Thread Tools
Old Jul 06, 2012, 04:07 PM
hoosiersparky is offline
Find More Posts by hoosiersparky
Registered User
Hi! Quick question... is there any reason why I shouldn't attach the wing to the fuselage with fishing line? My rubber bands broke and I want to get flying again soon. Thanks in advance for your help!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2012, 04:13 PM
chucksolo69 is offline
Find More Posts by chucksolo69
Registered User
Fishing line will cut into the foam. I use rubberbands that I get at Wal-Mart at less than $3.00 a bag.
Old Jul 06, 2012, 04:15 PM
quitcherbitchen is offline
Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Bombs away!!!
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
#64. Might even be able to get the post office to give you some.
Old Jul 07, 2012, 11:57 AM
mwoneal is offline
Find More Posts by mwoneal
Registered User
Got a full battery in on the super cub this morning, second one. Three successful landings as well. Quitcher, I put a shim under the front of the horizontal stab and it definitely helped. I realized during post flight inspection that I had trimmed the elevator the wrong direction with the control horn clevis adjustment, elevator was slightly up instead of slightly down as intended. That should help as well, we'll see during next flight. Light breeze as well and the SC handled it well. Fun to be flying something bigger than the Champ.
Old Jul 07, 2012, 01:58 PM
quitcherbitchen is offline
Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Bombs away!!!
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
Glad to hear the good results.
Champ is fun, but the Cub is fun in its own way too as you can tell.
Old Jul 07, 2012, 03:07 PM
Chompwat is offline
Find More Posts by Chompwat
Tally Ho Chaps!
Chompwat's Avatar
Nice one mwoneal. It sounds like your training with the Champ has paid off. My Cub is now fully repaired and ready to 'fly' again, however the great British summer weather is well and truly upon us with day after day of rain and wind. Still undecided whether to persevere with the Cub or invest 80 or so in the Champ. Decisions, decisions. Whatever there will be nothing much until this weather improves.
Old Jul 07, 2012, 05:20 PM
crockett828 is offline
Find More Posts by crockett828
Help me pick up the pieces
Hey guys, quick question: my friend has the supercub and is having problems with either the motor or the esc. Since the stock setup is brushed w/ gear box, i am thinking of installing one of my old 480 brushless motors and esc's. So my question is can i use the stock receiver by plugging in the esc to the throttle port? Also any suggestions on a brushless set-up would be appreciated. Thanks....lot of pages to go thru here lol!
Old Jul 07, 2012, 05:25 PM
quitcherbitchen is offline
Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Bombs away!!!
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
Yes you can. Just make sure the stock motor plugs are well taped. But since the Super Cub is a combined ESC receiver are you sure he is not having receiver troubles? Give it a try. Or just buy a AR400 receiver for $30 and be upgraded completely.
Old Jul 07, 2012, 07:29 PM
cmdl is offline
Find More Posts by cmdl
http://www.sgvhumane.org/
cmdl's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by crockett828 View Post
Also any suggestions on a brushless set-up would be appreciated. Thanks....lot of pages to go thru here lol!
there are suggestions on the first page of this thread https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1338787

for some reason the stock receiver refused to work with my esc (http://www.e-fliterc.com/Products/De...rodID=EFLA1030) so i got this one (http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...odId=SPMAR6115). but now i use the ar6115 in my t28 instead and use a tactic 624 (http://www.tacticrc.com/tacl0624.html) in my cub. both receivers work fine and both planes have the same type esc. hope this helps.
Old Jul 07, 2012, 07:54 PM
crockett828 is offline
Find More Posts by crockett828
Help me pick up the pieces
Thanks guys, i think i will just replace the reciever too now that i think of it. I got him into flying so if it doesnt work with the existing reciever i will have to fix it later
Old Jul 08, 2012, 02:03 AM
jaksno is offline
Find More Posts by jaksno
Registered User
jaksno's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chompwat View Post
Nice one mwoneal. It sounds like your training with the Champ has paid off. My Cub is now fully repaired and ready to 'fly' again, however the great British summer weather is well and truly upon us with day after day of rain and wind. Still undecided whether to persevere with the Cub or invest 80 or so in the Champ. Decisions, decisions. Whatever there will be nothing much until this weather improves.
Brother, unless you've got a great indoor flying venue, skip the cub! Once you are used to it, you will be able to fly in 10 mph winds without much trouble. In fact, when flying with floats into a small pond, I relished the 10mph wind to slow me down to 7mph or so when landing.

When the cub is properly trimmed and balanced, you skip the 'old' stock Tx that has the throttle slider instead of stick (the new ones have better Tx's), you eliminate 'pio', or 'pilot induced oscillation', you will find the cub one of the best planes out there.

Indoor is great, btw, but a different aspect of the sport.

jaksno
Old Jul 08, 2012, 02:07 AM
jaksno is offline
Find More Posts by jaksno
Registered User
jaksno's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by crockett828 View Post
Hey guys, quick question: my friend has the supercub and is having problems with either the motor or the esc. Since the stock setup is brushed w/ gear box, i am thinking of installing one of my old 480 brushless motors and esc's. So my question is can i use the stock receiver by plugging in the esc to the throttle port? Also any suggestions on a brushless set-up would be appreciated. Thanks....lot of pages to go thru here lol!
The stock 'brick', i.e., rx/esc, is for a brushed set up. You need a burshless esc for sure. Maybe an electronic genius can make the old rx work, but why bother when you can get cheap orange rx's from Hobby King, or find another. I personally like the orange rx that has the capability of hooking up a 'satelite' rx which just about eliminates any brown outs.

The easiest set up is to just go to Headsuprc.com. They have motor, esc, perfect motor mount, batteries, etc.

jaksno
Old Jul 08, 2012, 08:37 AM
Chompwat is offline
Find More Posts by Chompwat
Tally Ho Chaps!
Chompwat's Avatar
Jaksno, I take it you mean't skip the Champ.
My Cub came with the Spektrum 4ch Tx.
I'm sure there'll be reference somewhere in this massive thread, but I'd heard the ACT is pretty useless. It certainly hasn't helped in any of the situations I've experienced.
Can't wait to get some settled weather and hopefully complete a flight and landing the plane when I choose to.
Old Jul 08, 2012, 09:05 AM
Zork is offline
Find More Posts by Zork
Registered User

super cub act ?


will fly the super cub for the first time, should i disable the ACT ? ?
thx
zork
Old Jul 08, 2012, 09:27 AM
dkrhardy is offline
Find More Posts by dkrhardy
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zork View Post
will fly the super cub for the first time, should i disable the ACT ? ?
thx
zork
YES, YES, and YES!
Don


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ultimate HobbyZone SuperCub Help Thread (part 3) ArsonDave Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 33164 Nov 15, 2010 12:35 AM
Discussion Ultimate HobbyZone SuperCub Help Thread (Part 2) guapoman2000 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 1102 Jul 03, 2008 12:34 PM
Discussion Ultimate HobbyZone SuperCub Help Thread (part I) TheDustyPagan Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 8442 Apr 19, 2008 09:23 PM
The Ultimate Slow Stick Help Thread - Part 4 Martin Hunter Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 824 May 31, 2004 02:00 AM
The Ultimate Slow Stick Help Thread - Part 2 Martin Hunter Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 565 Feb 17, 2004 11:35 AM