Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Dec 30, 2010, 07:51 PM
felipesalomao is offline
Find More Posts by felipesalomao
Registered User
Discussion

Eagle Tree OSD PRO Return to Home Config (Post your setup here).


Would be great to help others members configure OSD PRO RTH

Post here these informations:

Plane = ?
Radio = ?
Stabilization System (if you have) = ?

Choose Receiver Type = ?
Number Failsafe Chans on RX = ?

Cruise altitude = ?
Altitude error = ?
Pitch Proportional Gain = ?
Pitch Derivative Gain = ?
Turn Proportional Limit = ?
Turn Proportional Gain = ?
Turn Derivative Gain = ?
Turn Integral Gain = ?

Hope many posts to help everyone configure RTH.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 30, 2010, 09:14 PM
Crist Rigotti is offline
Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
I use a JR XP9303 equipped with a DraginLink. I fly a Skywalker with a FY-20A stabilizer.

PCM/FS
1 FS chns
Max cruise speed - 30
Cruise altitude - 500
Altitude Error - 25
Pitch Proportional Gain - 70
Pitch Deriviative Gain -50
Turn Proportional Limit - 50
Turn Proportional Gain - 55
Turn Integral Gain - 55
Turn Deriviative Gain - 50

I use rudder for RTH not ailerons.

FY-20A settings all about midway +/- 10 degrees

During the Safety Wizard I use full rudder throw to the left plus 1/2 up elevator when asked to give it left stick. Of course your settings can vary depending on how much throw you're using on your rudder along with your control geometery.

RTH with a FY-20A and a Skywalker work very well and you shouldn't have too much of a problem setting it up.

Climb to your cruise altitude (mine is set at 500 feet) and hit your switch or your throttle trim and see what the plane does. If it comes back and circles overhead while maintaining altitude then try several different headings especially with the blowing to confirm your settings.

It really is too bad anybody looses their airplane with a loss of video or R/C signal with a ET OSD Pro. It only takes a few minutes to set it up and run the Safety Wizard. Then a short flying session to test it out.

Be sure to have the FY-20A into the stabilizer mode when you go into Failsafe! This is easily tested on the bench.
Last edited by Crist Rigotti; Dec 31, 2010 at 07:36 PM.
Old Dec 31, 2010, 11:39 AM
felipesalomao is offline
Find More Posts by felipesalomao
Registered User
Hi Crist, thanks for these informations, hope more members post these informations here..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crist Rigotti View Post
I use a JR XP9303 equipped with a DraginLink. I fly a Skywalker with a FY-20A stabilizer.

PCM/FS
1 FS chns
Max cruise speed - 30
Cruise altitude - 50
Altitude Error - 25
Pitch Proportional Gain - 70
Pitch Deriviative Gain -50
Turn Proportional Limit - 50
Turn Proportional Gain - 55
Turn Integral Gain - 55
Turn Deriviative Gain - 50

I use rudder for RTH not ailerons.

FY-20A seetings all about midway +/- 10 degrees

During the Safety Wizard I use full rudder throw to the left plus 1/2 up elevator when asked to give it left stick. Of course your settings can vary depending on how much throw your using on your rudder along with your control geometery.

RTH with a FY-20A and a Skywalker work very well and you shouldn't have too much a problem setting it up.

Climb to your cruise altitude (mine is set at 500 feet) and hit your switch or your throttle trim and watch to see what the plane does. If it comes back and circles overhead while maintaining altitude then try it on several different headings especially with the blowing to confirm your settings.

It really is too bad anybody looses their airplane with a loss of video or R/C signal with a ET OSD Pro. It only takes a few minutes to set it up and run the Safety Wizard. Then a short flying session to test it out.

Be sure to have the FY-20A into the stabilizer mode when you go into Failsafe! This is easily tested on the bench.
Old Jan 02, 2011, 01:41 PM
3frcg is offline
Find More Posts by 3frcg
Registered User
Good thread Felipe.

MPX Easy glider.
Futaba 35Mhz. 149DP receiver. Elevator on channel 8 to avoid pulse problems with FMA copilot.
PCM/FS
1 FS Channel. (Carlyle method)
RTH with Rudder and Throttle.
Elevator channel not connected to OSD Pro
Aileron and Elevator connected to FMA Copilot.
PID and other safety wizard settings per default.
During wizard I use 3/4 throw rudder.

Normal range 4 to 5 km consistently.

Eagle Tree works superb. A must to have for safe FPV.
Old Jan 02, 2011, 05:22 PM
lilphil26 is offline
Find More Posts by lilphil26
Registered User
I see you guys are all tricking the eagle tree into telling it that you are running pcm so you have a failsafe. I am running 72mhz which is ppm, so i am just setting mine up for ppm and when i run the safety wizard, i just turn off my transmitter when it asks me to. I guess i have been doing it wrong the whole time? Crist, you are running the dl which is ppm and telling the eagle tree you are running pcm. I assume this is so you can use a switch or carlyle method to engage rth.
Old Jan 02, 2011, 05:33 PM
3frcg is offline
Find More Posts by 3frcg
Registered User
lilphil26:

You can find 72Mhz receivers working in PPM and with the Failsafe option.

Maybe the best is Multiplex Rx-9 Synth.
Other not so good is the well known Corona RPD1 from China.

Regards.
Old Jan 05, 2011, 10:48 AM
cwd10 is offline
Find More Posts by cwd10
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
OK. I'm thinking about adding the FY-20A to my Skywalker, but I'm curious. You guys seem to like using rudder for the RTH, even though ET suggests using the Ailerons. Why? Also, are you running the rudder through both the ET-OSD pro AND the FY-20A, in series? How are you hooking this up?
Old Jan 05, 2011, 10:54 AM
Darth_Elevator is offline
Find More Posts by Darth_Elevator
How do I change this text?
Darth_Elevator's Avatar
I'm using rudder in RTH instead of ailerons because that is how I had my Ardupilot set up and it worked perfectly that way.

