Thread Tools
Feb 23, 2011, 12:24 PM
Registered User
akschu's Avatar
Due to the holiday I couldn't ship the orders until Tuesday, but they all went out yesterday.

To those that ordered, please post feedback when you get everything up and running.

Thanks,
schu
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 25, 2011, 08:00 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aralan
I've just finished doing some bench testing. The pinout on ribbon cable looks to be a bit different on this supply. I probed the connectors on hot plug board and the header and found that shorting pins 3,5,6 does the trick. It does not appear that the hot plug board connects any of the pins on the ribbon cable to ground. I connected to DC ground and probed all pins on the hot plug board header and did not find any connections. Pin 1 (the red wire) coming from the main board side is to ground.

As for floating the DC ground, the screw on the left side of the main board, closest to the hot plug board, appears to be responsible for connecting DC ground to the case. After removing this screw, I found no continuity between DC ground and the case, nor DC ground and AC ground. It does seem however that there is a contact on the back side of the main board that connects to the case when the screw is holding it down. Pushing down on the board caused the DC ground to become connected to the case again. In order to eliminate that I'll need to attach something to the underside of the board to isolate that connection from the case, so it looks like I need to revisit removing the main board. Still don't have that figure out. I'm obviously missing something.

Removing the green wire from the case did not eliminate the AC ground. There must be another connection that I can't see. I don't think it is worth tracking down though, as floating the DC ground was quite easy.
When I ordered a couple of ESP135s, I also got a pair of PS-3601-1C units but was able to unscrew the bars from the main board. Shorting the 3,5,6 wires does work, but one issue I have is that the fans are not moving enough air. Have you figured out how to raise the fan speed? I've tried shorting different wires, but no luck. By the way, when I first plug in the units, the fan momentarily go to a high setting for a second, then slow down considerably.
Feb 26, 2011, 11:56 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerochew
the fans are not moving enough air
Curious as to what you noticed that make you believe that your fans are not working properly? The fans are thermostatically controlled in many server supplies and, as such, are dependent on load and ambient conditions. I have some power supplies that are dead silent (fans are stopped) until a load is present.

If your supplies are not overheating and you are getting stable voltage up to the limit of your supply, then I would say that all is likely fine.

Mark
Feb 26, 2011, 01:12 PM
One cell short of a Pack
steve1814's Avatar
Here is my first set completed. Easy to do and works like a champ!

Cheers,
Steve
Feb 26, 2011, 01:26 PM
Registered User
akschu's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerochew
When I ordered a couple of ESP135s, I also got a pair of PS-3601-1C units but was able to unscrew the bars from the main board. Shorting the 3,5,6 wires does work, but one issue I have is that the fans are not moving enough air. Have you figured out how to raise the fan speed? I've tried shorting different wires, but no luck. By the way, when I first plug in the units, the fan momentarily go to a high setting for a second, then slow down considerably.
The fans on the power supplies I'm using aren't thermo controlled so they are on all of the time and they are loud. I usually stick a resistor in series with them when I build my own kits to slow them down a little.

I suspect yours will be just fine since they will almost certainly ramp up when they get hot.

schu
Feb 26, 2011, 01:28 PM
Registered User
akschu's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1814
Here is my first set completed. Easy to do and works like a champ!

Cheers,
Steve
Steve,

What did you think of the kit? Did the DVD work ok? Suggestions for improvements?

It's exciting to see my work in the hands of someone else. Also, I like how you pasted the wiring diagram on the top of the unit.

schu
Feb 26, 2011, 01:35 PM
One cell short of a Pack
steve1814's Avatar
The DVD was choppy, but it was on my laptop in the Garage so it may be that it is an older model. I did have to go a find a freeware program to view it as windows media player said I didn't have the right codec for the files - then again, I don't think WMP ever worked on anything other WMP files .

The narrative was straight forward and I enjoyed the fact that you didn't edit anything to show that even if you drop the same screw a half dozen times (been there, done that!) it still only takes 25 minutes to put them together.

The kit...speaks for itself! Can't get any easier Not much you can improve upon.

Now you have work on the 24 Volt/92 Amp 4 PS model!!!

Cheers,
Steve

Let me edit my DVD Choppy statement: The video was viewable, no stutter or dropped frames--it was just scanning choppy, like a wave across the video. The audio was not affected and the "waviness" didn't detract so much from the video that you couldn't see. It was more than likely my "freeware" player....Others will have to chime in
Last edited by steve1814; Feb 26, 2011 at 01:42 PM. Reason: added content
Feb 26, 2011, 01:38 PM
Registered User
akschu's Avatar
I haven't done any testing with that, but it should just be a simple matter of wiring two finished kits in parallel.
Feb 27, 2011, 04:09 PM
Registered User
Schu, are you planning to make more?
Last edited by GReedTFD; Feb 28, 2011 at 08:17 PM.
Feb 28, 2011, 09:58 AM
HAV
HAV
Registered User
HAV's Avatar
akschu:

Found time to assemble your full kit this morning and I must say it was an enjoyable process. Video was fine and easy to follow. Good quality components and well made...(I pull tested your connections!)
Now to choose a new charger to take advantage of this baby. HAV
Last edited by HAV; Mar 03, 2011 at 12:17 PM.
Feb 28, 2011, 10:16 AM
Registered User
akschu's Avatar
I have a pl8 and recommend it. It's very powerful and has a lot of safety features. Buy it from Dave at progressiverc.com.
Feb 28, 2011, 05:37 PM
One cell short of a Pack
steve1814's Avatar
Schu

I got my other set built and running today. What do you think would be the best way to wire the series parallel wiring?

Cheers,
Steve
Feb 28, 2011, 06:50 PM
Registered User
akschu's Avatar
Steve,

You would wire for series, then you would run a jumper between the two 24V+ posts and the two 24V- posts.

At that point you should be able to pull on it at 90+ amps.
Mar 01, 2011, 05:40 AM
One cell short of a Pack
steve1814's Avatar
This looks like the best way to do it:
Mar 01, 2011, 08:49 AM
Registered User
ForceFedDSM's Avatar
schu,
I'm interested in a full kit with a y-power cable if you decide to do another run. Will any ESP135 series supply work or do I need a certain one? I found some DPS-600PB, are these the correct ones?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Hp DPS 800gb a power supply Nocept1 Batteries and Chargers 257 May 16, 2017 08:05 AM
Discussion Getting a Compaq HP DL580 Proliant Server Power Supply to Work earlwb Batteries and Chargers 551 Mar 19, 2017 11:41 AM
Discussion COnverting Server Power Supply - EMERSON pluto_26 Power Systems 15 Mar 19, 2017 04:41 AM
Help! HP Server Power Supply conversion memory Batteries and Chargers 4 Feb 14, 2016 01:47 AM
Question Can I Use This Compaq Server Power Supply? LowFlier07 Batteries and Chargers 2 Oct 28, 2010 04:23 PM