Thread Tools
Old Apr 07, 2011, 12:16 AM
acurusaragon is offline
Find More Posts by acurusaragon
Registered User
Discussion

Strega E from Rcrcm


I just got my hand on the E version of the Strega F3F plane from RCRCM

Details :

Wing span: 2.9m
Length: 1.46m
Wing area: 56.3dm2
Empty weight: approx. 1667g

Thinking of utilizing the power plan available in hands, I have the following at my disposal.

Motor : Neu 1512 1D 6,7,1 / 1509 1D 6,7,1 / 1110 1Y 6,7,1

ESC : CC125 / Ice lite 100

Prop : stratair 16 X 16 / rfm 16 X 17 / RFM 17 X 18 (5 dgr offset)

Lipo : 4s (3000 ++ mah) due to space constraints .

Any thoughts on the flyable setup is appreciated.

-sam
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 08, 2011, 04:54 AM
acurusaragon is offline
Find More Posts by acurusaragon
Registered User
I might go with 1512 1d 6,7,1 with 17X18 prop, Ice lite 100 and a 4s 3300 mah ...
Old Apr 08, 2011, 11:02 AM
SniperWj is offline
Find More Posts by SniperWj
The Sarawak KoloMee
SniperWj's Avatar
Feel free show us some pictures?

I believe most guys here like to view picture then typing

Also urs are full carbon or carbon reinforces?

Yiming
Old Apr 08, 2011, 12:05 PM
grobbins666 is offline
Find More Posts by grobbins666
Registered User
grobbins666's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by acurusaragon View Post
I might go with 1512 1d 6,7,1 with 17X18 prop, Ice lite 100 and a 4s 3300 mah ...
Yeah and skip the regulator to.... save weight.
+ your plane will be very easy to transport after your first flight.
Old Apr 08, 2011, 12:31 PM
Evan D is offline
Find More Posts by Evan D
Registered User
Evan D's Avatar
Ohhhh.... that's nice.....
Old Apr 08, 2011, 12:53 PM
acurusaragon is offline
Find More Posts by acurusaragon
Registered User
maybe I should follow the Viking E setup ...
Old Apr 08, 2011, 07:08 PM
grobbins666 is offline
Find More Posts by grobbins666
Registered User
grobbins666's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by acurusaragon View Post
maybe I should follow the Viking E setup ...
I don't think the ice 100 can handle 300 amps, get a cc 125, cc 180, ice light 200.
Old Apr 09, 2011, 04:38 AM
Flyextreme is offline
Find More Posts by Flyextreme
Sure it'll work
Flyextreme's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by acurusaragon View Post
I might go with 1512 1d 6,7,1 with 17X18 prop, Ice lite 100 and a 4s 3300 mah ...
My 1512/1D/6.7 with a 18x21 performs very well even on just 3S. I would suggest that set-up and the P180 maybe even over the Ice200 on 4S with the 17x18. The P180 will allow you to prop up later should you choose. I suspect you will like it all the more with a bit more prop.

Bill
Last edited by Flyextreme; Apr 09, 2011 at 04:46 AM.
Old Apr 09, 2011, 01:45 PM
grobbins666 is offline
Find More Posts by grobbins666
Registered User
grobbins666's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by acurusaragon View Post
I might go with 1512 1d 6,7,1 with 17X18 prop, Ice lite 100 and a 4s 3300 mah ...
Don't use the ice 100, and get the gm 18*21/23 form susa, rfm props break on 4s with that setup.
Old Apr 09, 2011, 02:11 PM
Flyextreme is offline
Find More Posts by Flyextreme
Sure it'll work
Flyextreme's Avatar
Assuming Sam is trying to use what he has on hand (with the possible exception of the ICE100), and I haven't done the calculations...what about going to a good 3S set-up with the start up softened up some. Wouldn't that keep it within the 4.5kw rating for the prop?

Edit: At least the 16x16 or 16x17.

Bill
Last edited by Flyextreme; Apr 09, 2011 at 05:10 PM.
Old Apr 13, 2011, 10:36 AM
acurusaragon is offline
Find More Posts by acurusaragon
Registered User
im looking at 1509 1d 6,7,1 with 16X10 RFM prop with CC 125 and a Hyperion 3s 4000 mah now ..

Hope this will work for an OK setup now ..
Old Apr 13, 2011, 11:07 AM
bobbyjack is offline
Find More Posts by bobbyjack
Slopers Anonymous
bobbyjack's Avatar
Hi,
That's about the same combination I'm running in my Spider except I'm running a Phoenix 180 on 4S A123 with a RFM 17 X 18 prop and it works very well. I was wondering if you could give me a dimension of the opening size at the rear of the canopy (Just wondering if my A123 pack would fit).
Thanks,
Creg
Old Apr 13, 2011, 11:17 AM
acurusaragon is offline
Find More Posts by acurusaragon
Registered User
Creg ... the height is about 57mm (its a round fuse)

-sam
Old Apr 13, 2011, 11:26 AM
bobbyjack is offline
Find More Posts by bobbyjack
Slopers Anonymous
bobbyjack's Avatar
Thanks, it would be tight but should fit (same with the spider). I'll be looking forward to seeing how yours comes out. I'm looking for something to swap this gear into probably this next winter.
Creg


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion RCRCM Strega skaffen Slope 261 Today 01:22 PM
Discussion RCRCM Strega anyone? pitch black Multi Task F3X 20 Jun 17, 2016 04:35 AM
New Product E-Strega by RCRCM Stunt Double Electric Sailplanes 9 Sep 27, 2011 03:35 PM
Discussion RCRCM Yellow Paint matches for Strega repair jiberjaber Slope 10 Jul 30, 2010 07:21 PM
Discussion RCRCM Strega kin Multi Task F3X 0 Apr 25, 2010 12:42 PM