Thread Tools
Old Nov 06, 2012, 07:15 PM
jombo is offline
Find More Posts by jombo
Bad News Everyone
jombo's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhills51 View Post
I just got a emax tail servo and it says everywhere only 4.8v. I must say it is incredibly fast and at 5v 280hz it gets warm.
Yes it does . I put a diode on my bec on the red wire to the Protos . I have all Emaxx 9258 mg servos all around . Even on max load with all the servos moving it drops to 4.8v from 4.9v .
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 06, 2012, 11:22 PM
Atomic Skull is offline
Find More Posts by Atomic Skull
Registered User
Atomic Skull's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenflying View Post
That's what I meant. They don't need a stop for the sensor they are using. When the magnet is aligned above the chip with the north pole at one end of the chip it will output half vcc, like a pot, as it move clockwise the output voltage increased. As it move anti clockwise the output voltage decreases. My understanding is that the device is analog, using induction coils and op-amps.

Edit: I'm told it uses multiple hall effects to work out the position of the magnet, not induction coils, as mentioned above. The resolution is 4096 steps for 360 degrees.
Where did you get this information? I would bet that they have multiple hall effect sensors on a single chip similar to how they put multiple MEMS gyros on a single chip. On the 280xxx servos the chip is on a little daughterboard soldered to the mainboard. I wonder if maybe they made the daughterboard to output position voltage like a pot so they could just drop it into existing designs?


4096 steps is insanely high resolution for a radio control servo, even high end servos have a few hundred steps at most. I would guess that the servo electronics that drive the motor probably don't come close to the full resolution of the position sensing device.


If it's as cheap as it seems it would be (mass produced chips would be cheaper than pots and last longer even if the performance is the same) then I wonder why Blue Arrow is the only company doing this.
Last edited by Atomic Skull; Nov 06, 2012 at 11:34 PM.
Old Nov 07, 2012, 12:11 AM
beenflying is offline
Find More Posts by beenflying
as much as I can
beenflying's Avatar
Yes, it is a single chip solution. This one here:


My head of hardware design knows of these chips. He says they are commonly used for car throttle position sensing.

Blue arrow's site says the minimum resolution of the Mi servos is 0.088° (rounded up) and the sensor works over 360°.

There appears to be 6 connections to the magnetic sensor, as opposed to 3 for the pot, but there may still only be 3 connections. The extra pins may be there to support the board.


My guess is they have a patent on the method that may be slowing down others from using it.
Last edited by beenflying; Nov 07, 2012 at 12:55 AM.
Old Nov 07, 2012, 03:41 AM
pmackenzie is offline
Find More Posts by pmackenzie
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Skull View Post

4096 steps is insanely high resolution for a radio control servo, even high end servos have a few hundred steps at most. I would guess that the servo electronics that drive the motor probably don't come close to the full resolution of the position sensing device.
FWIW, JR servos have 1 usec resolution, 5900steps for120 degrees of travel:

http://www.jrradios.com/Products/Def...odID=JRPSDS368
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 07, 2012, 08:06 AM
2Doggs is offline
Find More Posts by 2Doggs
Registered User
2Doggs's Avatar

Dumb thumbs...


Quote:
Originally Posted by pmackenzie View Post
FWIW, JR servos have 1 usec resolution, 5900steps for120 degrees of travel:
My thumbs have about 100 steps of resolution - on a good day!
Old Nov 07, 2012, 02:04 PM
Atomic Skull is offline
Find More Posts by Atomic Skull
Registered User
Atomic Skull's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmackenzie View Post
FWIW, JR servos have 1 usec resolution, 5900steps for120 degrees of travel:

http://www.jrradios.com/Products/Def...odID=JRPSDS368
Complete overkill for a radio control servo, assuming it actually does have 5900 steps of real world output, which it may not.
Old Nov 07, 2012, 02:11 PM
Atomic Skull is offline
Find More Posts by Atomic Skull
Registered User
Atomic Skull's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenflying View Post

There appears to be 6 connections to the magnetic sensor, as opposed to 3 for the pot, but there may still only be 3 connections. The extra pins may be there to support the board.
My thought was that maybe they designed the daughtercard to output position voltage like a pot and then just stuck it into existing designs to simplify development. But if it has 6 pins than this obviously isn't the case because even if three pins are only there for support you couldn't just drop it into a board that was designed for a pot.
Old Nov 07, 2012, 02:17 PM
Atomic Skull is offline
Find More Posts by Atomic Skull
Registered User
Atomic Skull's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenflying View Post
My guess is they have a patent on the method that may be slowing down others from using it.
If these kinds of chips are already used elsewhere to sense rotational movement then I can't see how they could be covered by a patent for use in servos. Unless it's the design of the chip itself i.e. it's something that Blue Arrow designed themselves and not something off the shelf.

