Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Apr 04, 2012, 12:52 PM
kinderkram is offline
Find More Posts by kinderkram
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by celulari View Post
hi everybody!!!

i have a little question about the flyduino...it's safe to plug the ftdi while is connected to the flight batt??

thanks!!!!
Sure it is. But you should either take off props or cover them while programming.
I never had a bad experience with motors going to full throttle or such ... but you'll never know...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 04, 2012, 01:29 PM
celulari is offline
Find More Posts by celulari
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Sure it is. But you should either take off props or cover them while programming.
I never had a bad experience with motors going to full throttle or such ... but you'll never know...
Thanks!! I'm testing a gimbal setup, but powering my flyduino with the ftdi (usb on my laptop) but i think i need more juice because the board resets sometimes testing the servos...

Btw... Anyone using megapirateNG 2.5r3 knows how to speed up the response of the servos?? They are pretty fast (in specs) but the response it's not fast enough to compensate..

Thanks!!!
Old Apr 04, 2012, 04:17 PM
kinderkram is offline
Find More Posts by kinderkram
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
You're powering your servos independently, right? Not through the USB!

Sometimes laptops don't spit enough juice, sometimes the cables are too weak.
You should power the Flyduino with a lipo then.
Old Apr 04, 2012, 06:42 PM
celulari is offline
Find More Posts by celulari
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
You're powering your servos independently, right? Not through the USB!

Sometimes laptops don't spit enough juice, sometimes the cables are too weak.
You should power the Flyduino with a lipo then.
Oops!!

Ok... Then, what's the best source to power up the servos??? Any 5v out on the flyduino o hook up a BEC??

Thanks!
Old Apr 05, 2012, 03:06 AM
olaf.j is offline
Find More Posts by olaf.j
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by olaf.j View Post

I tried to find out, how to use Input-Pin 5 for interrupts. I hope, the Input-Pin 5 of the flyduino is PCINT13 / A5?
Output to digital pin 33 is working fine.

But I found the PinMapping2560-document at arduino.cc. If the flyduino uses similar pin names, then the input pin 5 of the flyduino is the anlog pin 5 of arduino mega. That means, no interrupt

What about the pins left from the motor-pins? Are these the digital pins 10-13 (on the board you can only see the 13)? If so, are these the Atmega 2560 Pins B4, B5, B6 and B7? Then I could use them for interrupts (I hope)...

But I think, the input pin 5 of the flyduino
Old Apr 05, 2012, 03:18 AM
kinderkram is offline
Find More Posts by kinderkram
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by celulari View Post
Oops!!

Ok... Then, what's the best source to power up the servos??? Any 5v out on the flyduino o hook up a BEC??

Thanks!
Use any power source above 5V to power up the Flyduino independently.
So the servo doesn't draw its power through the USB. You'd damage the laptop's USB sooner or later...
Old Apr 05, 2012, 09:57 AM
Galumbo is offline
Find More Posts by Galumbo
Able to learn fly
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Sure it is. But you should either take off props or cover them while programming.
I never had a bad experience with motors going to full throttle or such ... but you'll never know...
I've had such a bad expirience! I've plug in the ftdi with conected Lipo and all motors imidiatly startet to rotate with full throtle! So be carefull and unmount your props.
Old Apr 05, 2012, 01:56 PM
kinderkram is offline
Find More Posts by kinderkram
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
... or at least put a blanket over it to prevent it from taking off.
Unmounting the props is surely the safest option...
Old Apr 05, 2012, 05:40 PM
olaf.j is offline
Find More Posts by olaf.j
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by olaf.j View Post
What about the pins left from the motor-pins? Are these the digital pins 10-13 (on the board you can only see the 13)? If so, are these the Atmega 2560 Pins B4, B5, B6 and B7? Then I could use them for interrupts (I hope)...
I got it

Used digital pin 11 for the echo-pin (interrupt-pin). This one is PCINT5/PINB5. With this pin it's working fine now.
Old Apr 05, 2012, 07:47 PM
M4d_D is offline
Find More Posts by M4d_D
Registered User
M4d_D's Avatar
hi ,
what does qm mean here http://flyduino.net/Flydubution-Stromverteiler-Board ?
is it mikro ?
how many amps can i draw from this ? can i put 8 x 20A motors on it without risking my octo ? what do you guys think ?
Old Apr 06, 2012, 02:19 AM
Gaza07 is offline
Find More Posts by Gaza07
Registered User
Gaza07's Avatar
Have you seen this diagram it shows the sonar pins

Quote:
Originally Posted by olaf.j View Post
I got it

Used digital pin 11 for the echo-pin (interrupt-pin). This one is PCINT5/PINB5. With this pin it's working fine now.
Old Apr 06, 2012, 03:50 AM
olaf.j is offline
Find More Posts by olaf.j
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaza07 View Post
Have you seen this diagram it shows the sonar pins
That's exactly what I looked for. Could Not find it so far. on what Page was it?
Perspektiv Paul could put this on Page 1?

Great!
Old Apr 06, 2012, 08:48 AM
Gaza07 is offline
Find More Posts by Gaza07
Registered User
Gaza07's Avatar
It was from this thread cant remember what page I just uploaded it from my drive
Old Apr 06, 2012, 01:35 PM
celulari is offline
Find More Posts by celulari
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Use any power source above 5V to power up the Flyduino independently.
So the servo doesn't draw its power through the USB. You'd damage the laptop's USB sooner or later...


thanks for the tip!!!

i'm using teh fligt batt now for powering the flyduino and a BEC for the servos... works like a charm!!! but the servos are too slow for compensate

today, testing a external led for the status led, suddendly tuoched the atmega chip with my finger.... that thing is ultra HOT!!!!

i don't know if it's normal... i've made a few fights last week using multiwii and i have no problems, but didn't touched the chip to see the temperature...
now i'm testing megapirateNG... i don't think it's a code issue...
i hope the heat is normal... i don't want to buy another flyduino...




thanks
Old Apr 07, 2012, 07:13 AM
zerosight is offline
Find More Posts by zerosight
Registered User
My megas stay cold during flight. If your mega starts to glow after you connect an external LED, I guess that your LED draw to much power. 20 or 40 mA is max.

Quote:
Originally Posted by celulari View Post


thanks for the tip!!!

i'm using teh fligt batt now for powering the flyduino and a BEC for the servos... works like a charm!!! but the servos are too slow for compensate

today, testing a external led for the status led, suddendly tuoched the atmega chip with my finger.... that thing is ultra HOT!!!!

i don't know if it's normal... i've made a few fights last week using multiwii and i have no problems, but didn't touched the chip to see the temperature...
now i'm testing megapirateNG... i don't think it's a code issue...
i hope the heat is normal... i don't want to buy another flyduino...




thanks


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Please let me introduce myself jimaquo Dock Talk 7 Oct 27, 2010 03:27 AM
Let me introduce the DEMON!!!! (Transparent covering and eliptical wing!!!) modest-master Sport Planes 7 Aug 26, 2002 12:46 AM
Let me introduce Angelis 280/400, Benjamin, Zombi (ARFs) modest-master Parkflyers 17 Mar 14, 2002 02:20 PM
Let me introduce the "NIKE" modest-master Electric Sailplanes 3 Mar 07, 2002 06:20 AM