Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Sep 24, 2012, 10:25 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by witespy
It is not common, ESC's do a good job on supplying just the receiver with power. A UBEC will cause more noise.

There are no servos involved so this helps out a lot, I would not worry about it too much . If you want to pop one of these on, It can not hurt.

http://www.spektrumrc.com/products/d...prodid=spm1600

I have some in stock

http://witespyquad.gostorego.com/acc...protector.html
Allan, the standard spectrum may not be the best option for adding a cap to the radio, unless you are using a spectrum rx.

The standard spectrum cap is 4700uf @10v I tried one and had OK results but found that placing the cap too close to the rx or fcboard actually causes radio interference to some of the sensors instead of electrical glitches. I use a 3300uf 16v low ESR cap with a longer lead so it's away from the board and rx and found that it does a really good job of eliminating feedback.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 24, 2012, 10:59 AM
Registered User
AlanFlorida's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atown93
Allan, the standard spectrum may not be the best option for adding a cap to the radio, unless you are using a spectrum rx.

The standard spectrum cap is 4700uf @10v I tried one and had OK results but found that placing the cap too close to the rx or fcboard actually causes radio interference to some of the sensors instead of electrical glitches. I use a 3300uf 16v low ESR cap with a longer lead so it's away from the board and rx and found that it does a really good job of eliminating feedback.
I think your comment was for WiteSpy……I am not smart enough to understand all the Cap, uf, or ESR discussion. I am just a simple man with a WiteSpy quad
Sep 24, 2012, 11:58 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanFlorida
I think your comment was for WiteSpy……I am not smart enough to understand all the Cap, uf, or ESR discussion. I am just a simple man with a WiteSpy quad
My bad. This forum moves so fast sometimes. I can't remember who I'm talking too. Lol
Sep 24, 2012, 07:31 PM
Registered User
AlanFlorida's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atown93
My bad. This forum moves so fast sometimes. I can't remember who I'm talking too. Lol
LOL, I agree.

Changed from 8" to 9" props on my FPV WiteSpy with 4s2800mAh and 775 KV motors. I like it
Sep 24, 2012, 09:54 PM
Quadrophenia
egaus's Avatar
Kyle,

Not sure what you are using but looks like Naza. I had a problem getting all motors to spin at once upon arm and just ended up setting the minimum throttle to the high setting in the assistant. Can't remember exactly what it is called, but this worked for me. I had a similar problem in MultiWii that was solved basically the same way: raising the minthrottle param in config.h to like 1225. This will prevent the props from stopping as long as you don't lower the stick too far. It will also get them starting all at once if everything is calibrated properly.



e
Sep 25, 2012, 04:25 PM
Registered User
AlanFlorida's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle925
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7h9S2ckqDoY

Upgraded from hero1 to hero2 for better crisp images. Glad I got the Gopro rather than opting for the new Sony HDR-AS15.

***** Surprising problem occurred on my 3rd flight today. When I did a pre-flight check after loading a new battery, the 2 front props were the only ones spinning, and ended up flipping upon take off when I punched it. Startling problem considering this is my 62th time i'ved flown this awesome quad w/out incidence. I tried 3x and it kept flipping forward, resulting in getting my gemfan props sliced through the grass ( very strong Gemfan props ... did not even leave a mark.). I ended up replacing the battery and it corrected the problem. All 4 props were fine after that.

Very cool video….I really enjoy your videos!!
Sep 25, 2012, 07:58 PM
Registered User
A witespy bites the dust ,
Quad vs Quads (1 min 28 sec)

The sun was low in the sky , I was w walking around to get into a better position with less glare , too late.
Sep 25, 2012, 08:19 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanFlorida
Very cool video….I really enjoy your videos!!
Thanks Alan. i try to make it interesting everytime.
Sep 25, 2012, 08:21 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by egaus
Kyle,

Not sure what you are using but looks like Naza. I had a problem getting all motors to spin at once upon arm and just ended up setting the minimum throttle to the high setting in the assistant. Can't remember exactly what it is called, but this worked for me. I had a similar problem in MultiWii that was solved basically the same way: raising the minthrottle param in config.h to like 1225. This will prevent the props from stopping as long as you don't lower the stick too far. It will also get them starting all at once if everything is calibrated properly.



e
Thanks for the insight. Yup, it was just weird. But still, my Witespy prevails. Good thing, I usually do pre-checks before letting it fly.
Sep 26, 2012, 08:35 AM
Registered User
AlanFlorida's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve34
A witespy bites the dust , http://youtu.be/tVkIP8XZAXU
The sun was low in the sky , I was w walking around to get into a better position with less glare , too late.
That was very cool…..except for the darn ground rising up and hitting your WiteSpy

Where was that filmed?
Sep 26, 2012, 02:39 PM
Retired Old Guy
whitehedr's Avatar
I put 9 inch props on my WhiteSpy today. It is a tad windy but I flew it anyway. Had to keep major nose down and power up to get it through the wind but man was it ever a rockect going downwind. WHEWWWWWWWW!!!!!!! These machines are SWEET!

RWW
Sep 26, 2012, 04:17 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
You still on 3S?
Sep 26, 2012, 09:28 PM
A Snickering Hound
Muddie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanFlorida
LOL, I agree.

Changed from 8" to 9" props on my FPV WiteSpy with 4s2800mAh and 775 KV motors. I like it
Alan,

Do you run a Naza on your 4s ship? I have the motors and ESC's to convert but wasn't sure if anything else was needed.

Bob
Sep 26, 2012, 09:58 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanFlorida
LOL, I agree.

Changed from 8" to 9" props on my FPV WiteSpy with 4s2800mAh and 775 KV motors. I like it
Hi Alan,
What ESC's are you using with this combo?
Sep 26, 2012, 10:18 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanFlorida
That was very cool…..except for the darn ground rising up and hitting your WiteSpy

Where was that filmed?
Suburbs of Vancouver , near USA border .


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Quad brushless motors and quad ESC wiring whatala Power Systems 11 Dec 28, 2015 03:51 PM
Found Want to Trade FY-90Q Quad Controller for differnt Quad controller FL62 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 5 Mar 11, 2011 06:43 PM
Discussion KK Quad In air from a Gaui Quad guyg Multirotor Drone Talk 1 Jan 21, 2011 05:13 PM
Build Log STM8s Quad-copter "Quad-radic" Edftakeoff Multirotor Drone Talk 4 May 17, 2010 03:09 AM
quad cdr quad esc how many poly cells? captinnitro Power Systems 2 Apr 04, 2005 08:37 PM