New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Feb 11, 2011, 12:53 AM
hawaiitaco is offline
Find More Posts by hawaiitaco
Registered User
hawaiitaco's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DroneBuilder View Post
Great news, Taco!

Post that video, sans the Oceanic landing this time! Many of us are eager to see your results!

No twitching with your converter?
no twitch with 20 min of flying. Well see when I put more time into it. Trying to take it a little slower this time. Learned my lesson last time. It's dark right now so I'll have to take vid tomorrow.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 11, 2011, 01:22 AM
Ab74 is offline
Find More Posts by Ab74
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawaiitaco View Post
no twitch with 20 min of flying. Well see when I put more time into it. Trying to take it a little slower this time. Learned my lesson last time. It's dark right now so I'll have to take vid tomorrow.
I just received mine. Still trying to understand the pin header setup. A bit confusing on my part. Hope to install it tomorrow.
Old Feb 11, 2011, 01:37 AM
hawaiitaco is offline
Find More Posts by hawaiitaco
Registered User
hawaiitaco's Avatar
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...1326138&page=5
post #68

it helped and made the setup easy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ab74 View Post
I just received mine. Still trying to understand the pin header setup. A bit confusing on my part. Hope to install it tomorrow.
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:35 AM
Chukmil is offline
Find More Posts by Chukmil
Registered User
Chukmil's Avatar
Connected my Navi/GPS for the first time, Think I have it wired right but what is this error message telling me?

hawaiitaco, Great news on the converter! I will be placing an order this weekend
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:39 AM
G-unit is offline
Find More Posts by G-unit
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chukmil View Post
Connected my Navi/GPS for the first time, Think I have it wired right but what is this error message telling me?

hawaiitaco, Great news on the converter! I will be placing an order this weekend
Did u plug the USB into the GPS and let it charge over night?? if not try that and see if the error goes away.
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:40 AM
timecop is offline
Find More Posts by timecop
Suspended Account
You connected 10pin and 6pin stuff properly?
I think one of chinaclone things needed to have pins swapped on the 6pin connection? Dan might know more.
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:43 AM
bob.titus is offline
Find More Posts by bob.titus
Flying at Sochi 2014 Olympics
bob.titus's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-unit View Post
Did u plug the USB into the GPS and let it charge over night?? if not try that and see if the error goes away.
question : is the battery really a battery or merely a capacitor?
I'm asking this question because it doesn't seem to hold the charge very well causing all sorts of errors.
How could we do to fix this problem, my GPS is very unreliable, "no GPS communication" error is happening randomly and so is GPS booting or not at startup.

This is quite annoying and spoiling the joy, all is otherwise working reasonably well with defaults settings or close.

Bob
Last edited by bob.titus; Feb 11, 2011 at 06:52 AM.
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:44 AM
Ab74 is offline
Find More Posts by Ab74
Registered User


Ready for testing...
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:50 AM
bob.titus is offline
Find More Posts by bob.titus
Flying at Sochi 2014 Olympics
bob.titus's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ab74 View Post


Ready for testing...
read this...

Bob
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:53 AM
dt8666 is offline
Find More Posts by dt8666
Registered User
this is how it connect to the FC 1.35

Bob, your is using 5S so the config is maintained by the battery. and yes, it is battery. 3V rechargeable lithium button cell

and you should ready i2c okay with running number and SPI Okay with running number.

also flash all the corresponding firmware to NC/FC.

For GPS, please follow my earlier load on setup.
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:55 AM
Chukmil is offline
Find More Posts by Chukmil
Registered User
Chukmil's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
You connected 10pin and 6pin stuff properly?
I think one of chinaclone things needed to have pins swapped on the 6pin connection? Dan might know more.
I think I have that right..see the picture in the last post

G, pluged in a USB to GPS to charge while i'm at work....I dont see a battery?

Would there be any performance benifit to making a pcb "shield" (like the one sold by MK) to increase the ground plane size?
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:57 AM
dt8666 is offline
Find More Posts by dt8666
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chukmil View Post
I think I have that right..see the picture in the last post

G, pluged in a USB to GPS to charge while i'm at work....I dont see a battery?

Would there be any performance benifit to making a pcb "shield" (like the one sold by MK) to increase the ground plane size?
Yours is 4H chipset and no need to charge and no battery
Old Feb 11, 2011, 07:09 AM
bob.titus is offline
Find More Posts by bob.titus
Flying at Sochi 2014 Olympics
bob.titus's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dt8666 View Post
this is how it connect to the FC 1.35

Bob, your is using 5S so the config is maintained by the battery. and yes, it is battery. 3V rechargeable lithium button cell

and you should ready i2c okay with running number and SPI Okay with running number.

also flash all the corresponding firmware to NC/FC.

For GPS, please follow my earlier load on setup.
thanks Dan
- all MK hardware is flashed with latest FW
- Ublox GPS hasn't been re-flashed yet, does it need to, if yes, which FW?
- when it comes to Ublox config file, you said I should use the one G posted a few threads back, is this correct for the LEA5S ?

Bob
Old Feb 11, 2011, 07:16 AM
bob.titus is offline
Find More Posts by bob.titus
Flying at Sochi 2014 Olympics
bob.titus's Avatar
I just received some replacement NC-MK3Mag-GPS free of charge from MaximusRC (thanks Max, you're a great guy!)

This is an older different type, but very nicely made.
Do you guys (Dan, G?) have info on how to connect NC to FC and other possible connections (there is only 3 pins used for SPI, the other newer NC have 2x 3 pins)?
What FW can/should I use to flash these?

Thanks for the great help to all the contributors, this is moving fast!
Bob
Last edited by bob.titus; Feb 11, 2011 at 07:21 AM.
Old Feb 11, 2011, 07:28 AM
G-unit is offline
Find More Posts by G-unit
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob.titus View Post
question : is the battery really a battery or merely a capacitor?
I'm asking this question because it doesn't seem to hold the charge very well causing all sorts of errors.
How could we do to fix this problem, my GPS is very unreliable, "no GPS communication" error is happening randomly and so is GPS booting or not at startup.

This is quite annoying and spoiling the joy, all is otherwise working reasonably well with defaults settings or close.

Bob
Hey Bob,
I would hope it is a battery but i dont know for sure...


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Alternative MK Flight Control FC v1.33 - v2.0 MK THREAD Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 4985 Aug 18, 2012 08:21 AM
Poll POLL... Should i CLOSE the Alternative MK Flight Control FC v1.33 - v2.0 MK THREAD??? Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 33 Feb 09, 2011 08:43 PM
Help! MK FC 2.1 Help I've blown it up Murphy Rebel Multirotor Talk 4 Jan 22, 2011 05:26 AM
Build Log Building MK Okto FC 2.0 - Now with 111 pictures drhswe Multirotor Talk 18 Oct 20, 2010 02:53 PM
Discussion MK FC ME V2.1 no on off switch? jeffreymikl Multirotor Talk 3 Aug 19, 2010 01:33 PM