Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
May 12, 2011, 11:18 AM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Paul,

OK all is clear now. Thanks for taking the time out to explain

Ray
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 12, 2011, 11:25 AM
Hovership
3rdeyepro's Avatar
Would a cap be recommended if running a heavy lift hexa with a 4S?
May 12, 2011, 11:33 AM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
sorry i didnt tested it myself.
But in any case it wont harm your build (if not soldering a short), they are "good".
Its maybe good or maybe wont do anything, i think for some battery brands it will be good.
But i think you all shouldnt care too much about it.
I will solder some caps on to it for mine, they are cheap and i have some laying here.
In theorie it will help deliver power and will prevent drops when high amps are needed.
But many builds here showed it, its not really needed.
May 12, 2011, 03:26 PM
Registered User
Hi
the "Flyduino" seems to be very interesting for me especially because of 4 UARTs. Did anyone of you has a Robbe/Futaba SBus-Receiver got working natively by the SBus? I saw some guys discussing about an Adapter (SBus -> Sum) but i'm thinking with the possibilities of the ATMega 1024 it should be possible to run an Arduino-Mega-based-Board-SBus-Configuration directly without another Board in between.
If anyone knows a solution, please tell! Thanks
May 13, 2011, 02:14 AM
Registered User
berkely's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
Hi Ray
A Elko is a simply a CAP, sry its a german term.
You dont need it, its really only a option and it shouldnt be needed at all, but some guys prefer to add some big caps to their powerline.
Hi Paul, concerning the caps, do you refer to the electrolytic capacitors? The ones which are normally mounted on the ESC's? Those are installed to protect the ESC's. Too long battery wires may harm your ESC over time. But I think the Caps should be installed as close as possible to the ESC. Not halfway the power lines?

In general it's always better to extend the cables going towards the motors instead of extending the cables towards the ESC's. Or is there another purpose?

Best regards
B.


Btw, I received your flyduino, an amazing piece of art! I really love it!
May 13, 2011, 05:01 PM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Hiya,

Found a little(minor) problem.
I have changed over one of my tri's to a flyduino and when i connect everything according to Alex's sites instructions the flyduino and the RX are dead. I knew everything was alright with the Flyduino so i was flummuxed for a second, then i sussed it. The servo is connected to 2 as it says on alex's site but 2 is where the flyduino gets its power from if the jumpers are set and it expects an ESC on 2 thereby powering the board and the RX. I could power the board from the lipo i suppose but i really dont want to do that.
Any sugestions, for example could i alter the code so the servo is on 3 and ESC that should be on 3 altered to 2. Easy(yea right) except i dont have a clue how to do that.

Any help welcome
Ray
May 13, 2011, 06:54 PM
Hovership
3rdeyepro's Avatar
Just got my flyduino in the mail along with the senor and power BOBs. The flyduino programmed on the first try.

Time to solder lots of pins. Now if I only had a freeflight board Just sent it back to Jussi due to a bad mag.
May 14, 2011, 05:16 AM
Registered User
My Flyduino with "FreeFlight IMU V1.22L" doesn't work. On the IMU on the bottom is a bridge between (ENABLE - PWR).
Not enough power supply for the Flyduino only by FTDI?

Best regards
Geni
May 14, 2011, 05:47 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geni View Post
My Flyduino with "FreeFlight IMU V1.22L" doesn't work. On the IMU on the bottom is a bridge between (ENABLE - PWR).
Not enough power supply for the Flyduino only by FTDI?

Best regards
Geni
Should be ok that way. How do the LEDs on both boards behave?
Have you tried to power the boards via an external source?
May 14, 2011, 05:51 AM
Gravity sucks :)
Is that a 5v FTDI?
May 14, 2011, 10:50 AM
Registered User
I have a test done with a 2S Lipo as power source .
The Power LED is lit, the LED by the FTDI port is flashes and burn both LED on the imu.

In the MultiWiiConf_dev20110508-Gui Cycle Time is displayed in turn from about -10 780 and -20 960.

Is Now the Flyduino broken? How can i check?

Geni
May 14, 2011, 12:27 PM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteturbo View Post
Hiya,

Found a little(minor) problem.
I have changed over one of my tri's to a flyduino and when i connect everything according to Alex's sites instructions the flyduino and the RX are dead. I knew everything was alright with the Flyduino so i was flummuxed for a second, then i sussed it. The servo is connected to 2 as it says on alex's site but 2 is where the flyduino gets its power from if the jumpers are set and it expects an ESC on 2 thereby powering the board and the RX. I could power the board from the lipo i suppose but i really dont want to do that.
Any sugestions, for example could i alter the code so the servo is on 3 and ESC that should be on 3 altered to 2. Easy(yea right) except i dont have a clue how to do that.



Any help welcome
Ray
Because nobody seemed inclined to help i did the only thing i could and powered the board from the Lipo after removing the jumper that enables you to power from an ESC. So now everything worked except the Servo, i had to replace the jumper to enable the servo to work. So for a Tri you need the board powered from a lipo and the jumper(next to pin 2) bridged. I wonder why this hasn't been mentioned before?
May 14, 2011, 12:48 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
@ Whiteturbo, its simple, for the case you want to fly a tri with it, make a solder bridge underneath from Motor 3 to 2 5V pins.
Or take out the red cable from 2 and 3 and swap it.
The 5V jumper is needed too.
And of course you can use the in build Voltage regulator.
@ Geni
It seems there is a problem with the power supply from the FTDI, can you meassure your FTDI 5V pin?
right is it a 5V, how does the pwr led behave?
The Flyduino seems to work properly.
But the sensors is maybe connected the wrong way or the Multiwii soft is configured wrong?
Your wiring looks good (but double check is always good), i think its soft related.
Have you checked to define the right sensors?

Oh and sorry had no internet the last 2 days, was for a job in amsterdam.
Last edited by Goofy23; May 14, 2011 at 01:33 PM.
May 15, 2011, 05:51 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
@ Geni
It seems there is a problem with the power supply from the FTDI, can you meassure your FTDI 5V pin?
right is it a 5V, how does the pwr led behave?
The Flyduino seems to work properly.
But the sensors is maybe connected the wrong way or the Multiwii soft is configured wrong?
Your wiring looks good (but double check is always good), i think its soft related.
Have you checked to define the right sensors?
Hi Paul,
i have now made ​​a test with an Arduino Mini Pro and my IMU works fine, except the mag where all three values ​​always display 500.

So the fault must lie with the Flyduino. Paul I'll have my config.h sent via PM to you.

Geni
May 15, 2011, 06:34 AM
Registered User
is pin D37 designated to provide resetable 5V power to wmp+ ?

and that still has to be added in code?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Please let me introduce myself jimaquo Dock Talk 7 Oct 27, 2010 02:27 AM
Let me introduce the DEMON!!!! (Transparent covering and eliptical wing!!!) modest-master Sport Planes 7 Aug 25, 2002 11:46 PM
Let me introduce Angelis 280/400, Benjamin, Zombi (ARFs) modest-master Parkflyers 17 Mar 14, 2002 01:20 PM
Let me introduce the "NIKE" modest-master Electric Sailplanes 3 Mar 07, 2002 05:20 AM