Mar 02, 2011, 04:58 PM
Thread OP
Help!

Slope glider made out of Dollar tree foam board?

Hello I am new to building slope gliders and was looking for a simple but effective glider that I can make out of dollar tree foam board basically it is 6mm board. I would like something in the combat flying section. Just some plans with measurements would be fine as I don't normally print plans anyways because my printer doesn't like them. Any tips on scratch building gliders would be welcomed to. where should it balance weight to wing ration... thank you
Foam
to remove ads between posts
Mar 02, 2011, 06:32 PM
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1391999

this post has some links besides the main subject.
steeg
Mar 02, 2011, 06:32 PM
Crikey never leave beer behind
Not foam board but corflute ,but guess you could improvise
http://www.zipworld.com.au/~dazb/dAzi/dAzi.html
Last edited by steve wenban; Mar 02, 2011 at 06:44 PM.
Mar 02, 2011, 06:46 PM
EPP Extrordinare
Pibros! Great flying delta, and fun to combat with: http://www.rc-soar.com/pibros/
Mar 02, 2011, 07:11 PM
Crikey never leave beer behind
arr yes the Pibros the flying give way sign
Mar 02, 2011, 09:08 PM
Thread OP
ALRIGHT!! thank you guys now I will have some fun and cut up a few of my foam boards.
Foamcrasher
Mar 03, 2011, 08:23 AM
Try a team monkey Swinger, fab foam fun!

http://swinger.propercornishslopers.co.uk/
Mar 03, 2011, 09:51 PM
I was wondering the same thing myself last night. My experience with "wings" and $tree foam board is that if you remove the paper it is to soft and weak, not at all like depron or blu core. If you leave the paper on its quite heavy, about 120 grams per sheet. It becomes difficult to balance wings when the paper is left on since most of the weight is behind the CG to start with.

So my idea was to modify the Micro slope stick

http://www.stevelange.net/spad/