Thread Tools
Aug 28, 2013, 07:59 AM
Registered User
Thanks for the suggestions. In addition, thanks to the good people at Intelitek being given your PDF of the manual - I have this response below from them. I will report back and add some pictures too. The motor name plate is a Fischer, 3 phase, 42-220V, 2.9A, 50-450 Hz, .1-.79Kw.

I will try to add a photo of the name plate later.

I really appreciate the help.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 28, 2013, 07:59 AM
Registered User
Here's the suggestions from Intelitek:

The overcurrent error on the drive is pointing to a fault in the motor. Try moving the MAN/CNC switch to manual and turning the potentiometer to min. Will the spindle motor turn on?

Check the wiring on the spindle motor. Is there a capacitor between terminals 4 and 5?

Try disconnecting the Blue, Black and Red wires from the motor at the U, V and W connections of the drive. Turn on the motor. Obviously the motor wont rotate with the wires disconnected but do you still get the over current error or does it go away with the motor disconnected?"
Aug 29, 2013, 05:30 AM
Registered User
Here's the results of a few tests:

When looking into the motor connections, there is no capacitor between terminals 4 and 5.

When we tried to start up in manual and spindle at zero, we got the green light and the controller display showed an F 0.0. Then when we tried to increase the speed with the knob very slowly, it ran away and went into error 12.

Next we, disconnected the Red, Black and Blue wires from the controller. A repeat of the start up with manual and zero for the speed yielded the same result, green light and 0.0 and then run away numbers and error 12 when the knob was turned slightly.

The next thing we tried was to repeat this with the control switch in CNC mode, spindle speed at 0 and turn spindle on, this gave the green light again and a speed display of zero. Tried stepping up the speed from small numbers, when we tried 100 (range is 0 to 42,000), the display showed increasing numbers that rapidly ran away and into error 12 again.

Sounds like an issue with the Lust controller - I asked Intelitek if they had any ideas on how to trace this?
Aug 29, 2013, 08:34 AM
Dieselized User
gkamysz's Avatar
If you're getting over current error without a motor connected the VFD has failed. I had a VFD that did just this. Probably failed output transistors. It was cheaper to replace the drive than the transistors.

Greg
Aug 29, 2013, 08:36 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
I would agree that the Fu is probably defective.
When I'm not familiar with a product I usually take a few extra steps before I trash it.
I would go to the Manuals section on initial startup. It has a setting to manually run the motor. I would try that. The display starts with 0.0 as the desired output frequency. That means it should not turn. The display should only go up to the maximum frequency programmed in the FU.
The motor should have 4 wires to the FU, one is to the motors case.
I would still test the motor, since I would not want it to burn up a new VFD.
Sep 02, 2013, 06:46 AM
Registered User
Good advice and thank you. Below is the response we received from EMA (US based rep). We will remove it and send to EMA for an evaluation.

The error 12 means over current condition. This could be due to bad IGBT, bad driver section or bad motor or cable between the drive and the motor. If you verify that the motor and the cable is not the issue I would recommend you send the VFD to us for free evaluation.

Once we evaluate it we will give you a price for what it would cost to fix it.
Sep 03, 2013, 05:46 AM
Registered User
For what it may add, here is a photo of the unit. The VFD is attached to the right of the unit (and has the cover removed). I will try to to do the manual testing today as suggested prior to sending off the VFD, as you recommend, it would be a drag to burn out another VFD if there is something wrong with the motor.
Sep 28, 2014, 05:46 PM
Registered User

Instructions Intelitek CNC Resource Center


Hi Milldalton, Roto Rob and others
I found some Intelitek Instructions on the web html
they are For
prolight 1000 mill
prolight 2000 mill
prolight 3000 lathe
and for other Intelitek products

new link
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0By...T00&authuser=0
iso-zipped winrar file
hope this keeps the cnc going a little longer
Last edited by megclay; Feb 20, 2015 at 08:18 PM.
Sep 28, 2014, 08:44 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
Thanks very much. I have had to guess at how to do things so far. Are those two links the same file?
Sep 29, 2014, 05:13 AM
Registered User
Hi Rob
yep and your guess was perfect
I have to replace my bearings
good part in there about that on PL 1000 (also attached)

bearing name: NSK 6206V sealed bearing
Brand model : 6206V
outer diameter D : 62 mm
diameter d : 30 mm
thickness B : 16 mm
category: Deep groove ball bearing specifications

I would like to get a better bearing than the (NSK deep groove)
what do you think about angular contact bearing
Last edited by megclay; Sep 29, 2014 at 03:44 PM. Reason: updated info
Sep 29, 2014, 01:16 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
I don't know if an angular contact bearing would be an advantage. Probably an email to a bearing manufacture would get a response. Did you find a number on your bearings?
I have wanted to go through my mill. I know the tramming is a little out. Just use it to often, maybe over the winter.
Sep 30, 2014, 01:46 PM
Dieselized User
gkamysz's Avatar
A plain angular contact bearing will offer increased axial load capability. A precision type has very specific requirements of the housing and installation that might not be built into the design. What do you hope to achieve with better bearings? I would think they selected the spindle bearing load rating to exceed available axis force.

Greg
Sep 30, 2014, 04:37 PM
Registered User
thanks Greg
for your input.
first time with spindle bearings
I just want to run at max rpm for extended time using HSM and not much load
the machine needs all the help it can get in the load dept. also would like to use ISOFLEX NBU 15 grease
if the standard bearing good for that ok. just would like it a little more HD than now.
I looked up angular contact I do not think I could use them
with the housing and spindle check out the pdf file
unless some one has a great idea
Last edited by megclay; Sep 30, 2014 at 05:03 PM.
Sep 30, 2014, 05:08 PM
Dieselized User
gkamysz's Avatar
What is the spindle speed? Grease won't change load ratings. How did the existing bearings fail?
Sep 30, 2014, 06:33 PM
Registered User
I think just from over use and 5k rpm they are the original prolight bearings
but also I had a roof leak that the whole mill was full of water even in the spindle hole (just my luck)
I never trusted the bearings after that
some people recommend the bearings from VXB
how about the 62062NSE2C4 Nachi or 6926NSLBNLS Nachi
but I do not know about what kind of clearance


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Sherline 2000 Mill Titan_Racing Non R/C Items (FS/W) 3 Feb 22, 2011 02:12 AM
Sold sherline 4000 lathe w/tooling and mill attachment billymac12127 Non R/C Items (FS/W) 0 Aug 31, 2010 06:54 PM
Discussion Sherline 5400 Mill... want to sell but have questions.. TRP The Builders Workshop 11 Feb 12, 2008 01:04 AM
Light machines Needed Jamaican Aircraft - Fuel - Helis (FS/W) 3 Mar 20, 2005 08:47 AM
Sherline Mill BillH Electric Plane Talk 11 Feb 21, 2002 10:36 AM