Lumenier RB2205C-12 2400KV SKITZO Ceramic Bearing Motor
Thread Tools
Old Dec 05, 2011, 05:14 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
376782 Noneed to post. Have a look here:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=261
mnavarro - The link above shows you to do it for the regular 47A power supplies. Pictures and all. I remove the board with the output termianls entirely to put washers under the main board and under the screwheads. Nylon did not work for me as it just squeezes out before you can get the screw really tight. The rest of my blog has some pics of how others have built boxes for their supplies etc. Some are quite elaborate.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2011, 05:39 PM
mnavarro is online now
Find More Posts by mnavarro
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
376782 Noneed to post. Have a look here:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=261
mnavarro - The link above shows you to do it for the regular 47A power supplies. Pictures and all. I remove the board with the output termianls entirely to put washers under the main board and under the screwheads. Nylon did not work for me as it just squeezes out before you can get the screw really tight. The rest of my blog has some pics of how others have built boxes for their supplies etc. Some are quite elaborate.
Ok. I see what you did. This is very helpful.
Last edited by mnavarro; Dec 06, 2011 at 07:00 AM. Reason: Deleting wrong potentially dangerous information
Old Dec 05, 2011, 06:38 PM
376782 is offline
Find More Posts by 376782
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
376782 Noneed to post. Have a look here:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=261
mnavarro - The link above shows you to do it for the regular 47A power supplies. Pictures and all. I remove the board with the output termianls entirely to put washers under the main board and under the screwheads. Nylon did not work for me as it just squeezes out before you can get the screw really tight. The rest of my blog has some pics of how others have built boxes for their supplies etc. Some are quite elaborate.
Hi Feather Merchant;

Sorry if I appeared to be trying to step on your toes. Your pictures of how to do it are much more elaborate and informative then mine. I did mine just to back up a presentation I made at our club on how and why we should be using server power supplies for our battery chargers. I chose a far simpler way to mount terminals using power poles as most of our club uses them and they are very easy to install on almost any style of power supply. I also explained why these power supplies are so much superior to almost any other chargers on the market due to their power factor correction feature which dramatically improves efficiency when using small inverter type generators.
I think the main reason I responded to this forum was that I see a lot of confusion and miss information regarding the grounding issues and I wanted to try and clear that up.

Dave
Old Dec 05, 2011, 08:29 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
No problem at all, 376 I just alreaady had some documentation.

mnavarro - I prefer to use washers on the screws so I can remount the board just as it was. But then I sell these to modelers to use so I need to go the extra mile.
Old Dec 05, 2011, 09:07 PM
akschu is offline
Find More Posts by akschu
Registered User
akschu's Avatar
I don't like using metal screws for this. My kits ship with a nylon screw.

But yea, that's basically how you do it.
Old Dec 07, 2011, 12:37 AM
mnavarro is online now
Find More Posts by mnavarro
Registered User
Wanted to thank everybody for your help on this. Got it working nicely!
Old Dec 07, 2011, 04:05 PM
Mike Freas is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Freas
KK4NOP
Mike Freas's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnavarro View Post
Wanted to thank everybody for your help on this. Got it working nicely!
I second this. I've been charging with 25 volts for a few weeks now and it's flawless. Now my issue is I've maxed my Hyperion Duo out so I need to upgrade to a FMA ProLab8. Then the problem will be overloading the house circut. It never ends.
Old Dec 07, 2011, 04:07 PM
ReddiK is offline
Find More Posts by ReddiK
Suspended Account
The PL 8 is an amazing device. You will love it. Nope, never does, thank God!
Old Dec 11, 2011, 10:33 PM
stgdz is offline
Find More Posts by stgdz
Volts>amps
stgdz's Avatar
So I grabbed a couple of these off of Ebay,

I built the DL580 and it was pretty easy to do with the grippers on back. Just solder to them and I was done.


Can I do that with these PSU's for 12v each, I don't want to run 24 as my requirements are for two seperate power supplies on 12v each. I really don't want to remove that breakout board as the case is really small.
Last edited by stgdz; Dec 13, 2011 at 11:30 PM.
Old Dec 12, 2011, 10:28 PM
mnavarro is online now
Find More Posts by mnavarro
Registered User
Here's a shot of my almost complete setup. I am thinking of mounting my iChargers (206B, 208B ), balance boards so that they are flush with my false bottom. The top banana plugs will be use on an adhoc basis.

The 208B will run at 25Volts and the 206B at 12.5 volts. I have toggles controlling power to both.
Old Dec 13, 2011, 10:43 PM
stgdz is offline
Find More Posts by stgdz
Volts>amps
stgdz's Avatar
So how do I get at the posts?


I can get one side of the psu off but when I try to get the other side with the 90 degree bend it doesn't slide off. There are a couple of teeth that lock into the chassis but again it doesn't slide.
Old Dec 13, 2011, 11:39 PM
mrforsyth is offline
Find More Posts by mrforsyth
Registered User
You have to 'peel' the side away from the cardboard insulator that is attached to it with double-back adhesive. It will then easily unlock and slide off. I promise.

Mark
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 14, 2011, 08:03 AM
ReddiK is offline
Find More Posts by ReddiK
Suspended Account
Try a screw driver blade or a dull knife-as Mark said, "I promise!"
Old Dec 14, 2011, 10:06 PM
stgdz is offline
Find More Posts by stgdz
Volts>amps
stgdz's Avatar
So do I clip the blue and purple wire?
Old Dec 14, 2011, 10:09 PM
ReddiK is offline
Find More Posts by ReddiK
Suspended Account
Wires-yes.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Hp DPS 800gb a power supply Nocept1 Batteries and Chargers 231 Sep 20, 2016 12:07 AM
Discussion COnverting Server Power Supply - EMERSON pluto_26 Power Systems 14 Apr 24, 2016 03:37 PM
Discussion Getting a Compaq HP DL580 Proliant Server Power Supply to Work earlwb Batteries and Chargers 544 Feb 22, 2016 05:10 PM
Help! HP Server Power Supply conversion memory Batteries and Chargers 4 Feb 14, 2016 02:47 AM
Question Can I Use This Compaq Server Power Supply? LowFlier07 Batteries and Chargers 2 Oct 28, 2010 05:23 PM