Thread Tools
Mar 09, 2011, 06:34 AM
But I am learning
I_Can't_Fly's Avatar
Gilles, thanks for opening this up on RCGroups. Sometimes the Yahoo boards are hard to navigate.

I have a question/concern. When cutting intertwined panels, and using the "X" cut at the LE, the first cut exits the foam wrong. The first cut is the bottom surface of the upper core, but when it gets to the LE, it changes direction and the "X" cut is in the up direction (instead of following the LE trajectory down). I don't know how else to explain this, but has anyone seen this? Is it something I have done wrong?

Thanks, Brian P.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 09, 2011, 07:16 AM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Can't_Fly
Gilles, thanks for opening this up on RCGroups. Sometimes the Yahoo boards are hard to navigate.

I have a question/concern. When cutting intertwined panels, and using the "X" cut at the LE, the first cut exits the foam wrong. The first cut is the bottom surface of the upper core, but when it gets to the LE, it changes direction and the "X" cut is in the up direction (instead of following the LE trajectory down). I don't know how else to explain this, but has anyone seen this? Is it something I have done wrong?

Thanks, Brian P.
Hi Brian,

Just send me a project that has this problem. I will correct it.

Are you using the latest GMFC version?

Gilles
Mar 09, 2011, 12:43 PM
But I am learning
I_Can't_Fly's Avatar
Yes I was using the latest, but the problem was occurring over the last 3 versions. I will try to send you a project with the error.

Thanks, Brian P.
Mar 09, 2011, 03:33 PM
Registered User
Kevin Matney's Avatar

Power it up


Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowindworks
Sweet. Packing material to boot! How are you powering the wires?
I use a vereact at full power.
Mar 12, 2011, 08:07 AM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar

GMFC version 3.88.6


A new version is online...

Few bugs corrected:
- bug corrected in refreshing the margin value for accelerated positioning
- set the maximum length of file name to the standard MS value
- bug corrected in the top wing view for not aligned LE margins
- bug corrected in the alignment menu when deleting point
- bug corrected in script execution on empty lines

Enjoy,

Gilles
Mar 12, 2011, 01:20 PM
Semper Fidelis...........
Twinboom's Avatar

Angle cutting question


I remember somewhere along the line, that I checked a box improperly performing a "skin" cut, and instead of the wire traveling up, and then back, it started at the very trailing edge, cut at a perfect angle up to and bisecting the end of the cut at the top measurement. Does that make sense. What I need to do, is cut some split flap material for same, and I don't know how to do it.

It needs to be 380 mm's or so wide.
75 mm's chord.
the leading edge, needs to be 12 mm's high.

Make sense?

A simple triangle that I can use as the top portion of the split flap. Right now because of how I had to cut the wing, the flap is in pieces, with a small spacer having to be added. I'd like to make it one piece as it would be easier to epoxy down. Thanks for any advice. It would be even better if the bottom part was flat, and the top had the curve of the airfoil. Should I just set the co-ordinates for the full chord airfoil, use a block that is onlt 75 mm's chord, and let it go through the whole cut, but only be cutting the back end? Sorry for confusion, but that is my life!!!

Doug
Mar 13, 2011, 01:10 PM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
Hi,

I am not sure that I fully understood what you need, but a smaller block seems to be a good solution.

Gilles

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twinboom
I remember somewhere along the line, that I checked a box improperly performing a "skin" cut, and instead of the wire traveling up, and then back, it started at the very trailing edge, cut at a perfect angle up to and bisecting the end of the cut at the top measurement. Does that make sense. What I need to do, is cut some split flap material for same, and I don't know how to do it.

It needs to be 380 mm's or so wide.
75 mm's chord.
the leading edge, needs to be 12 mm's high.

Make sense?

A simple triangle that I can use as the top portion of the split flap. Right now because of how I had to cut the wing, the flap is in pieces, with a small spacer having to be added. I'd like to make it one piece as it would be easier to epoxy down. Thanks for any advice. It would be even better if the bottom part was flat, and the top had the curve of the airfoil. Should I just set the co-ordinates for the full chord airfoil, use a block that is onlt 75 mm's chord, and let it go through the whole cut, but only be cutting the back end? Sorry for confusion, but that is my life!!!

Doug
Mar 14, 2011, 01:10 AM
Semper Fidelis...........
Twinboom's Avatar
I made a new block for the flapbox and just sanded it down. I know there must be an easier way to do it all, but we'll figure it out some day.

Doug
Mar 14, 2011, 01:28 AM
Registered User
Kevin Matney's Avatar

TE cut


Is this what you are trying to cut???
Mar 14, 2011, 01:59 AM
Semper Fidelis...........
Twinboom's Avatar
Hey kevin,
I did set up GMFC to cut the full airfoil I used orignally. I only placed a block at the beginning, or trailing edge and cut the back of the airfoil. After I had that piece, I tried to cut in half. It did not work out so well, so I justinstalled a block to come up with what you see in the picture, only the top half of the airfoil, to make room for the split flap. If you look at the two photo's, you'll see what I did. You can check out my build thread at https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=993496 for further clarification , I started it over two years ago, and am finally finishing it up.

Doug
Mar 24, 2011, 09:46 AM
Registered User
i need help
I tried the version 3.0.87 and 3.88 gmfc to a project and i have problem

at 3 points at the bottom of the airfoil and 2 points up the program stops sending commands to the controller for 3 to 7 sec!

i try different airfoils, and differnce pc's all have the same problem


i use hobbycnc foam pro controller.
Mar 24, 2011, 01:24 PM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxjohn
i need help
I tried the version 3.0.87 and 3.88 gmfc to a project and i have problem

at 3 points at the bottom of the airfoil and 2 points up the program stops sending commands to the controller for 3 to 7 sec!

i try different airfoils, and differnce pc's all have the same problem


i use hobbycnc foam pro controller.
Hi

Check in the table configuration that the step lost when reversing direction is zero. This is a well-known bug.

Gilles
Mar 24, 2011, 01:46 PM
Registered User
thank's Gilles .
I'll try in home tonight

=================

I put 0 step lost when reversing direction and it works fine now.

thanks Gilles.
Last edited by paxjohn; Mar 25, 2011 at 09:51 AM.
Mar 28, 2011, 11:48 PM
Registered User
cutting problem

I am trying to get my cutter set up to work right. I get it all set to cut 40mm block perfect, but when I go to cut a taper 80mm on one side and 40mm on the other side both blocks come out 8 mm to big, when I change the kref setting then my straight cut is way off to small. I am open to any ideas.

Roger
Mar 29, 2011, 12:13 AM
Registered User
Ward Hagaman's Avatar
Roger, have you checked your Z offset very carefully? If you are a little off with that much taper, you would end up way off size. For example, for a right wing, if you are too far to the right it will cut small, if you are too far left you would cut big. You have to imagine where the wire or bow pivots from when you set up the marks on your table.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion CNC Foam Cutting problem with GMFC wimmeke CAD/CAM 0 Jan 14, 2010 12:24 PM
Discussion Foam works foam cutting software issue airmcn_3 The Builders Workshop 5 Aug 29, 2008 10:02 AM
CNC software for foam cutting KAMarks The Builders Workshop 0 Sep 15, 2002 08:20 PM
foam cutting software Dinah Power Systems 0 Mar 19, 2002 10:08 PM
Foam cutting CNC software foam_man Foamies (Kits) 10 Sep 08, 2001 08:50 AM