Feb 18, 2011, 06:13 PM
Watch this!
Thread OP
Discussion

To cover or not to cover? and with what?

I'm sure a lot of you have seen my thread about getting back into RC planes after a _long_ time... well I've decided on a HZ Super Cub. Anyway, it's been long enough that I expect a learning curve similar to that of a total newbie, and that has me wondering.

Should I cover it or not, and if I do, with what?

It seems like covering will make it stronger, but I'm not sure that it won't also make it harder to repair. Am I better off covering it now, later, not at all? If I do cover it, packing tape? Iron on coating (I was able to do ok 30 years ago as a kid with Monokote, I can't imagine newer coatings and 30years building things wouldn't make this easier)?
to remove ads between posts
Feb 18, 2011, 08:04 PM
Not necessary on the Cub. Adds more weight that cuts down the performance. Easier to repair without it.

Gord.
Feb 18, 2011, 10:42 PM
Wake up, feel pulse, be happy!
Don't cover the Cub. It will not help in any way, and it'll add more of that cursed weight that you're so keen on getting rid of....

Perhaps you could chop big circular sections of foam out of the wings and put covering over them, though... That WOULD cut down the weight and you can do it in such a way that you'd lose no appreciable strength. Plus, you'd have the added benefit of adding your own color scheme.

I'd use EconoKote; it's cheap and it works. I am literally in the middle of covering a balsa plane with it right now; the iron is hot
Latest blog entry: Park pattern/pylon perfection!
Feb 18, 2011, 11:34 PM
Watch this!
Thread OP
Heh, I've already measured the wing with the thought of building a lighter, stiffer wing for it... I also looked at some of the foamie threads (as well as one of yours TP16) and have all sorts of ideas running around in my head.

Of course, I never intended to get into a building frenzy with this, just something that I could grab after work and blow off some stress with