New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:43 PM
lech is offline
Find More Posts by lech
Registered User
Thanks guys u are always a great help
Regards Mal
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:19 AM
gchrisgo34 is offline
Find More Posts by gchrisgo34
Registered User
gchrisgo34's Avatar
dynam GC 310 (8 min 17 sec)
trying to learn to post vids. please bare with me
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:20 AM
gchrisgo34 is offline
Find More Posts by gchrisgo34
Registered User
gchrisgo34's Avatar
oh baby, baby!!!!! believe i got it. thanks for the help
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:34 PM
Fei Hu is offline
Find More Posts by Fei Hu
Staying 3 mistakes high!
Fei Hu's Avatar
I need some advice in how to get all the wires through the wing and still get the foam plug back in place. I added flaps and wing tip lights and there are so many wires running through the channel that the foam sticks out 1/8 inch and the magnets on the foam won't hold. Any suggestions?
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:40 PM
bamaguy is offline
Find More Posts by bamaguy
Don't Move I've Dropped My Nut
bamaguy's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fei Hu View Post
I need some advice in how to get all the wires through the wing and still get the foam plug back in place. I added flaps and wing tip lights and there are so many wires running through the channel that the foam sticks out 1/8 inch and the magnets on the foam won't hold. Any suggestions?
Carve a channel out of the foam plug for the excess thickness of your wire bundle.
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:31 PM
gchrisgo34 is offline
Find More Posts by gchrisgo34
Registered User
gchrisgo34's Avatar
i used some tape to hold the wires down, and snug. then carved a light channel in the wing plug so it would fit down flush
Old Jan 15, 2013, 09:34 AM
Naval Warfare is offline
Find More Posts by Naval Warfare
Screw the wind, let's fly!
Naval Warfare's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcflyinff View Post
Naval Warfare, I'm confused, is this pre or post motor swap? Either way, very nice flight!

Post motor swap on the first video. The sunset video was pre swap.
The lights are from nito planes.. Thanks for the kind words on me flying.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sj3cub View Post
Sounds like you have some serious vibration issues in the above posted video. Are the props balanced?
It's the stock spinners throwing shet out of balance that yer hearing
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:32 PM
Fei Hu is offline
Find More Posts by Fei Hu
Staying 3 mistakes high!
Fei Hu's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gchrisgo34 View Post
i used some tape to hold the wires down, and snug. then carved a light channel in the wing plug so it would fit down flush
Wow! What a neat and tidy job. I admire your patience. I have a bunch of wires but I made it better using a few dabs of hot glue to hold everything together. Not as neat as you but it'll work.
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:34 PM
Fei Hu is offline
Find More Posts by Fei Hu
Staying 3 mistakes high!
Fei Hu's Avatar
Here's my final product with the lights installed. One problem though. When I put the red/green lights in the wing tips, they worked. Plug in everything else and the green one quits. That's twice and I can't figure it out.

DSCF0173 (0 min 26 sec)
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:39 PM
dahawk47 is online now
Find More Posts by dahawk47
Augermeister
dahawk47's Avatar
Very cool indeed. Curious as to how you made the landing lights switchable with the gear on channel 5
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:06 PM
captain MoMo is offline
Find More Posts by captain MoMo
Mach One
captain MoMo's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fei Hu View Post
Here's my final product with the lights installed. One problem though. When I put the red/green lights in the wing tips, they worked. Plug in everything else and the green one quits. That's twice and I can't figure it out.

http://youtu.be/KxzifAPPBvw
Very nice indeed!

I am also curious how you did your switch for the landing lights. I really want to do the same ;-) I will appreciate it if you could provide the details, the switch type, where you bought it and etc. Thanks in advance!.
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:35 PM
Fei Hu is offline
Find More Posts by Fei Hu
Staying 3 mistakes high!
Fei Hu's Avatar
I placed the switch in the nose wheel well with extra foam and hot glue. Test to make sure it's at the right height to activate the switch without causing the gear to bind and overload. The wheel just hits the switch enough to push the lever.
This is the switch I used from Radio Shack.
http://tinyurl.com/c87qz57
There are 3 posts on the bottom. Use a multimeter to test which 2 to use for switch up=lights on, switch down=lights off.
The RC Lander unit comes with a slide on/off swtich for the landing lights which I replaced with the micro lever switch.



Quote:
Originally Posted by captain MoMo View Post
Very nice indeed!

I am also curious how you did your switch for the landing lights. I really want to do the same ;-) I will appreciate it if you could provide the details, the switch type, where you bought it and etc. Thanks in advance!.
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:37 PM
rcflyinff is online now
Find More Posts by rcflyinff
Registered User
rcflyinff's Avatar
Sweet Fei Hu! Planned on doing a similar paint scheme. We are going to do the bottom of the fuse, tip tanks and top of vertical all red. I also like the lights, but swore I'd never install another set. I would like to utilize the ones that come with it if I could figure out how to hook them up. Hope to see a maiden sometime soon
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:27 PM
captain MoMo is offline
Find More Posts by captain MoMo
Mach One
captain MoMo's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcflyinff View Post
Sweet Fei Hu! Planned on doing a similar paint scheme. We are going to do the bottom of the fuse, tip tanks and top of vertical all red. I also like the lights, but swore I'd never install another set. I would like to utilize the ones that come with it if I could figure out how to hook them up. Hope to see a maiden sometime soon
RC flying - don't bother hooking up the ones that come with the kit - they are very weak and you can't see them, even in the dark. If you want to go through the work of installing the, just replace them with ones from Hobby King or other brighter lighting systems. I made this mistake and had to redo teh whole thing as I was not happy with teh light quality of the stock setup. My 2 cent for you.
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:32 AM
rcflyinff is online now
Find More Posts by rcflyinff
Registered User
rcflyinff's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain MoMo View Post
RC flying - don't bother hooking up the ones that come with the kit - they are very weak and you can't see them, even in the dark. If you want to go through the work of installing the, just replace them with ones from Hobby King or other brighter lighting systems. I made this mistake and had to redo teh whole thing as I was not happy with teh light quality of the stock setup. My 2 cent for you.
Thank you Capt. I installed a set from headsuprc.com in my sons SR22. Even though they work, I don't think they were worth the time or money (nothing against headsup). They too are not very bright either. I was hoping a simple hook up of the pre-installed lights would give it a little WOW factor. No big deal.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold toyota land cruiser flynfred Cars - Trucks and Parts (FS/W) 0 Sep 27, 2010 06:48 PM
Discussion Groupner "Commodore" cabin cruiser oztruck Scale Boats 2 Sep 15, 2010 08:06 AM
Wanted controller for New Bright PT Cruiser jclush Cars - Accessories (FS/W) 0 Sep 11, 2010 01:31 PM
Sold Sea Cruiser II & Kadet Senior dls Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Sep 06, 2010 05:46 PM
Discussion Sterling 32' Cruiser or the Berkley 22' Express Cruiser RussellTate Scale Boats 15 Oct 26, 2009 10:41 PM