Thread Tools
Nov 26, 2012, 02:39 AM
The Sequel
mustflynow2's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Richard
I can understand the first thing (due to the lack of the right motor incidence angle) but... I can't understand the second one. It seems a CG problem...
Full flaps
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 26, 2012, 03:51 AM
Registered User
ilipin's Avatar
My Phoenix 2000 setup:

At first time, I decide do not install anything else on sailplane - just motor, esc, serovos ans rx.



But FPV won!
I had to add spare parts, they mustn't stay on the ground:

FY30A for stabilization,
FY117 OSD with current sensor.
Fatshark camera with tilt+shift.
Myflydreams AT module
900Mhz video tx

Yea, sailplane is not a FPV model, spare place isn't enough
Ele and rudder servos I moved to tail. I use a digital servos with micro form factor D05010MG. 0.5 kg/cm is enough.





How I plan to use new plane: for fun and training. Use a heavy Raptor with Sony Nex for training flights and stuns very nervous for me

Maiden flight:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=MC2NqSKl2jA


I think, camera becomes b/w after I give 12v instead of 5 And it shows IR now

Still waiting a head tracking
Nov 26, 2012, 04:44 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustflynow2
Full flaps
Aaaaaah! Ok! It has been a "language trap": "Without power and full flaps" was for me "Without power and (whithout) full-flaps".


I've got "butterfly" for landing, with some "down elevator" mixed in.
Nov 26, 2012, 05:30 AM
The Sequel
mustflynow2's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Richard
Aaaaaah! Ok! It has been a "language trap": "Without power and full flaps" was for me "Without power and (whithout) full-flaps".


I've got "butterfly" for landing, with some "down elevator" mixed in.
I figured that was what he meant. Perhaps pulling flap at some speed and ballooning it up. i got butterfly set up too, but really don't use it as it is very manageable and doesn't carry alot of energy.
Nov 26, 2012, 04:03 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilipin
My Phoenix 2000 setup:

At first time, I decide do not install anything else on sailplane - just motor, esc, serovos ans rx.



But FPV won!
I had to add spare parts, they mustn't stay on the ground:

FY30A for stabilization,
FY117 OSD with current sensor.
Fatshark camera with tilt+shift.
Myflydreams AT module
900Mhz video tx

Yea, sailplane is not a FPV model, spare place isn't enough
Ele and rudder servos I moved to tail. I use a digital servos with micro form factor D05010MG. 0.5 kg/cm is enough.





How I plan to use new plane: for fun and training. Use a heavy Raptor with Sony Nex for training flights and stuns very nervous for me

Maiden flight:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=MC2NqSKl2jA


I think, camera becomes b/w after I give 12v instead of 5 And it shows IR now

Still waiting a head tracking
just pure sweetness !!! Thanks !
Nov 26, 2012, 04:40 PM
The Sequel
mustflynow2's Avatar
Nice maiden ilipin, you have lots of space to fly. Very bleak though. Fpv won out, easier on the eyes? Loved the pan out to the wing! I'm stuck flying mostly in the city.
I may benifit from moving tail servos aft as my set up is heavy and I need to move my batt as far back as possible, could you post some pics of how you positioned your servos if possible? Would like to see. How is your video range? Reckon you could top 2000 ft?
Nov 26, 2012, 06:55 PM
Registered User
HoosierGuy's Avatar
Very very nice ilipin!!!
Nov 27, 2012, 01:36 AM
Camber down and screw it up.
gdouglas's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markran
I received the Phoenix 2000...[LIST=1] I'm trying to figure out what happened with the throttle not responding before tempting gravity again. I've never had that kind of problem before. My radio has always been reliable and the receiver module I was using has worked reliably in another plane. The Phoenix was only 150 feet or so away from me. I was using the stock four servo set up (no flaps). Is this rapid loss and return of response consistent with the description "brown out"? Is this likely attributable to the stock ESC/BEC with only four servos? I now have a 3v SBEC on order from HK. What else should I check? Can anyone suggest troubleshooting steps or advice?
Mark, Ouch, sorry to hear about your unplanned meeting with Mother earth. During your post, or in any of the replies, I don't see anything about a range check. You DID do a range check before flight, right? On my Spektrum, it's one of the menu items. It puts out less RF power from the transmitter, and you're supposed to still have complete control at 30 paces, I believe it is. You might need your radio manual to see how to do it. Highly recommended anytime you move stuff around or put electronics into a new airframe.

