Thread Tools
Old Oct 05, 2010, 05:31 PM
mtaylor698 is offline
Find More Posts by mtaylor698
Registered User
Discussion

DX8 registration problem??


As titled has anyone had a problem registering their DX8??

For some reason it says I'm entering an invalid serial number

I know it's case sensitive BUT it's pretty obvious what my serial is

Sent several emails to HH in the uk & USA
With only Andy hensold replying BUT with no answer.

I have also sent a pic of my transmitter showing the serial for the above to see aswel as a screenshot of the failed registration screen.

This has been going on now for over a week??


Tried using a mac aswel windows system using IE , firefox and safari from different pc's with no avail??

Just wish I could get to bottom of this mistake at spektrum's end.

Seriously taking the shine of this great transmitter.
I am reluctant to use the transmitter until I have updated the earlier glitches BUT with no transmitter now I'm snookered.

Cheers
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 05, 2010, 05:53 PM
olmod is offline
Find More Posts by olmod
Good Better Best quest.
olmod's Avatar
I read that the registration number is in the software not externally.
Old Oct 05, 2010, 06:01 PM
Telrin is online now
Find More Posts by Telrin
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by olmod View Post
I read that the registration number is in the software not externally.
Yes, the OP knows this, he has the TX in front of him and can find the screen showing the serial number, it is just not proving possible to get the community site to accept the serial number he has there including any plausible variation of i/1/j/l etc. or 0/o and so on.

This has been debated on another forum so all normal solutions have been tried but hopefully a new idea can be found here
Old Oct 05, 2010, 06:09 PM
Dave H. is online now
Find More Posts by Dave H.
Registered User
It would probably help to have a link to the original so we know all the "normal" solutions that were tried. That way we can make sure our proposals are "abnormal".
Old Oct 05, 2010, 06:10 PM
mtaylor698 is offline
Find More Posts by mtaylor698
Registered User
Just sent a pic of my serial to Andy kunz

I just hope he can sort for me??

Cheers
Old Oct 05, 2010, 06:39 PM
mtaylor698 is offline
Find More Posts by mtaylor698
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H. View Post
It would probably help to have a link to the original so we know all the "normal" solutions that were tried. That way we can make sure our proposals are "abnormal".
http://www.rcheliaddict.co.uk/transm...n-problem.html

Cheers
Old Oct 05, 2010, 07:02 PM
Dave H. is online now
Find More Posts by Dave H.
Registered User
OK, in that thread it says that Horizon is working on a fix, so I think that means that there's nothing you or I could do. We just need to wait for them.
Old Oct 05, 2010, 07:18 PM
mtaylor698 is offline
Find More Posts by mtaylor698
Registered User
Big thanks to Andy kunz @ Spektrum

All sorted

Cheers again Andy. Great service

Mark
Old Oct 05, 2010, 10:52 PM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
No problem, Mark.

If anybody else runs into problems, an e-mail to our Support folks should be all it takes to resolve it. Please include a photo of your serial screen and type the serial in the text of the e-mail. It takes a couple hours for the database to be updated once we have valid serial info. Obviously, we're working to make sure we don't have this problem recurring, but I suspect a few more will pop up before we catch them all.

Andy
Site Sponsor
Old Oct 06, 2010, 06:25 AM
deha is offline
Find More Posts by deha
Registered User
Just a note re. the unknown serial # problem: I ran into this one too, and in my case I found I had misinterpreted the sequence "Ql" for "QJ" because of the display font kerning algorithm putting both characters too close together so they were touching each other at the bottom, making it impossible to tell the alternatives apart. Guess using a nonproportional font or improving the kerning algorithm would help a great deal here.
Old Oct 06, 2010, 09:51 AM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
We changed the font a little and use fixed pitch in the updated version.

Of course, that's only visible AFTER you have already successfully registered.

Andy
Site Sponsor
Old Oct 06, 2010, 01:50 PM
deha is offline
Find More Posts by deha
Registered User
Yes, confirmed... Ql is very clearly Ql now with 1.02 :-)
Old Oct 08, 2010, 05:08 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Dear Spektrum Community,

Please visit the Spektrum Community Site to download the latest update for your DX8! AirWare v1.03 includes new features as well as addressing all known issues since the initial release.
The following upgrades have been added:

• Improved Heli Servo Travel Adjust functionality for swash leveling
•Enhanced Telemetry Status Screen
•Telemetry Auto-Display option
• Added Back button functionality to SD File Navigation

As well as corrections in the following areas:

•Heli Mode Mix
•Differential Issue
•Model Save Corruption
•Heli Bind Issue
Old Oct 22, 2010, 10:17 PM
edubs2121 is offline
Find More Posts by edubs2121
If you got 'em, fly 'em

Registration Issue


I too cannot register my DX8. The last 4 characters are "k+VG". Is the "+" character a mistake?

Sent message to DX8 Support. Have not received a response yet.
Old Oct 23, 2010, 08:08 AM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
No, the + character is valid.

Andy
Site Sponsor


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Contest Long Island, NY - ESL LISF 2 09/25 - 09/26 - Registration is Open aeajr Thermal 4 Sep 27, 2010 12:53 PM
Discussion TNT early registration is open Hostage-46 Soaring League of North Texas (SLNT) 0 Aug 29, 2010 10:12 PM
Discussion Registration Problem car1ce Electric Flight Expo 4 Mar 02, 2009 05:39 PM
Suggestion registration problem- help Airboatflyingshp Site Suggestions / Complaints 2 May 21, 2007 05:37 AM