Feb 14, 2011, 03:34 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Mad Mad question about steam.

Hi,

I am a newbie here, and live in the UK. (Birmingham)

Now, I have a question that is posted here as you model guys have very nice automated systems that impressed me a while back, and might just fit the bill....

Mad as it may sound, I was thinking of powering my very very very light rowing skiff (20lbs) with a steam plant as found in the modern RC model steam boat. This will enable me to actually see where I am going while I potter along our canal system in it at the speed limit of 4 MPH, and it would sure beat the hell out of rowing.

I really like the TVR1A and it's price, but it may be a bit small? I don't want it to be thrashing around! A nice gentle chug is more the thing I was after!

The boat in question is a Whitehall Jr, and is here http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:A...FKxUo-bFBuFzWw

and here http://nelson-xintian.com/photogallery/whitehall.jpg

Any suggestions.....

Thanks,

Rog
to remove ads between posts
Feb 14, 2011, 04:26 PM
3 Blades to the Wind
Those Whitehall style Dories are nice. I would probably steer you away from steam on something that small. Burns and accidents are very easy in confined spaces. I've seen pictures of folks that have done nifty steam stuff like that but usually canoe sized or slightly larger width wise.

You have to take into account the boiler and power necessary to move a boat that size and a small RC rig would likely be too small to move something of that size very fast. There are some larger rigs that might be able to do it, see the thread on the Stuart Twin here, but again, very heavy for such a small boat.

I'd probably opt for a trolling motor, a battery or two and a solar charger.
Feb 14, 2011, 04:33 PM
I SEE NO SHIPS
Hmmmm!
my initial thaught is that the TVR1A will be far too small.
You may just get some motion out of a Stuart Double 10 , but then you are going to need a large boiler or boiler feed pump .