╚■εΦε^ΦΩ■■■Ω┐α
α
≡■■■■ⁿⁿⁿ■∙?■■■▲╢⌐m A]X
■≡└ⁿ■■ⁿ■└ⁿ■stty
#


Should I be worried and anything I can do about it, like reflashing the firmware?

One other thing that has changed: instead of seeing ardrone_020801 as the wireless access point, I now see: ardrone_v1.7.11 and I didn't rename it.
Nov 16, 2012, 01:51 PM
Registered User
tonyh0905's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandigan

One other thing that has changed: instead of seeing ardrone_020801 as the wireless access point, I now see: ardrone_v1.7.11 and I didn't rename it.
I installed an app called NAVAnDrone which renamed my drone to exactly the same...ardrone_v1.7.11.

Have you installed any new drone apps?
Nov 16, 2012, 01:54 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandigan
I guess all this Mod testing has finally taken it's toll on my poor v1 Drone.
Still flies, still works with a Mod (with resistors), but when I telnet in with no Mod plugged in - just standard - I now see this, which is what I saw last time I was testing with a Level Shifter Mod before it dropped the connection.

BusyBox v1.14.0 (2011-12-13 10:35:27 CET) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# ls

x▐╚ΘΘ┴P∙╧╝Θ░╚]?!u≈│n{+▀⌡$JU≥╝╙▼╙Θ}:■#■↓.═φ6╢5▓ΓM
bin
data
dev
etc
factory
firmware
home
lib
licenses
mnt
oΣ╚■ε
proc
root
sbin
sys
tmp
update
usr
var
╤φ8╨

░√G∙╢ְ*_,7d╛o┴■ΦbΓ█╦∩]┴╖W
α▼■■α■≥ⁿ╚■εΦε^ΦΩ■■■Ω┐α
α
≡■■■■ⁿⁿⁿ■∙?■■■▲╢⌐m A]X
■≡└ⁿ■■ⁿ■└ⁿ■stty
#


Should I be worried and anything I can do about it, like reflashing the firmware?

One other thing that has changed: instead of seeing ardrone_020801 as the wireless access point, I now see: ardrone_v1.7.11 and I didn't rename it.
Looks like you have a corrupted file system. This is pretty bad, try reloading the whole drone (with ardrone_update....plf). If it does not fix it you might have to send it in...
Nov 16, 2012, 01:55 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyh0905
I installed an app called NAVAnDrone which renamed my drone to exactly the same...ardrone_v1.7.11.

Have you installed any new drone apps?
No, just been trying to get this Mod to work with a Level Shifter. Last thing before that was changing the Baud rate in the sketch as per Miru's recent instructions - no obvious difference; worked fine - but don't know if that's a side effect .i.e it was better as Miru had it originally.
Nov 16, 2012, 02:01 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru
Looks like you have a corrupted file system. This is pretty bad, try reloading the whole drone (with ardrone_update....plf). If it does not fix it you might have to send it in...
So reflashing 1.7.11 might fix it? I don't want to go higher. I'll go down first, then come back up again. I think I need to do 1.3.1 to make sure everything gets 'wiped' properly.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo RC Controlled AR.Drone w/o WiFi! nosaari Multirotor Drone Talk 117 Dec 07, 2014 05:04 AM
For Sale Parrot AR Drone w/TX/RX mod *Flies Nice* Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 4 Apr 16, 2011 10:42 PM
Discussion Wifi Boosted AR.Drone Fallengod Multirotor Drone Talk 7 Feb 12, 2011 11:52 AM
Discussion And yet another AR drone Arial Video project taudronis Multirotor Drone Talk 17 Dec 07, 2010 12:04 PM
Sold Parrot AR.Drone Four rotor platform control with your iPodTouch/iPhone/iPad Hoverup Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 12, 2010 04:54 PM