Mar 18, 2011, 03:51 PM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Thread OP
Discussion

KDS Flymentor 3D

I have a KDS Flymentor. I got it working so easily that I think it has potential.
I premise this with the fact that I'm not a novice. I've been in RC for 20 years and Helicopters for about 18. Setting up the Flymentor was aided by an online friend that warned me about some errors in the manual (blue and green wires are opposite what they say). There's alot of info over on the FREAK but I don't go to that site much. Way more activity over here so I thought I'd start to share experiances I have as I work with it.
My 2 oldest kids (11 and 9) have started to fly some. 3ch and MSR in the house. I wanted a stable outdoor CP heli platform for them. I have a 450 set up on 2 DX7's in a buddy box configuration and I wanted to start them off with a 'coaxial' feel to it that i can dial down over time. Here comes the flymentor. You can get them at Hobby King (when in stock or RC-fever)

KDS Flymentor at RC Fever
Field programming box
KDS Flymentor at Hobby King

I mounted the flymentor onto my EXI 450 Carbon SE (An align 450 SEv2 clone). The EXI was already a stable and smooth flying helicopter before I added the flymentor so I did not have to fight any vibe issues.

I toned down the pitch response in the DX7 setups so the heli is much easier to fly. Not only that, but even with the Flymentor Sensitivity set very low, the 450 is more stable in the wind than before. Against the advise of others, I even used the Flymentor to control the tail. This allowed me to set the tail gain in the flymentor software and use my gear switch for the Flymentor sensitivity gain. (more gain makes it self stabilize faster). THus I did not need a 7Ch Rx and I'm using a park flyer AR6100e.
I'm going to try to grab some noob Heli pilots, or plank pilots who have minimal heli sim time and see how it goes in addition to my kids.