Thread Tools
Old Apr 26, 2011, 03:06 PM
billh117 is offline
Find More Posts by billh117
Registered User
Oops
Last edited by billh117; Apr 26, 2011 at 03:14 PM. Reason: Double post
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 26, 2011, 04:41 PM
CenTexFlyer is offline
Find More Posts by CenTexFlyer
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyKillmore View Post
Atto log files currently do not open. Logs recorded with my GCS are .hko files and they will open.
Will there be an Atto log import feature for those flights where we don't take a computer in the field?
Old Apr 26, 2011, 10:14 PM
HappyKillmore is offline
Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Suspended Account
Yes. I think the logs are recorded on the SD card? My plan is to make it possible to open these files and play them back just like the .hko files.
Old Apr 27, 2011, 07:13 PM
CenTexFlyer is offline
Find More Posts by CenTexFlyer
Registered User
Cool! Now if you think about it..... you have on board backup of the HKO file, all you'd need is the ability to erase the one on the SD card through the GCS and you'd never have to take it out unless something corrupted.
Old Apr 28, 2011, 07:00 PM
alz3abi is offline
Find More Posts by alz3abi
Registered User
im trying to translate your GCS in Arabic but i think im doing something wrong?

because when i tried to translate i used StringResourceEditor but when i translate anything i dont see any changes in the GCS do i need to do any extra step? i added the language in the language file also.
Old Apr 28, 2011, 09:40 PM
HappyKillmore is offline
Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Suspended Account
You may have to select it on the File, Settings, General Tab. Confirm it is saved in C:\Program Files\HappyKillmore\GCS\Language
Old Apr 29, 2011, 05:05 AM
alz3abi is offline
Find More Posts by alz3abi
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyKillmore View Post
You may have to select it on the File, Settings, General Tab. Confirm it is saved in C:\Program Files\HappyKillmore\GCS\Language
it is saved but when i change it to ARabic i still get the default language still not sure if there is missing step.
Old Apr 30, 2011, 02:55 AM
Gary Mortimer is offline
Find More Posts by Gary Mortimer
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
Wow HK has influence I see the entire site now has Manuel mode

Old May 02, 2011, 03:04 PM
grandbourgueul is offline
Find More Posts by grandbourgueul
Registered User
I've just discovered the GCS and really want to congratulate and thanks you.

I modify my post as I'm working on the architecture I want: Does anybody has a look on and provide me a feedback if it is working or not ?
Last edited by grandbourgueul; May 05, 2011 at 04:37 AM. Reason: missing data
Old May 05, 2011, 03:05 PM
chuck99z28 is offline
Find More Posts by chuck99z28
Registered User
Have you ever considered putting the OSD on the GCS instead of on the plane?

The OSD would be between the video receiver and the monitor.

This way we could use the regular fpv goggles to get the GCS info and the video.
Its hard to find good goggles which use svga. But composite video is easy.
Old May 05, 2011, 04:45 PM
HappyKillmore is offline
Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Suspended Account
grandbourgueul, you're really taking a risk there. Yes, it is "possible" to run everything via the GCS...but I wouldn't say it's been tested nearly enough to elinimate the R/C radio all together.

chuck99z28, I've considered doing an overlay on top of the video feed and then outputting it somewhere that the video goggles can plug into... but I haven't had time and had very few requests thus far.
Old May 05, 2011, 05:02 PM
chuck99z28 is offline
Find More Posts by chuck99z28
Registered User
HK,
would it work with the Remzibi or would it require new hardware?

I would really like the artificial horizon to work with the Ardupilot APM.

I've seen the work, to share GPS, but now with mavlink it seemed easier to move the whole thing down to the GCS.

Your GCS is wonderful by the way.
Old May 05, 2011, 05:15 PM
HappyKillmore is offline
Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Suspended Account
No, the idea would be to eliminate the need for the OSD hardware. The video signal would come in to the laptop where the OSD overlay would take place...then the video would get fed out to the goggles. Once again putting a lot of faith in Windows, your laptop, my GCS... all very risky if you ask me....

Thanks for the compliment....

PS, you can make an artificial horizon work using Remzibi's OSD with the ArduPilot Mega. It's not the prettiest thing in the world, but it works. It uses a serial data stream out of the APM to provide data to the OSD. I had it working with the old ArduPilot and I think there's a guy out there who got it working with the APM....
Old May 05, 2011, 11:17 PM
grandbourgueul is offline
Find More Posts by grandbourgueul
Registered User
HK,
I understand. but the implementation of the joystick in HK GCS was not done for this use (to pilote the UAV via the GCS ?)

or could we pilote via the GCS + redundant link via R/C radio
Old May 05, 2011, 11:22 PM
HappyKillmore is offline
Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Suspended Account
Yes, I added joystick control to pilot the ArduPilot Mega, AttoPilot or UavDevBoard via the GCS. You can also control a comera on the Millswood Engineering Failsafe board. However, I don't know how many people have tried to actually fly the plane with the joystick.

I have 2 desktop computers. One is about 6 years old. It's been my developement computer for all that time. When I moved my joystick and watched the servos move, could see a delay....maybe 250ms. My other computer is a "low end" i3 running Windows 7 64 bit. On this system I see no delay. So I would say it also delends upon what computer you're going to use for your laptop.

My biggest concern is any kind of software crash might cause a plane crash....


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Show Us Your Ground Station !!!! FPV Ground Station Design and Idea's found here :) JettPilot FPV Equipment 4632 Dec 08, 2016 04:47 AM
Discussion Ground station wiring harness ziomatrixacs FPV Talk 3 Oct 07, 2010 06:48 PM
Discussion DIY Continuous Rotating FPV Ground Station Moosthegoose FPV Talk 37 Sep 29, 2010 05:27 AM
Discussion Aerial Photography request an Autopilot system & Ground Control Station Atflying Aerial Photography 7 Jun 27, 2010 03:13 AM