3DHS 104" AJ Slick - Page 168 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Oct 12, 2011, 10:55 AM
Registered User
Dahly's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by theKM
1.5" arms will work if you max out your end points properly... 2" arms if you want absurd throws, mine has 1.5" arms at the moment.

I like to gang rear mounted rudder servos one on each side... one servo and arm can completely fail and the other will still be happily connected to the rudder. That said, you can easily gang both the servos on one side no problem.

I agree with KM on the ganging...

I am using 2" on my air brake, sorry I mean elevator.

Be advised, the 2" arms come very close to the rear screw that holds the stabs on. I actually used the "single side" ball joint end to provide additional clearance to the head of the bolt as it is gets very close. The geometry is very much in line and I did not see any binding at the end points.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 12, 2011, 01:54 PM
Registered User
Lonelasso's Avatar

PimP the RaFFLe (again) !


Get in while the geTTin is gOOder !!

Purchase your raffle tickets by clicking the awesome image below !!

No need to be present !!! Simple and FAST....just a few clicks !


Oct 12, 2011, 08:59 PM
Registered User
Thanks for the info. Figured 2" is what i would need cause i only have 1.5's, figures thats my luck. Guess i"ll be calling troybuilt
Oct 12, 2011, 09:03 PM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
max out your endpoints, 1.5 will work... I get 50 degrees throw on elevator with 1.5" arms





2" can get you some more wild throws, but for what it's worth, 1.5" arms on all servos...

104" AJ Slick - 3d comfort food (9 min 19 sec)
Last edited by theKM; Oct 12, 2011 at 09:11 PM.
Oct 13, 2011, 06:13 AM
Registered User
DalAv8r's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by theKM
1.5" arms will work if you max out your end points properly... 2" arms if you want absurd throws, mine has 1.5" arms at the moment.

I like to gang rear mounted rudder servos one on each side... one servo and arm can completely fail and the other will still be happily connected to the rudder. That said, you can easily gang both the servos on one side no problem.
I'd like to try this also, (one rudder servo each side) but I only have 1 pushrod long enough(approx 5") that came with the kit. Where did you purchase a second pushrod? I looked on the 3DHS site and was unable to find anything.

Thanks

Scott
Oct 13, 2011, 06:36 AM
Registered User
Hanger 9 sells them, they look identical except that they are titanium.
Oct 13, 2011, 08:11 AM
Fly Low or you'll never know!
RC4x4's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DalAv8r
I'd like to try this also, (one rudder servo each side) but I only have 1 pushrod long enough(approx 5") that came with the kit. Where did you purchase a second pushrod? I looked on the 3DHS site and was unable to find anything.

Thanks

Scott
You can use the Hangar 9 ones or Troy Built models has some also.
http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/items/TBMLINKT5.html


Cory
Oct 13, 2011, 08:31 AM
Registered User
Lonelasso's Avatar

**Additional Raffle Prizes Information !!**


2 additional prizes have been added !!!

47" Osiris !!!



48" Super Vyper !!!



Purchase your raffle tickets by clicking below !! Need NOT be present to WIN !!

Oct 13, 2011, 09:40 PM
Team 3DHS / Team JR
Bivens's Avatar
Quote:
I do need to rework my throttle linkage a little, it hovers at a click or 2 over idle. That will be a Winter project.
just a 3 minute project if you fix it with throttle curve....and infinitely adjustable....
Oct 13, 2011, 09:58 PM
Registered User
Dahly's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DalAv8r
I'd like to try this also, (one rudder servo each side) but I only have 1 pushrod long enough(approx 5") that came with the kit. Where did you purchase a second pushrod? I looked on the 3DHS site and was unable to find anything.

Thanks

Scott
TBM 5" if my memory serves me correct.
Oct 13, 2011, 10:00 PM
Registered User
Dahly's Avatar
At theKM...

Do you have a 120 in your 103"

I was wondering if DA 120 plugs will hit cowl?
Oct 13, 2011, 10:05 PM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahly
At theKM...

Do you have a 120 in your 103"

I was wondering if DA 120 plugs will hit cowl?
they miss the cowl... 104 is designed with the 120 dimensions in mind.
Oct 13, 2011, 10:17 PM
Registered User
Dahly's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by theKM
they miss the cowl... 104 is designed with the 120 dimensions in mind.
Thanks, actually I was wondering about your 103" Extra- wrong forum I know, but just saw your green light was on ....
Oct 13, 2011, 10:29 PM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahly
Thanks, actually I was wondering about your 103" Extra- wrong forum I know, but just saw your green light was on ....
sorry, I didnt read the 103 right...

there is some rubbing... I need to add a thin ply or carbon rub plate and a zip tie around the plug connector. but while it has manage to rub through the high spot on the heat shrink it's not so bad as to be a massive concern to me
Oct 13, 2011, 10:30 PM
Registered User
bobby808813's Avatar

104 slick


Got the smoke working great thanks km and joe for the great advice i love this plane its flying perfect .km let me know if you have any great ideas getting the oil heated up .


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product 3DHS 42" AJ Slick Gear Fix jake48 3D Flying 25 Nov 26, 2010 01:01 PM
Sold NEU 1512 2.5D w/6.7 GB & Castle 80 AMP, Perfect for 3DHS AJ SLICK 70" / 72" Extra Alkaline Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 Nov 07, 2010 08:34 AM
Question 3DHS 41" Edge and 42" AJ Slick RC_Feen 3D Flying 26 Oct 12, 2010 01:29 AM
Found 3DHS 51" AJ Slick BNF ShoGinn Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 05, 2010 05:19 PM