Thread Tools
Aug 08, 2011, 06:07 AM
Gravity gets me down.
helicow's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ460
I found the info regarding the Hitec servos that could be used as good replacements. Has anyone found a less expensive source or servo option? JJ
Someone on this forum has suggested theses. I have never used them, so can not say one way or the other.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=6608
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 08, 2011, 06:09 AM
Registered User
whats the recommended battery for this plane?
would this be a good choice?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9464
Aug 08, 2011, 06:51 AM
Registered User
alucard0822's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by vygec
whats the recommended battery for this plane?
would this be a good choice?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9464
Really heavy, and underpowered. With the APC 12X6 and 13X4 props you will draw about 70A WOT. 3300X20C=66A, You want the constant rating on the battery to at least match the current draw, however using an even higher discharge lipo will keep the batteries cooler, and can pick up an amp or two and up to 50w more just by switching the battery. Once the discharge gets above 50% higher than the draw there is no real benefit, for 70A, that would be 105A, that would be a 2650mah 40C, or 3,000mah 35C. For 3D, something lighter, prefferably under 300g is better, the 2650mah 35C nanotechs put out 92A, and weight just under 300g, probably the best mix of weight and flight duration for 3D. Some have been using 40 and 45C 2200mah batteries, they can come in around 250g, and can get a tailheavy CG if desired for 3D, although flight times will be short. If you mostly fly conventional aerobatics or pattern, a 3,000mah 30C might be better, the weight isn't as much of an issue, and can actually be beneficial to some degree in the wind. Problem is once you get near 350mah, you need to cut the bay deeper to get a neutral CG, A 300g LiPo pushed all the way back is about neutral.
Last edited by alucard0822; Aug 08, 2011 at 07:00 AM.
Aug 08, 2011, 10:04 PM
Registered User

replacement servos?


Other than the HS servo's, what other less expensive servos would work for 3D type work??
Aug 09, 2011, 10:02 AM
smoke is my wattmeter
I use these with Dubro's long JR arms. You'll need to enlarge the opening a bit but it's no problem. http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-19g-TP/Detail You can get them from Hobbyking also for about $9.50 if you don't mind the wait.
Aug 10, 2011, 02:09 AM
Registered User
crobar's Avatar
I may have missed this in the manual but what is the most accurate way to locate the manufacturers recommended cg near the fuselage versus out at the wing tips?
Aug 10, 2011, 07:07 PM
Tom Holdren
FlipFlops365's Avatar
what are you guys using for washers when installing larger wheels on the main landing gear to prevent the wheel from sliding?
Aug 11, 2011, 12:37 AM
Registered User
crobar's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlipFlops365
what are you guys using for washers when installing larger wheels on the main landing gear to prevent the wheel from sliding?
I use wheel locks, one on the inside and one on the outside of the wheel. I am using 2.5" thin white spoke wheels and they leave a lot of space on the axle.
Aug 11, 2011, 06:26 AM
Team Hillbilly
tominator06's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by crobar
I may have missed this in the manual but what is the most accurate way to locate the manufacturers recommended cg near the fuselage versus out at the wing tips?
Just get it perfect while supporting it at the wingtips then move your support close to the fuse till it balances out again and make a tiny mark or measure it for reference if you don't want to make a mark near the fuse..
Aug 11, 2011, 08:21 AM
Registered User
alucard0822's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by crobar
I may have missed this in the manual but what is the most accurate way to locate the manufacturers recommended cg near the fuselage versus out at the wing tips?
I used a peice of string, wrapped spanwise around the wings, and used a square to make marks next to the fuse. Marked it with the string around the tips at 6", and 1/4" intervals further back.
Aug 11, 2011, 03:25 PM
Registered User
crobar's Avatar
Thanks for the tips. This is the first plane I've had where the cg was called out at the wing tips as opposed to referencing the leading edge near the fuse.
Aug 11, 2011, 06:53 PM
Registered User
Toysrme's Avatar
well shoot. killed my stock battery & not anywhere i can buy another one.


wonder what would happen on a 3s2000 pack on a 12*6
Aug 11, 2011, 07:27 PM
Team Hillbilly
tominator06's Avatar
3s would not give enough Rpm with that prop. Just a guess but you would have to run a 14"-15" prop to get the thrust needed. I wouldn't even attempt it.
Aug 11, 2011, 07:34 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toysrme
well shoot. killed my stock battery & not anywhere i can buy another one.


wonder what would happen on a 3s2000 pack on a 12*6
Hobbypartz.com-- ValueHobby.com and alot of others have batt. in stock and at a resonable price!
Aug 11, 2011, 07:39 PM
Registered User
GetSome!'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toysrme


wonder what would happen on a 3s2000 pack on a 12*6
not a good idea if you like your plane


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold E-flite 4-Site like new BNF Version MK2 Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Sep 30, 2010 06:51 PM
Discussion Why Not wood -balsa BNF or PNP RC airplanes from E-flite? MerlinKing Parkflyers 3 Jan 20, 2010 08:45 PM
Discussion Why Not wood -balsa BNF or PNP RC airplanes from E-flite? MerlinKing Scale ARF/RTF 1 Jan 20, 2010 06:29 PM
Alert Ikarus Yak 54 Or E-Flite Extra 260 E-Flite Sobre 3DX shocky... jamiekerr 3D Flying 15 Aug 07, 2007 12:24 PM
Poll Part of Ikarus Yak 54 Or E-Flite Extra 260 E-Flite Sobre 3DX shocky... POLL jamiekerr 3D Flying 1 Aug 07, 2007 02:55 AM