Thread Tools
Jan 28, 2011, 08:59 AM
Registered User
So what you guys are saying is that you would be okay with demoing the program if you could load a "crippled" version of it. Something like a one plane, one heli, no dongle and a 10 day time limit?
I don't know if that can be done, but it's an intriguing concept.
Scott
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 28, 2011, 09:08 AM
Registered User
Puzom's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sctholson
So what you guys are saying is that you would be okay with demoing the program if you could load a "crippled" version of it. Something like a one plane, one heli, no dongle and a 10 day time limit?
I don't know if that can be done, but it's an intriguing concept.
Scott
Yes that would be what I meant. The number of RC sims are growing and none really have a good demo. And the demos that are available are rather old builds.
Jan 28, 2011, 11:54 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puzom
Yes that would be what I meant. The number of RC sims are growing and none really have a good demo. And the demos that are available are rather old builds.
FS One has a record and playback capability. Maybe a playback-only version that would allow you to playback prerecorded flights would at least let you see how well the software would run on your system.

On second thought, if the playback did not exercise the physics modeling, then maybe it would not be a good test, but it would exercise the system graphics.
Last edited by FrankFuss; Jan 28, 2011 at 01:18 PM.
Jan 28, 2011, 01:55 PM
Registered User
Puzom's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankFuss
FS One has a record and playback capability. Maybe a playback-only version that would allow you to playback prerecorded flights would at least let you see how well the software would run on your system.

On second thought, if the playback did not exercise the physics modeling, then maybe it would not be a good test, but it would exercise the system graphics.
Recording only would be nice too. But indeed physics might be limited in the playback to keep recording file sizes small?

Also how open is Fsone v2 when it comes to adding model schemes, sounds and sceneries?
Jan 28, 2011, 02:43 PM
Registered User
FSOne will allow you to develop your own scenery, not sure about sounds and you can repaint aircraft. It is not the easiest process and a few on the forum have accomplished these tasks. FSOne has FAQ's about these topics here:

http://www.fsone.com/tech-faq.php
Jan 28, 2011, 02:56 PM
Registered User
Puzom's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sctholson
FSOne will allow you to develop your own scenery, not sure about sounds and you can repaint aircraft. It is not the easiest process and a few on the forum have accomplished these tasks. FSOne has FAQ's about these topics here:

http://www.fsone.com/tech-faq.php
Ah OK so you can add sceneries and own schemes. Schemes need to be done in Photoshop so no problem here
Did not see anything about modifying sound.
Jan 28, 2011, 02:59 PM
Registered User
I don't think anyone has ever asked about sounds before, Are you looking to add music or engine sound or modify what's there?
Jan 28, 2011, 03:16 PM
Registered User
Puzom's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sctholson
I don't think anyone has ever asked about sounds before, Are you looking to add music or engine sound or modify what's there?
Modify/Adding your own engine sounds.
Jan 28, 2011, 05:32 PM
Registered User
I don't know if this is/will be possible. I looked at the sound files and the engine sounds are wav files, but there are other files that go with each wav file. So not really sure.
But don't lose hope over this, I've seen other things that were not possible only to learn later on that an FAQ was developed for it. So we'll see.

Also just out of curiosity, why change the engine/motor sound files? Maybe you are thinking that the motor sounds are crappy or something, I can assure you they are not.
Scott
Jan 28, 2011, 08:16 PM
Registered User
MSelig's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puzom
Modify/Adding your own engine sounds.
Your question above -- Are you a sound expert w/ all the necessary equipment and know-how to get quality recordings?
Jan 28, 2011, 08:19 PM
Registered User
rpstar's Avatar
Despite the ability to add your own panorama's I never saw anyone add any. I wish they had badly. I thought about doing it but after reading the instructions about it it was more hassle than I was willing to deal with.
Jan 28, 2011, 08:26 PM
Crash=change of flying medium
bluesky123's Avatar
I agree with Rpstar, some companies loudly advertise features like adding custom planes or fields, which are hard if not impossible to use. Give me good fields and accurate planes out of the box and I won't need adding custom ones!
Jan 28, 2011, 08:26 PM
Registered User
I beg to differ, or at least express a minor correction. I have in fact created my own panorama. I did it in my garage because I wanted to simulate flying in it. The panorama worked fine, but had difficulties with setting limits on the walls. And that was because I did not create a physical overlay ( I forget the actual term). It is a doable event.
I'm not sure however how easy it would be to transfer it to another computer however.

In some respects though the process wasn't all that easy, I mean the photography to get the panorama is one aspect, then stitching it all together can be tricky, then dividing the images correctly can be done with software and then into FSOne it goes... Simple right? I think the effort that goes into the sites in FSOne and probably any flight simulator that looks half this good must have some real skill and time to do the quality imagery that is inside this stuff.
Scott
Jan 28, 2011, 09:23 PM
Registered User
Which interface cable do I need for a Spektrum DX6 (not the DX6i)?
Jan 28, 2011, 09:29 PM
Registered User
MSelig's Avatar

Dx6


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cbones
Which interface cable do I need for a Spektrum DX6 (not the DX6i)?
This one: FS One v2 for JR/Spektrum FS2022


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Hanger 9 FSOne Rc Simulator: Disks, Cord/Dongle, and Instruction/Box. airplanfreak Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jan 07, 2011 07:59 AM
Wanted FSone expansion pack truevine77 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 0 Nov 13, 2010 06:54 PM
Sold FSOne flight sim GFBurke Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Nov 02, 2010 09:06 PM
Sold FsOne NEW!! rcplanes1234 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 0 Sep 03, 2010 07:09 PM