Thread Tools
Old Oct 26, 2012, 09:25 AM
kerwin50 is offline
Find More Posts by kerwin50
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
also get rid of that mechanical stop.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2012, 09:37 AM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerwin50 View Post
also get rid of that mechanical stop.
I'll have to look if I can do that on the OS GT33.
Old Oct 26, 2012, 02:04 PM
going4speed is offline
Find More Posts by going4speed
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
get rid of the mechanical stop on the throttle? why?
Old Oct 26, 2012, 02:11 PM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
get rid of the mechanical stop on the throttle? why?
Yeah...doesn't make sense to me. It's there for a reason.
Old Oct 26, 2012, 02:42 PM
kerwin50 is offline
Find More Posts by kerwin50
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
your stop should always be the servo and never mechanical. Even though the throttle stop screw is on nitro as well. It's always been a no no to use them. The servo should always be allowed to fully close the butterfly.
Old Oct 26, 2012, 02:57 PM
going4speed is offline
Find More Posts by going4speed
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
oh absolutely I agree. I thought y'all were talking about removing the full throttle stop and could not think of one good reason to do that.
Old Oct 30, 2012, 10:50 AM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregory.da View Post
I found this this last year after struggling with my setup, it has a good diagram on the proper way to set up your throttle linkage for gas engines. Hope it helps! DG
This is a bad drawling but you'll get the idea. In red is how I currently have my throttle linkage setup and having problems getting the endpoints set. What I'm thinking is I need to make my throttle linkage longer and set it up like the blue drawling to get the correct endpoints based on throttle stick position. Does this look or seem right?

Old Oct 30, 2012, 01:19 PM
Hewey19 is offline
Find More Posts by Hewey19
Registered User
Hewey19's Avatar
Yes RC_Feen the blue drawing how you should set up the linkage. I'm not sure about your endpoints but a setup like that will give you the nice throttle curve that you need on gas engines.
Old Oct 30, 2012, 01:36 PM
kerwin50 is offline
Find More Posts by kerwin50
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
Yes the blue is what you need. Set your EPA's to max 1st then make your linkage. Then reset your epa's after that.
Old Oct 30, 2012, 02:56 PM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Great! Now I'm onto something. I'll make a new linkage tonight and hopefully test it out later this week. Probably won't get to maiden is week because Sandy pretty much flooded our field.
Old Oct 31, 2012, 12:06 AM
flyracer is offline
Find More Posts by flyracer
Wannabe 3D Pilot
flyracer's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
Great! Now I'm onto something. I'll make a new linkage tonight and hopefully test it out later this week. Probably won't get to maiden is week because Sandy pretty much flooded our field.
have you seen Losifanatic's video where he's flying in a culdesac hand launching and catching his Slick?
Old Oct 31, 2012, 01:06 AM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyracer View Post
have you seen Losifanatic's video where he's flying in a culdesac hand launching and catching his Slick?

Yeah I think....but he's running electric right? I'm running gas! Would be kind of krazy trying to try to catch a gasser unless I've missed that vid.
Old Oct 31, 2012, 10:39 AM
3DNater is offline
Find More Posts by 3DNater
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
I'm not gonna lie... I'm way too scared of a 4+ HP motor turning a 20" prop to try catching mine.
Old Oct 31, 2012, 12:26 PM
kerwin50 is offline
Find More Posts by kerwin50
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
No Nate your not scared, your wise.
Old Nov 02, 2012, 12:04 PM
flyracer is offline
Find More Posts by flyracer
Wannabe 3D Pilot
flyracer's Avatar
hahahah.... I'll be honest, I don't have the guts to try and tail catch a 30cc sized airframe out of the air!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 71" AJ Slick Gas - First time with gas Hewey19 Fuel Plane Talk 7 Sep 06, 2011 04:53 PM
Sold 3dhs 71" aj slick - nib 6L6Amp Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Apr 05, 2011 12:09 PM
Discussion I'm torn, 71 slick or 72 sc? KillerCut 3D Flying 9 Mar 25, 2011 07:20 PM
Discussion 3DHS 42"Slick Side Force Generators bigtexas 3D Flying 3 Mar 03, 2011 01:42 PM
Wanted 3DHS 70" Slick Gas parts!!! helifryer Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 20, 2011 08:47 AM