Witespy Quad - Page 53 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
May 14, 2011, 12:33 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by hauntfreaks
learn to fly with all sensors off.... And tx trim only.... Worry about auto level and board trimming later... Auto level doesnt = easier flying
in most cases you will never even use these other sensors... There like keeping up with the joneses....
-

+1
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 14, 2011, 12:43 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverguardian
Some dispatches from the noob department:

I disassembled the quad arms and brought it in a padded suitcase from San Francisco to Colorado, and it worked out pretty nicely with the TSA (they asked me "is it a toy?" and I had to stifle any snide remark). At the CO airport they took an explosives test strip to the case, but that was about it.

I'm still having a hard time getting it to fly as easily as I see others doing it, and I blame a good portion of it on being still new to quads. The board I have is the "older" one, though I don't see why it can't perform well. Indoors, I can't get it to stay in position even at about 4-5ft off the ground, and I try to trim my transmitter settings while holding the quad at that level. I try not to be too touchy with the controls, but at this point all I want is it to stay at a certain spot without going anywhere.

Outside, well, let's just say I ordered 4 pairs of new props. I made sure all the calibration settings were good even in the GUI. We'll see how it goes this weekend. The fact that the propellers were the only casualty speaks very highly of the frame.

Warning: a bit of a loud voice here
[url]
What is your expo settings on your radio?
Last edited by witespy; May 14, 2011 at 01:15 PM.
May 14, 2011, 12:53 PM
Waiting for my Medication
seadog1967's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hauntfreaks
learn to fly with all sensors off.... and TX trim only.... worry about auto level and board trimming later... auto level doesnt = easier flying
in most cases you will never even use these other sensors... there like keeping up with the Joneses....
++1 Ya heard the man. I listened and am doing better.
May 14, 2011, 12:55 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by witespy
What are your expo settings on your radio?
after watching i believe there set on newb sorry couldnt resist paul!
May 14, 2011, 12:55 PM
Multirotor Builder!!!!!
I agree too. Just fly with the basics. and then slowly get into flying with the sensors. it will make flying a quad more fun.
May 14, 2011, 12:59 PM
Registered User
hauntfreaks's Avatar
ok I've followed this thread since the beginning.... I have a few friend the post on here as well.... there are questions after questions asked on here from noods and not so noods.... and EVERY question can be answered right here MultiWiiCopter (previously TriWiiCopter)... there is nothing that has been asked here that isnt in that thread... I think many are confused that this is something different... it isnt, its all just based on an Alex Paris board/code (MultiWii) so beating Paul up for info is just silly when all the answers are already out there... sorry if this hurt peoples feelings... but I'm hoping is can/will help....
May 14, 2011, 12:59 PM
Waiting for my Medication
seadog1967's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad_Addict
after watching i believe there set on newb sorry couldnt resist paul!
Alas not everyone born a pro. I thought everyone was a newb at one time.
May 14, 2011, 01:02 PM
Multirotor Builder!!!!!
LOL. the Quad scene is a work in progress. we are all learning all the time.
May 14, 2011, 01:03 PM
Multirotor Builder!!!!!
And speaking of learning. when it comes to expo, which is better going to the + side or - side. never been real sure with the expo.
May 14, 2011, 01:09 PM
Registered User
hauntfreaks's Avatar
I think futaba is - and jr/spektrum is +

but with the quad i feel using anything more then 10% expo it feels really sloppy
May 14, 2011, 01:13 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by slickh
Does anyone have experience with both the Witespy and the XAirCraft? If so, would you care to give me your opinion of both? I am sort of torn between the two. I guess I am about 85% leaning toward the Witespy but that is because you guys are so helpfull to each other.

Thanks
Please let me hear your opinions between the two.

Thanks
May 14, 2011, 01:13 PM
Registered User
hauntfreaks's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3wins
LOL. the Quad scene is a work in progress. we are all learning all the time.
x1

I couldnt agree more
May 14, 2011, 01:15 PM
AP fan, still learning
riverguardian's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by witespy
What are your expo settings on your radio?


Not sure if this is correct.
May 14, 2011, 01:20 PM
Registered User
with the Flight controller doing some expo too, these might be too much.

Try Lowing the RC expo in the GUI.

Or first try Lowing your radio to +10% to 30%. and Zero expo on the rudder.
May 14, 2011, 01:26 PM
AP fan, still learning
riverguardian's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by witespy
with the Flight controller doing some expo too, these might be too much.

Try Lowing the RC expo in the GUI.

Or first try Lowing your radio to +10% to 30%. and Zero expo on the rudder.
Does that mean the left column (where it's 100%) should be set to 10%? or should I change the 50% column to something in between 10-30?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Quad brushless motors and quad ESC wiring whatala Power Systems 11 Dec 28, 2015 03:51 PM
Found Want to Trade FY-90Q Quad Controller for differnt Quad controller FL62 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 5 Mar 11, 2011 06:43 PM
Discussion KK Quad In air from a Gaui Quad guyg Multirotor Drone Talk 1 Jan 21, 2011 05:13 PM
Build Log STM8s Quad-copter "Quad-radic" Edftakeoff Multirotor Drone Talk 4 May 17, 2010 03:09 AM
quad cdr quad esc how many poly cells? captinnitro Power Systems 2 Apr 04, 2005 08:37 PM