Thread Tools
May 21, 2011, 06:51 AM
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
Mlt,
So sorry... That is a bad day..

I'm of to DE Throwdown.. I should get some good video..
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 21, 2011, 06:57 AM
I am ready for HHAEFI!!
powerlines's Avatar
Have Fun Dude.. get lots of GOOOd pics!!!


and some GOOd flights!!!!
May 21, 2011, 10:27 AM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
Oh Mike!!So sorry bro.2In one day sucks esp them both being new..Sorry man..Ouch.Hope you get back on the horse soon.
May 21, 2011, 11:29 AM
Registered User
wantoofly's Avatar
MLT, sorry to hear. That sounds like my luck.
May 21, 2011, 12:00 PM
nsg
nsg
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLT67
Well I guess I have the honors of being the first one to crash their 60" Edge. ..

MLT
Sorry to hear that.. but then again, you now have equipment for two new planes.


Maidened mine today, finally. Very impressed.
May 21, 2011, 12:25 PM
Registered User
livinma1's Avatar
[QUOTE=Tim Semeraro;18287008]Probably around then.. Are you guys coming?

I intended to but had a 18 hour work day yesterday which put a damper on everything I had planned.
May 21, 2011, 02:49 PM
Registered User
Thanks guys. I pulled all the electronics and the elevator servo was definitely bad - not only was it locked up, when I powered it up to test the servo got very hot and you could smell something burning. I went with the Hitec 5245's all around so I'll be calling Hitec on Monday to see about getting a replacement servo

I'll be picking up a new kit soon - the 60" Edge will be my go-to plane and I can't see myself NOT having one in my hangar.

MLT
May 21, 2011, 02:50 PM
Registered User
Balsa Breaker's Avatar
Guys this is my first time buying Xoar props, and my question is the mounting hole is larger than the shaft on the Motro Fly and there are no spacer that come with the prop. The two spacers that came with the motor don't fit. What do you do?
May 21, 2011, 03:05 PM
Team Extreme! Team Twisted!
hercdriver7777's Avatar
Use on of the APC spacers that come with every APC prop and drill out the XOAR to fit that spacer.

Fill hole and redrill. Fine some type of spacer to put on the shaft.
May 21, 2011, 03:10 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLT67
Well I guess I have the honors of being the first one to crash their 60" Edge. It was my 11th flight, and I was doing some low harriers but the one time I decided to gain alititude, the elevator servo locked up on me. I had rudder, aileron and throttle control but no elevator. Needless to say she went in nose first from about 30' up at about a 60 deg angle.

The plane is a total loss - even the aluminum back of the spinner was bent. The Lipo seems fine but I'm concerned about the motor and ESC because the prop kept turning long enough to really twist the wires between the motor and esc and the esc and the battery. Also I checked the elevator servo and it is locked up at a slight down position and it won't move at all. I went with Hitec 5245's all around and this is the first time I've ever had an issue with a Hitec servo much less lose a plane over one.

What makes this worse is about an hour earlier I totaled my 48" Extra because the rudder servo locked at full right rudder. Not a good day

MLT
Too bad man, that sucks about as bad as it can.
May 21, 2011, 05:34 PM
Registered User
livinma1's Avatar
Well my buddy maidened his edge today and crashed it on the 3rd flight due to orientation.

The motor was buried into the ground. That was about from 25 feet up nose first.

Well atleast the first flight required 2 clicks of up elevator and no aileron trim what so ever. KE was almost hands off. Checking now for a replacement airframe for him.

He was running it on 6s 5000 packs.

@ Extremeflight - Checked the site says all gone is that accurate. Or would you have a RWB hanging around. LMK
Last edited by livinma1; May 21, 2011 at 05:43 PM.
May 21, 2011, 05:53 PM
Registered User
ok guys, I just realized that I had the Torque 4014T-570 instead of the 4016T so question is whether any of you recommend this motor on 6S 3300 or not? Ltt me know, otherwise I will have to buy a new motor.
May 21, 2011, 06:08 PM
Registered User
livinma1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by vipul
ok guys, I just realized that I had the Torque 4014T-570 instead of the 4016T so question is whether any of you recommend this motor on 6S 3300 or not? Ltt me know, otherwise I will have to buy a new motor.
The 4014T is rated up to 5S spinning either a 14x7 or a 15x6 not sure if you can go 6s on it.
May 21, 2011, 06:14 PM
I am ready for HHAEFI!!
powerlines's Avatar
I would think it would be fine.. May not be balistic like 6S But I bet it would be good.. a touch lighter.. .. I would try it.. BUT.. I never go for the norn.. I like the light weight setups... I like just enough power to pull out of a hover or to get you out of trouble..
May 21, 2011, 06:36 PM
Registered User
Oh no I just bought 3 6s batts and noticed I have the old airboss 80amp only rated for 5s ... Anyone looking for a motor and speedxontrol.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Extreme Flight 48" Edge 540T EXP! hemituda 3D Flying 12751 Jun 21, 2017 03:54 PM
Wanted Extreme Flight 48" Edge 540T EXP FD Pilot Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 7 Jul 02, 2010 11:52 AM
Discussion Daniel Holman puts the new Extreme Flight EDGE 540T EXP through the wringer! EXTREME FLIGHT 3D Flying 21 May 30, 2010 01:17 AM
Discussion 42" AJ Slick or 48" Extreme Flight Edge 540T-EXP LeeJ 3D Flying 13 Mar 26, 2010 08:26 PM