Lumenier RB2205C-12 2400KV SKITZO Ceramic Bearing Motor
Thread Tools
Old Oct 10, 2012, 09:52 PM
jtaylor996 is offline
Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Registered Crasher
Do you mean you removed the BODA on the O7 RX? I'm not certain that's a good idea. It certainly won't cost the weight you added with the metal motor mount, but could save your model.

A little weight on this thing won't hurt. It'll just fly Even Better in wind. Who wants a floaty jug??

Remember to double check your CG before you fly. I had to add an ounce of lead to the tail of frame #2 to get it to balance properly. And I had to fly her into the ground at 60mph to figure that out (frame survived, just a little wing glue needed! new cowl, prop) The stock mount was unscathed, BTW, which is why I keep saying "what on earth could be better than the stock part" for that motor mount.

For a cheaper motor, I've got an exceed 3020-950kv motor in my 3DHS plane that weighs HALF of the P25 for the same output. I may try this in the jug to get it to balance without the lead tail weight.

I run an A9 as well. I suggest running a SPC lead off of the ESC for this plane.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 10, 2012, 09:57 PM
jtaylor996 is offline
Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Registered Crasher
Also, no idea why you need a separate BEC if you're using an A9 radio. Use the SPC directly from the lipo, it's way safer than using a BEC when you don't need it.

BECs are for those spektrum cave folks who have all those brownout issues...

The only plane I use a separate BEC on is my 3DHS, but that's only so I can get 6V output to make the HS65s snappier for aerobatics.
Old Oct 10, 2012, 10:31 PM
Ducati Mechanic is online now
Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
I removed the boosters, and cases for 3d a long time ago.. When all they had was Optima7's. it cuts the weight by more than half! Been flying the A9, and hitecs 2.4g from day One. Hitec actually says its fine. I don't fly very far away anyhow..

I power the RX from 4s power with the spc(it can take something like 30v?) and the servos/retract with the BEC. A bit redundant but a servo can't pull down the RX, and optima7's are power hungry!

I fly fast, and make fast transitions, in the past I've found the switching BEC regulated, gives the best power to the servos, with no fade. This is going to be a different type of jug. We're taking bets to see if I can torque roll it with the flaps ganged as ailerons.. I also bet someone I can do the snake with it!

I'm going for light with a neutral CG..
Last edited by Ducati Mechanic; Oct 10, 2012 at 10:48 PM.
Old Oct 10, 2012, 10:46 PM
jtaylor996 is offline
Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Registered Crasher
So is the airboss an opto ESC, then? I thought it had a switchable output BEC onboard...
Old Oct 10, 2012, 10:50 PM
Ducati Mechanic is online now
Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
It's a older one with a 5amp.. Not strong enough for all this stuff.even at 6a There designed to run four 65mg's.
Old Oct 10, 2012, 11:24 PM
skypan12 is offline
Find More Posts by skypan12
Registered User
I am trying to decide if flaps are just cool looking or do they really work to slow things down some.

My set up is with the Power 25, Ice 75, 4'Blade prop, 4S 3000 batt, Eflight main retracts and Robart TW retract so I may be on the heavier side of things from stock set up.

So will the flaps be helpful with a little heavier ship?
Old Oct 10, 2012, 11:32 PM
neck is offline
Find More Posts by neck
Jeremy-I'm crash proof!
neck's Avatar
You really think it's a radio brand thing? Wow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtaylor996 View Post
Also, no idea why you need a separate BEC if you're using an A9 radio. Use the SPC directly from the lipo, it's way safer than using a BEC when you don't need it.

BECs are for those spektrum cave folks who have all those brownout issues...

The only plane I use a separate BEC on is my 3DHS, but that's only so I can get 6V output to make the HS65s snappier for aerobatics.
Old Oct 11, 2012, 07:34 AM
19000rpm is offline
Find More Posts by 19000rpm
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by skypan12 View Post
I am trying to decide if flaps are just cool looking or do they really work to slow things down some.

My set up is with the Power 25, Ice 75, 4'Blade prop, 4S 3000 batt, Eflight main retracts and Robart TW retract so I may be on the heavier side of things from stock set up.

So will the flaps be helpful with a little heavier ship?
I have a similar set up without the tail retract and the flaps make her a dream to land. Without flaps it lands quite hot. The flaps are worth it to get a more scale like landing.
Last edited by 19000rpm; Oct 11, 2012 at 08:56 AM.
Old Oct 11, 2012, 07:52 AM
jdm2ner is offline
Find More Posts by jdm2ner
flying is everything
jdm2ner's Avatar
I have just about the something beside the 75 I use a 60amp esc and the flaps are great she just floats right in
Old Oct 11, 2012, 07:54 AM
kalmon is offline
Find More Posts by kalmon
Parkzone junkie
kalmon's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by skypan12 View Post
I am trying to decide if flaps are just cool looking or do they really work to slow things down some.

My set up is with the Power 25, Ice 75, 4'Blade prop, 4S 3000 batt, Eflight main retracts and Robart TW retract so I may be on the heavier side of things from stock set up.

So will the flaps be helpful with a little heavier ship?
The heavier the ship the more effect you get from flaps! I'd strongly recommend flaps for that setup.

-Brian
Old Oct 11, 2012, 08:02 AM
Razors edge 29 is online now
Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
QuAd FaNaTiC
Razors edge 29's Avatar
All my gear finally arrived; ready to start building now

Do i glue the h stab into place?
Old Oct 11, 2012, 08:09 AM
skypan12 is offline
Find More Posts by skypan12
Registered User
Thanks for the feedback on the Flaps guys I will put the flaps on it for sure
Old Oct 11, 2012, 08:11 AM
ForsheeMS is offline
Find More Posts by ForsheeMS
Registered User
ForsheeMS's Avatar
Quote:
Do i glue the h stab into place?
No, just 4 pieces of clear tape foam to plastic will hold it together just fine.
Old Oct 11, 2012, 11:36 AM
copperbricks is offline
Find More Posts by copperbricks
You can't take the sky from me
copperbricks's Avatar
Yeah, I have a bec on all of my planes, and all run hitec RXs with the psc. Redundancy never hurt anyone.
Old Oct 11, 2012, 11:46 AM
Razors edge 29 is online now
Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
QuAd FaNaTiC
Razors edge 29's Avatar
Thanks

Wasnt sure about cf spare either


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion World Models p47 1.20 dards Fuel Warbirds 1 Oct 20, 2010 11:55 AM
Discussion E-Flite P47 or Parkzone Corsair?? Gobstopper Electric Warbirds 13 Dec 02, 2009 10:37 PM
Discussion New Parkzone p51 or Greatplanes P47 casedit Electric Warbirds 5 Sep 01, 2009 10:08 AM