46" AJ Yak 55 - Page 140 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Aug 27, 2012, 04:44 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
Agreed! I put 2 1/2 ounces of lead in the vyper nose to get the battery moved back. I really need to move that rudder servo.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 30, 2012, 06:54 PM
Registered User
booboo71's Avatar
My Yak seems to lack power. I have the Omega 130 and Castle Ice Lite 50 with a Zoar 13x7 using 3s Thunder Power 25c 2100 battery. Just watt metered it and it settled 360 watts and like 35 amps. Is this normal? I have a Zoar 14x7 I can try. Will that make much difference? Should i change the timing? Motrolfly it?
Aug 30, 2012, 07:02 PM
Time to Fly AJ's Best!
heritageflyer's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by booboo71
My Yak seems to lack power. I have the Omega 130 and Castle Ice Lite 50 with a Zoar 13x7 using 3s Thunder Power 25c 2100 battery. Just watt metered it and it settled 360 watts and like 35 amps. Is this normal? I have a Zoar 14x7 I can try. Will that make much difference? Should i change the timing? Motrolfly it?
Did you do the Fixed Endpoints Throttle Setup for the ICE?

Also, I ran 130's on High Timing, Fast Acceleration.

Should be seeing like 420-500 Watts, 40-50A depending on prop and settings.
Aug 30, 2012, 07:07 PM
Watts is where its at!
racerxky's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by booboo71
My Yak seems to lack power. I have the Omega 130 and Castle Ice Lite 50 with a Zoar 13x7 using 3s Thunder Power 25c 2100 battery. Just watt metered it and it settled 360 watts and like 35 amps. Is this normal? I have a Zoar 14x7 I can try. Will that make much difference? Should i change the timing? Motrolfly it?
Use the 14x7. More prop will pull more watts from the motor.
Aug 30, 2012, 07:25 PM
Registered User
booboo71's Avatar
Thanks guys!
Aug 30, 2012, 08:38 PM
Time to Fly AJ's Best!
heritageflyer's Avatar
I only run a Xoar 13x6.5, has plenty of speed and power, on a Motrolfly. But flew it on a 130g also.

For me, proper setup first, then play with props for the feel you want.
Aug 31, 2012, 12:25 AM
Team 3DHS / Team JR
Bivens's Avatar
How well do your packs hold voltage under load? Low "C" packs or older packs won't hold high voltages under wide-open throttle, resulting in lower wattage......on a fully charged pack, under full throttle after 5 seconds, what is your voltage? Amps? Watts?

With full power from the ESC, on good batts, I'd expect more wattage?

Where are you located? What altitude?
Sep 04, 2012, 10:45 PM
Registered User
booboo71's Avatar
Got it working better! Didnt watt meter it but I threw on a 14x7 and hooked the castle link back up. I didnt see the save settings button in the corner when switched it to high acceleration the first time. Now she will climb straight outta sight in no time at all! Rollers are smooth as glass with this plane! I was able to fix the leg on the landing gear too. I used some ca hinge material that came in a sheet and wrapped it tight while tacking and soaking it with ca then hit it with a black sharpie. It even held up to a bounce! Funny the other side never cracked.
Sep 07, 2012, 11:59 PM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by booboo71
My Yak seems to lack power. I have the Omega 130 and Castle Ice Lite 50 with a Zoar 13x7 using 3s Thunder Power 25c 2100 battery. Just watt metered it and it settled 360 watts and like 35 amps. Is this normal? I have a Zoar 14x7 I can try. Will that make much difference? Should i change the timing? Motrolfly it?
if the packs are holding ok can always prop up if amps and heat doesnt rise too high..
Never,ever can go wrong by motrolfly'ing it either.
Sep 08, 2012, 12:16 AM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
2815-950 on mine yet to fly...running a 13x6.5...hope its enough
Sep 22, 2012, 10:11 PM
Registered User
jsmith285's Avatar
Some fun with the yak

3DHS 46 Yak 55 Pilot Joe Smith (5 min 3 sec)
Sep 22, 2012, 10:38 PM
Registered User
how come mine doesnt fly like that
Sep 22, 2012, 10:40 PM
Registered User
jsmith285's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithy4129
how come mine doesnt fly like that
I'd Bet money it does.
Sep 22, 2012, 10:44 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmith285
I'd Bet money it does.
lol, not with me at the sticks!
Sep 22, 2012, 11:15 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
wow...hope to maiden my yak tomorrow.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion yak 55 M where sells this one ???? maikrotex 3D / Fun Fly Fuel Planes 1 Nov 07, 2010 10:23 AM
Found z RC4RS Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Oct 15, 2010 12:09 PM
Build Log Got parts from Hobby Lobby Yak 55, lets build a full fuse Yak 55 Lampatex Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 16 Jun 13, 2007 11:50 AM