I've been thinking about a scenario where the propeller blade is stuck on the canopy, and you try to give it full throttle. A stalled motor draws LOTS of current, probably enough to pull the voltage down below the threshold of the receiver and/or servos working. This could cause a power off type reset. Once the airborn electronics have reset, it should recover, and you should have control again, not sure why you didn't.

But anyway, first thing I would do is a range check of your radio. Better to have someone hold the model, and give it full throttle, and move all servos continually while doing the check.

Good luck.
--
Greg
Nov 27, 2012, 01:01 PM
Registered User
new phoenix evolution just arrived , start the build later tonight, first thing to go will be the stock esc,then the stock clevis's and put in extra hinges on rudder .. fun fun fun !!
Nov 27, 2012, 10:17 PM
Registered User
What battery connectors came with your stock version, also what size battery, amp wise?

Lou

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfwd
new phoenix evolution just arrived , start the build later tonight, first thing to go will be the stock esc,then the stock clevis's and put in extra hinges on rudder .. fun fun fun !!
Nov 27, 2012, 11:49 PM
Registered User
Markran's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by botulism
Mark, Ouch, sorry to hear about your unplanned meeting with Mother earth. During your post, or in any of the replies, I don't see anything about a range check. You DID do a range check before flight, right? On my Spektrum, it's one of the menu items. It puts out less RF power from the transmitter, and you're supposed to still have complete control at 30 paces, I believe it is. You might need your radio manual to see how to do it. Highly recommended anytime you move stuff around or put electronics into a new airframe.

I've been thinking about a scenario where the propeller blade is stuck on the canopy, and you try to give it full throttle. A stalled motor draws LOTS of current, probably enough to pull the voltage down below the threshold of the receiver and/or servos working. This could cause a power off type reset. Once the airborn electronics have reset, it should recover, and you should have control again, not sure why you didn't.

But anyway, first thing I would do is a range check of your radio. Better to have someone hold the model, and give it full throttle, and move all servos continually while doing the check.

Good luck.
--
Greg
Thanks for the tips Greg!
Nov 28, 2012, 08:00 AM
High Altitude Flyer
viking60's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lou_p
What battery connectors came with your stock version, also what size battery, amp wise?

Lou
Lou,

mine came in a couple of weeks ago from Hobby King's USA warehouse with the Deans Powerpole battery connector. I changed out to an XT60 connector, since the Nano-Tech batteries I use come with them.

VIKING
Nov 28, 2012, 10:09 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lou_p
What battery connectors came with your stock version, also what size battery, amp wise?

Lou
No battery with this one.30 amp esc, with a deans connector, will put in a 40 amp esc
Nov 28, 2012, 10:28 AM
Registered User
Thanks Guys..

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfwd
No battery with this one.30 amp esc, with a deans connector, will put in a 40 amp esc
Nov 28, 2012, 04:33 PM
Registered User
man is there a real english manual that tells a guy which screw goes where on these planes ? Hate to put wrong screw in and mess up threads on plastic parts.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ohhh noo, 2nd flight on the HobbyKing Phoenix 2000 KillerCut Electric Sailplanes 20 Jun 22, 2016 07:23 PM
For Sale HK Phoenix 2000 glider blk822 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Aug 23, 2011 07:21 PM
Discussion Still having electric problems with my hobbyking Phoenix 2000, Crashvideo kyrkbymannen Electric Sailplanes 3 Jul 09, 2011 07:34 PM
Discussion hobby king Phoenix 2000 EPO Composite R/C Glider doomracing Electric Sailplanes 3 May 31, 2011 10:09 PM