FlyFly Warbirds - Page 4 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Dec 06, 2010, 11:55 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Great flight. Wish I could've been there.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 08, 2010, 08:35 AM
we can take off without that
green_flyer's Avatar
Found some really nice photos of the P51 on a Swiss website.
http://www.hebu-shop.ch/product_info...2e5e5c247cd0b0

it was too expensive on there though, so I ordered one form RC Castle.

I really hope FlyFly dont stop here, these planes look so fantstic, they should do a whole range, Messerschmit, Spitfire, Zero, P38 lightning, etc, I would get the whole lot!
May 06, 2011, 08:10 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Been flying my P-51 alot the last couple of weeks. I've got an 1hr 30min on this warbird.
http://www.youtube.com/user/will3kgt.../2/YuEEaI4j98c
May 15, 2011, 12:50 PM
we can take off without that
green_flyer's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by will3kgt
Been flying my P-51 alot the last couple of weeks. I've got an 1hr 30min on this warbird.
http://www.youtube.com/user/will3kgt.../2/YuEEaI4j98c
Very nice! very fast.

how do you manage to save the prop when landing without landing gear?
I have already broken one prop just static thrust testing, they are very brittle.
May 15, 2011, 01:28 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
I took that prop off before I even flew it. I use a GWS prop
& an alloy spinner I got from Radical RC.
Last edited by will3kgt; May 15, 2011 at 01:29 PM. Reason: Mistake
May 15, 2011, 03:12 PM
Weni, wedi, Java...
Brent Slensker's Avatar
I might have to get the P51 since it has my Mom's name on it....

The Corsair I bought has had 2 maiden attempts with ZERO airtime and 2 busted stock props... I took the weight out of the nose and hogged enough foam out to get a 1000 mAh 2S battery shoved in right behind the motor firewall and it weighs 230 grams all up...I have the cowl canted 4 degrees to the right and it STILL torques left and rolls over on take off attempts.
I'd rather build a Dumas Corsair than try and fly this rock anymore but I will try a different prop before I give it to the neighbor kid.
May 15, 2011, 10:40 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
I'm going to suggest you wait on flying your plane. My friend has the Corsair. To get it to fly
he had to use (8) 7gm of lead in the nose. It flies
like a dream. I not sure where the CG is I'll get back to you on that.
May 15, 2011, 10:47 PM
Weni, wedi, Java...
Brent Slensker's Avatar
The weight I took out weighed 50 grams...Now I have a 1300 shoved into it AUW is now 245 grams and the CG is at 53 mm from leading edge, which is a little less than HALF chord!...What a Pig!..I really don't see how 7 grams of lead is going to help.

Edit: I suppose I'll have to put 50 grams of lead right back into the nose. I have lead solder I can roll into a circle and put in front of the cowl.
May 17, 2011, 12:19 AM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Slensker
The weight I took out weighed 50 grams...Now I have a 1300 shoved into it AUW is now 245 grams and the CG is at 53 mm from leading edge, which is a little less than HALF chord!...What a Pig!..I really don't see how 7 grams of lead is going to help.

Edit: I suppose I'll have to put 50 grams of lead right back into the nose. I have lead solder I can roll into a circle and put in front of the cowl.
No, it was 8 x 7gm lead bars for a total of 56gms. Sorry if I wasn't clear.
May 22, 2011, 08:11 PM
The effect is sadly temporary
Hippo's Avatar
Just to clarify, it's my Corsair, and I ended up using only 6 squares of lead. (42g). But I do have it inside the cowl, so it's as far forward as it can get.

You might need more or less lead depending on how thick they layered the paint on there. 42g isn't a magic number. Just shoot for 25% root chord for a good starting CG.

Dan
May 25, 2011, 06:53 PM
me, right now.
hooligan russ's Avatar
could any of these fly fly birds run on 3s? Maybe with a twenty amp esc?
May 25, 2011, 07:09 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Yes, you can. It's plenty fast on 2S though.
May 25, 2011, 11:04 PM
The effect is sadly temporary
Hippo's Avatar
Whoa there. You could run anything on 3-cells, but not with the stock motor or the stock prop.

You'd either need a smaller prop or a lower kv motor in order to keep the amp draw at a reasonable level.

Dan
May 25, 2011, 11:33 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Thanks Dan,
He would've destroyed his plane taking my advice
May 26, 2011, 04:21 AM
me, right now.
hooligan russ's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hippo
Whoa there. You could run anything on 3-cells, but not with the stock motor or the stock prop.

You'd either need a smaller prop or a lower kv motor in order to keep the amp draw at a reasonable level.

Dan
Cool,
thanks Dan.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log FlyFly Mirage2000 with NEW Inverted/Knife Edge/High Speed Videos! SkylineFlyer Foamy EDFs 105 Mar 05, 2011 11:26 PM
For Sale FlyFly 90mm F-4 ARTF SkylineFlyer Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Nov 08, 2010 12:00 PM
Rave Huge FlyFly Sale Mix and Match 2 for $299.99 SkylineFlyer Foamy EDFs 0 Aug 31, 2010 09:20 PM
Discussion Which is best to buy for his flying behaves between FLYFLY MIRAGE or FLYFLY RAPTOR ? FedericoA Foamy EDFs 3 Jan 24, 2009 09:48 PM