EDIT: JR is already doing this, they call them linear hall sensing servos. They used to have a standard high torque and high speed regular servos that use this that which were discontinued. The "high speed for gyro" version is still being made. They also recently came out with HV brushless hall effect sensing servos. It appears that JR reserves this technology for their high end servos only.
Last edited by Atomic Skull; Nov 07, 2012 at 02:58 PM.
Old Nov 07, 2012, 11:45 PM
Atomic Skull is offline
Find More Posts by Atomic Skull
Registered User
Atomic Skull's Avatar
Blade 450 style pitch slider for 450 Pro/Sport.

http://www.hawk-rc.com/index.php?rou...roduct_id=1932

Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:56 PM
rnorth is offline
Find More Posts by rnorth
Registered User

Need Suggestion on HK 450


Hello,
I am an intermediate flyer and I presently fly the Eflite Mcpx heli ....set in the normal setting on my DX7 it seems to fly like my Sr120 which was also a FP. I am wanting to build a hobbyking 450.Do you guys recommend the 450 TT Flybarless from
hobbyking. Since this is my first build would you recommend the flybarless or one of the other ones. I have built a lot of airplane kits but want to get into helis without breaking the bank. I do not plan to do any 3D .....just lots of sport flying. I do want to go with the 450 size.

Richard
Wichita KS
USA
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:05 PM
Paul 1968 is offline
Find More Posts by Paul 1968
Mildly Confused
Paul 1968's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnorth View Post
Hello,
I am an intermediate flyer and I presently fly the Eflite Mcpx heli ....set in the normal setting on my DX7 it seems to fly like my Sr120 which was also a FP. I am wanting to build a hobbyking 450.Do you guys recommend the 450 TT Flybarless from
hobbyking. Since this is my first build would you recommend the flybarless or one of the other ones. I have built a lot of airplane kits but want to get into helis without breaking the bank. I do not plan to do any 3D .....just lots of sport flying. I do want to go with the 450 size.

Richard
Wichita KS
USA
Well flybarless certainly seems very popular at the moment. I have the HK450 TT FBL and It's not a bad little heli. It certainly performs very similar to my T-Rex 450 Pro. However even though FBL helis are mechanically much simpler, they do require the same if not more care during set up. Even then the FBL unit requires some know how to get the best out of it, whether that be 3D or general sport flying. Each type of head has pro's and con's. In reality the decision is only yours to make and you shouldn't rely on anybody else to make the choice for you. Everybody will offer a different opinion. Personally I like FBL, others don't as they say it feels too "synthetic" if you know what I mean.

I'd go for it if I were you, better still, because the HK helis are so cheap, just buy both.

Paul
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:35 PM
rnorth is offline
Find More Posts by rnorth
Registered User
Paul,
Thanks for your input. I do like my flybarless Mcpx....so that's why I'm sort of leaning that way.
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:52 PM
2Doggs is offline
Find More Posts by 2Doggs
Registered User
2Doggs's Avatar

Belt up!


My principal reservation would be with the torque tube tail - it's a shame HK don't do a belt tail FBL 450 - and 550, for that matter - since belt tails are so much more forgiving in any sort of tail strike. Be prepared to have lots of spare tail gears to hand if you're just starting out.
Old Nov 10, 2012, 02:05 PM
2Doggs is offline
Find More Posts by 2Doggs
Registered User
2Doggs's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Skull View Post
Blade 450 style pitch slider for 450 Pro/Sport.

http://www.hawk-rc.com/index.php?rou...roduct_id=1932

I like the look of that - though I wonder about using the two bolts to fix it to the tail gearbox arm. Seems like the arm isn't thick enough to have a bolt only going to half depth from each side.

I'm currently trying out the cheaper Tarot TL 1200-02 tail mechanism.



The arm and part of the slider are plastic, but it seems to have taken out a fair bit of slop in my HK 450 Pro tail. My Gotek tail servo seems to run about 10f cooler as a result, maybe it's not having to work so hard with less slop. The only bad thing is the arm has too much of a crank in it, so my tail linkage rod now has a bit of a bend in it. Could do with slightly longer rod guides, since there's a similar bend at the servo end. It also seems to use a riveted-in slider bush - though I reckon I could make a hybrid slider using some HK bits and some of the Tarot bits.
Old Nov 10, 2012, 02:08 PM
tommythecat is offline
Find More Posts by tommythecat
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Doggs View Post
My principal reservation would be with the torque tube tail - it's a shame HK don't do a belt tail FBL 450 - and 550, for that matter - since belt tails are so much more forgiving in any sort of tail strike. Be prepared to have lots of spare tail gears to hand if you're just starting out.
I second that. I bought the belt drive hk450 pro and then converted the head to flybarless myself, just so I could have the belt drive tail.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! HK 450 or HK 600 kilo2018 Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 29 Apr 19, 2016 04:56 AM
Discussion 450 HK with Futaba EX radio and 3114 FASST servos SLOPPY? PaulGT3 Mini Helis 9 Sep 02, 2013 06:10 PM
Sold HK 450 head/tail/frame/canopy/motor - $20 shipped RobDog Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 5 Nov 09, 2010 11:07 AM
Discussion Vendo HK 450 com Radio HK 7canais baratoooo !!! nino_sdk Brazil 0 Jul 26, 2010 09:42 PM
For Sale hk 450, exi 450 or copterx 450 HeliStyle Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 5 May 15, 2010 12:57 PM