Thread Tools
Jul 19, 2012, 10:45 AM
Registered User
albertog's Avatar

Compass not working


Hello friends.

Suddenly my compass has stopped working. Low hours of use.

When i connect to mktools it gives an error on the compass, navi board
seems ok.

I connect the compass directly to the mkusb and the green light
turns on but i dont see it on the mktools.

What can you recommend on this situation?

Thanks.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 20, 2012, 01:53 AM
MK Addict
GC9N's Avatar
probably bad connection to navi? did you re-check?
Jul 20, 2012, 11:00 AM
Registered User
albertog's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nettraptor View Post
probably bad connection to navi? did you re-check?
After connecting and disconnecting for several times i managed to flash the
firmware and get it working!

I had to flash it thru the navi since when alone it didnt flash.
Jul 20, 2012, 11:02 AM
Registered User
albertog's Avatar
Are the latest MK firmwares for the FC (2.1) and Navi (1.1)
working fine???
Jul 20, 2012, 01:08 PM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
albert: I haven't had any trouble with my two MK birds with the latest firmware. I see they did update the end "letter" a few times for bugs.
Jul 20, 2012, 02:20 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by albertog View Post
After connecting and disconnecting for several times i managed to flash the
firmware and get it working!

I had to flash it thru the navi since when alone it didnt flash.
Coincidentally, I have a bum compass that will not accept firmware.

It does, however, power up and provide some "gibberish" in MKTools "Terminal/Firmware Update" window. Interestingly, the "gibberish" starts with MK BL 0.2 or something like that. It seems that my compass wants to be a BL when it grows up!

I have recently had great success at flashing atmel-based ESC's with SimonK's firmware by using micro-clips attached to the legs of the atmel.

Does anyone know if it work to flash the 0.23a compass firmware to the compass using this method, to try and bring it back to life?
Jul 20, 2012, 10:23 PM
Suspended Account
I'm pretty sure the 10pin side connector on compass has the usual mosi/miso/etc pads breakout to it. They might be using same bootloader as BL for the compass, so that could explain the BL stuff. If you connect it directly to mktools in by 10pin cable, it should probably display compass-specific stuff, does it not?
Jul 21, 2012, 12:35 PM
Registered User
I tried that, TC - to no avail.

But since it was just a lousy clone Mag, I went ahead and tried the "clips on the pins" method. I was quickly reminded that this is an Atmega 168, not an Atmega 8 (as I had been programming on all of these ESC's!)

But it took the programming just fine, and did not seem to erase whatever bootloader is on the chip. (Is that possible?)

In any case, the MK3Mag shows signs of life now. It is recognized in MKtools and I no longer get the dreaded red warning light on the status screen. However, when I checked the mag values, they are all over the place. I'll mount it with a Navi and an FC later and see if the calibration process gets the values where they belong.

I'm counting this as a win - among my many prior smoke-releasing losses!
Jul 21, 2012, 03:29 PM
Registered User

Dead flight controller?


I was trying to load the vibration test tool firmware onto my FC2.0 board like I've done many times...and it had an error towards the end. Now the FC just sends a constant tone to the buzzer and I can't connect to it via MK tools. I tried connecting directly and also tried connecting through the Navi board. When I connect to Navi board...I see "Error:3 no FC Communication".

Did my flight controller die? I was just flying it right before this happened...so I know it was working. I can't imagine that a software load failure would fry the system.
Anything I can do?

Thanks,
Brent
Last edited by dmsgodeep; Jul 21, 2012 at 03:38 PM.
Jul 21, 2012, 07:23 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmsgodeep View Post
I was trying to load the vibration test tool firmware onto my FC2.0 board like I've done many times...and it had an error towards the end. Now the FC just sends a constant tone to the buzzer and I can't connect to it via MK tools.
Anything I can do?

Thanks,
Brent
hey Brent, try to reflash FC again with original mk hex. start software update in mktools first, choose hex - ok, then power up your fc, it should start in bootloader mode.
Jul 21, 2012, 07:30 PM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
I didn't even know there was a "vibration test tool"?
Jul 22, 2012, 03:50 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitmit View Post
hey Brent, try to reflash FC again with original mk hex. start software update in mktools first, choose hex - ok, then power up your fc, it should start in bootloader mode.
Awesome! That worked...thanks Mitmit.
I never even thought to do it in that sequence. Appreciate it.

Brent
Jul 22, 2012, 03:51 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by glmccready View Post
I didn't even know there was a "vibration test tool"?
It's here.
http://www.mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/en/VibrationTest
Jul 22, 2012, 04:54 PM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
dmsgodeep: thanks, but apparently doesn't work with FC 2.1?
"The VibrationTest works with 1.2 and 1.3 FC boards.."
Jul 22, 2012, 08:48 PM
Suspended Account
2.1 has higher acc lowpass filter caps, which take out these vibration readings.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Mikrokopter Okto 2 build Roger_IIT Multirotor Talk 6 Feb 03, 2011 09:22 AM
Discussion Mikrokopter ME 2.0 Okto Build robin4 Multirotor Talk 16 Jan 12, 2011 03:07 PM
Discussion Mikrokopter / UAVP / quadrocopter / quadrotor build Arthur P. Multirotor Talk 16696 Nov 10, 2010 05:49 PM
Discussion X-3D Brushless Quadrocopter, general quadrocopter, x-ufo discussion PART 2 tend2it Multirotor Talk 2203 Nov 08, 2008 09:23 PM