Are you sure ET recommends ailerons? I thought they recommended rudder. Check page 3 of the OSD manual: "Based on customer reports, we recommend connecting your rudder to the Aileron/Rudder connection instead of the ailerons, if your plane has both ailerons and rudder."

I haven't posted my ET configuration settings because I'm still tweaking them. When below my cruise altitude, I get death spirals; when at or above my cruise altitude, I get perfect RTH. Crist gave me some suggestions how to fix it. When I get it working, I'll post my numbers.
Old Jan 05, 2011, 12:10 PM
Crist Rigotti is offline
Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwd10 View Post
OK. I'm thinking about adding the FY-20A to my Skywalker, but I'm curious. You guys seem to like using rudder for the RTH, even though ET suggests using the Ailerons. Why? Also, are you running the rudder through both the ET-OSD pro AND the FY-20A, in series? How are you hooking this up?
RX rudder channel to OSD Aileron input, OSD Aileron output to FY-20A Rudder input, FY-20A Rudder output to Rudder servo.
Old Jan 05, 2011, 12:26 PM
cwd10 is offline
Find More Posts by cwd10
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
"Are you sure ET recommends ailerons? I thought they recommended rudder."

You're correct. I misread it. I have not installed it yet, and was just glancing over it. I plan on reading the entire instructions again, before final installation so I don't make that kind of mistake again.



"RX rudder channel to OSD Aileron input, OSD Aileron output to FY-20A Rudder input, FY-20A Rudder output to Rudder servo."

Got it. I though that was the way, but it's hard to visualize, without all of it in front of me.

Thanks guys.
Old Jan 05, 2011, 07:44 PM
cwd10 is offline
Find More Posts by cwd10
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
Well, isn't this interesting. When I quoted my manual about them recommending the ailerons instead of the rudder, my recollection was correct. You see, my manual is the (Document Verison 2.9), and it says "We recommend connecting your ailerons to the Aileron/Rudder connection instead of the rudder, if your plane has both ailerons and rudder". Yet when I pulled the manual off of their website today (Docuent Version 3.7), it says "Based on customer reports, we recommend connecting your rudder to the Aileron/Rudder connection instead of the ailerons, if your plane has both ailerons and rudder". It's backwards! Somewhere along the line they changed it, but I never knew it until this episode.

That makes me wonder what else has changed between the two. I'm going to print out the new one right away, and start over.
Old Jan 23, 2011, 04:38 AM
Darth_Elevator is offline
Find More Posts by Darth_Elevator
How do I change this text?
Darth_Elevator's Avatar
I used to almost always get death spirals when I was activating RTH with FMA co-pilot. It's been a night and day difference since I added an FY-20A. The plane actually turns around for home without spiraling out of control, which means I can start fine-tuning all the numbers.

Here's a video of an RTH test with everything at default values, except turn prop gain, which was set at 43. It's the farthest out that I've activated RTH -- 2000 feet out.

As you can see from the video, initial turn is pretty slow and there's quite a bit of zigzagging as the test proceeds. To make the initial turn faster, I'm going to try changing the 43 back to 50. I'll also increase turn derivative gain a little bit at a time until I get rid of the zigzagging. I will also turn up all the gains on the FY-20A to about 50%; they were at about 25% for this test.

RTH test 1/21/2011 (1 min 7 sec)
Old Jan 23, 2011, 09:44 AM
Crist Rigotti is offline
Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
[QUOTE=Darth_
As you can see from the video, initial turn is pretty slow and there's quite a bit of zigzagging as the test proceeds. To make the initial turn faster, I'm going to try changing the 43 back to 50. I'll also increase turn derivative gain a little bit at a time until I get rid of the zigzagging. I will also turn up all the gains on the FY-20A to about 50%; they were at about 25% for this test.

QUOTE]

Mine is doing the zigzaging too. Let me know what worked for you when you have it tracking properly. thanks.
Old Jan 23, 2011, 04:04 PM
rabe2000 is offline
Find More Posts by rabe2000
Registered User
short vidio of my first test today. all gains in et set to 20, no stabilizer.
must change the rudder and elev ways in the setup.
is there a way to set the diameter of the circle where the skywalker circles when at home?
best regards from snowy germany
ralf

FPV Skywalker RTH Test (6 min 1 sec)
Old Jan 24, 2011, 09:25 AM
Darth_Elevator is offline
Find More Posts by Darth_Elevator
How do I change this text?
Darth_Elevator's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crist Rigotti View Post
Mine is doing the zigzaging too. Let me know what worked for you when you have it tracking properly. thanks.
Will do!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Eagle Tree OSD Pro w/ GPS 100A elogger, Eagle Eyes , Diversity set Up patrick21x FPV Equipment (FS/W) 1 Dec 22, 2010 08:32 PM
Help! Eagle Tree OSD Pro, No Aileron Output i-dru Eagle Tree Systems 6 Nov 01, 2010 05:12 PM
Discussion Futaba 9c, Dragon Link, Eagle Tree OSD Pro. Gundy FPV Talk 2 Oct 12, 2010 10:21 AM
Discussion Where can I find RTH Manual Eagle Tree OSD pro? rapghsi FPV Talk 3 Oct 04, 2010 03:11 PM
Discussion Eagle Tree OSD pro package deal dbramley FPV Talk 1 Oct 04, 2010 12:37 AM