Jul 01, 2003, 10:03 AM
The Airplane Gremlin
Thread OP

Chosing Trainer...Kit?Plans?RTF?

I'm new to the hobby...but only in the sense that I havn't flown a "real" R/C plane yet. I have been playing with simulators, talking by email with some guys at the local club, am about to join the club, and I have been reading everything I possibly can. Just yesterday I read a 200 page book on what "newbies" should know about the hobby. It was called Take Off by Alex Weiss. I have spent about a month in these forums, and two or three in another forum site. As you can see, I'm pretty hooked on the hobby and I want a balsa, kit built trainer to start off.

Is kit-built my best option? I do not want to cut out my own parts like with plans but I do want to construct the model so I can repair when necessary. I do not want a RTF model because I want to pick out all my radio equiptment and as I have already said, I want to be able to know how to repair everything.

Also, I want to get a glow-powered model. I have compared electric and glow and my own ideas combined with the advice of the guys at the club I have decided that glow-power will be best to start with. What size engine should I go for...and which trainers are best for the engine size you recommend?

As for radio gear, I'm going to go for a Flash 5sx if after getting the model I cannot afford a better TX like the Futaba 9c...If I can get the model, servo, and rx cost around $175 then I'll be able to afford the 9c, tx only, with no shipping from an online store (trustable etc.).

I have about $420 to spend total for my first outfit so If you have any ideas just let me know. Oh, and I'll be getting another $30 from a couple babysitting jobs I have in a couple days.

Thanks for your time,
~John
to remove ads between posts
Jul 01, 2003, 10:51 AM