Swist - Page 111 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Nov 19, 2012, 02:55 AM
Registered User
magrinsi's Avatar
I want put for aileron the ATLAS 09 AMD servo but are out of stock ...in all shop...
I have see these ..are a clone with label GRAUPNER?

http://shop.lindinger.at/product_inf...ducts_id=78309


For elevator i think a ATLAS 09 SCD "CARBOLY"DIGITAL 1,6kg too little?
Last edited by magrinsi; Nov 19, 2012 at 03:16 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 22, 2012, 05:48 PM
Heavy thinker..I mean tinkerer
TheBlood+'s Avatar
How will HS 65HB's do for ailerons?
Nov 23, 2012, 03:02 AM
Registered User
magrinsi's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBlood+
How will HS 65HB's do for ailerons?
If i have the doubts respect ATLAS 09 SCD with hs65HB ......are even more.
Also are too thick...
Nov 26, 2012, 02:00 AM
Registered User
I have got a 3026 1900kv which I plan on installing in a second fuse for my Swist.
I reversed the shaft so that I can install it on the front of the fuse - this is the first time Ive done this and I need clarity on the process please. I searched the RCG but didn't find any info.
In standard form the shaft is held by two set screws one of which makes contact with a flat on the shaft. At the front of the motor the shaft is prevented from moving by a C-clip (I think thats what its called).
When the shaft is reversed do I need to grind a flat on the shaft for the set screw (the original flat is now at the back of the motor) ?
How is the shaft (with the bell attached to it) prevented from departing from the motor besides with the C-clip ? Do I need to grind a recess in the shaft for the C-clip ?
Nov 26, 2012, 02:04 AM
Registered User
Voodoo - when you get a moment please phone SUSA - Ive mailed them twice but they've not replied - I need to know if I can get a Swist fuse with fin and stab (no wing required) and how much it is. Thank you kindly
Nov 26, 2012, 03:13 AM
2012 NZ Speedcup - 231 MPH
DownUnderPilot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by War Machine
I have got a 3026 1900kv which I plan on installing in a second fuse for my Swist.
I reversed the shaft so that I can install it on the front of the fuse - this is the first time Ive done this and I need clarity on the process please. I searched the RCG but didn't find any info.
In standard form the shaft is held by two set screws one of which makes contact with a flat on the shaft. At the front of the motor the shaft is prevented from moving by a C-clip (I think thats what its called).
When the shaft is reversed do I need to grind a flat on the shaft for the set screw (the original flat is now at the back of the motor) ?
How is the shaft (with the bell attached to it) prevented from departing from the motor besides with the C-clip ? Do I need to grind a recess in the shaft for the C-clip ?
War Machine, you do need to grind a small flat on the shaft for the grub screw to go against to ensure the shaft does not rotate.

And the way to secure the bell into the motor is to use a wheel collet, one with a 5mm inside diameter, like these:

http://www.wattsup.co.nz/catalog/pro...oducts_id=1359
Nov 26, 2012, 05:53 AM
Registered User
That makes sense - thanks DUP.
How do you suggest I grind the flat on the shaft? I used my dremmel but its not a very neat flat - is there a better way ?
Nov 26, 2012, 07:03 AM
Registered User
Also - I have a large gap between the front of the fuse and the back of the spinner - do I cut the shaft or push it back so that it protrudes from the back of the motor ?
Nov 26, 2012, 02:29 PM
2012 NZ Speedcup - 231 MPH
DownUnderPilot's Avatar
A dremel flat would be fine, there's probably a better way, someone would have done a perfect flat for sure!

I had to cut about 8-10mm of the shaft on my 4020 so the spinner mated up agaist the bell, I guess it's fairly typical.
Nov 26, 2012, 07:57 PM
Drinks Day Old Expired Milk
VooDoo Child's Avatar
I had to cut a few mm's off every motor i have ever used.
Nov 26, 2012, 09:40 PM
Drinks Day Old Expired Milk
VooDoo Child's Avatar
Also,to Swist owners,i am not sure if i crank my wing bolts to tight or not,but i have managed to strip both theaded brass inserts in the fuz....very easy fix,and i made sure it was stronger then before....I just wanted to put it out there.
Nov 27, 2012, 01:44 AM
Heavy thinker..I mean tinkerer
TheBlood+'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by magrinsi
If i have the doubts respect ATLAS 09 SCD with hs65HB ......are even more.
Also are too thick...
I would think that if HS 65hB's are plenty good for the elevator, I can't see why they wouldn't be plenty for the ailerons. Other than the physical size being too thick maybe.
Anyways I'm going with D60's for ailerons, I just asked because I have lots of HS65hb's on hand already.
Nov 27, 2012, 02:24 AM
SB7
SB7
I am actually really slow
Quote:
Originally Posted by VooDoo Child
Also,to Swist owners,i am not sure if i crank my wing bolts to tight or not,but i have managed to strip both theaded brass inserts in the fuz....very easy fix,and i made sure it was stronger then before....I just wanted to put it out there.
How did you manage the fix??
Nov 27, 2012, 03:12 AM
Heavy thinker..I mean tinkerer
TheBlood+'s Avatar
I wondered about why they would use brass when i first received mine. Kind of a soft metal to use for threads on a high stress area, they are bound to strip eventually with the constant in and out of the screws.
Maybe the designers figured the model wouldn't outlast the inserts anyways LOL.
Nov 27, 2012, 07:07 AM
Registered User
I reinforced the area holding the inserts with epoxy - it looked a bit weak. That won't help the threads but at least they won't pull out of the fuse.
TheBlood+ = The Profit Of DOOM !