Thread Tools
Sep 18, 2010, 04:23 PM
Flying like an Angel.
BlueAngel2000's Avatar
Review is already ready.
Will be posted soon, only a few days.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 18, 2010, 04:27 PM
Kiwi in Germany
whakahere's Avatar
thanks, I am looking forward to reading it.
Sep 19, 2010, 06:37 PM
Registered User
bingo17's Avatar
I use the Foxtech 5.8ghz from himodel.com, worth every penny imo.
Compared to Fox 800/1280mhz, the quality is better.
See a sample video here:
FPV 5.8GHz 200mw AXN Floater Jet scenic flight with dead stick ending (9 min 10 sec)

Range with stock antenna is 1000m
Sep 19, 2010, 08:46 PM
hi, Guys,
thanks for asking reviews of the tx/rx, 2.4G 500mw is my personal favorite so far, gives you 3km in the air, 5.8G 200mw, due to its much smaller output, 800-1000m in the air, and if you use a 5dbi omni-directional antenna, then over 1500m in the air with 200m altitude, the aboves are my personal test result, however, someone achieved 5km with 5.8G 200mw with the 12dbi patch antenna, which broke my 3km personal record.
anyway, keep in mind 12 dbi patch is very directional, so you should turn it to the plane direction more often.

I appreciated Daniel's test ,which shows the great power of the 2.4G 500mw tx, for the rx, we are also making detachable band-pass filter to give it much improved performance.
FOXTECH,
Fu
Sep 20, 2010, 01:37 AM
Fast and low...
aa78's Avatar
Thread OP
Waiting on the review myself...
Sep 20, 2010, 04:58 AM
Kiwi in Germany
whakahere's Avatar
While I would love to have the 2.4 the main problem is 2.4 is standard RC control here in Europe. I fear getting a fuzzy picture and right now I have only a 2.4 transmitter myself. To top that off I am only looking to go max 1 - 3 KM right now. I guess as time passes and my budget increases I might shift away from using my 2.4 TX and then looking into buying the 2.4 system.

I am interested in the review though. I want to see as many points of view before I spend my money. I at least want a good experience or it is a waste of money. I hate wasting money
Sep 21, 2010, 04:57 AM
Registered User
AndrésMtnez's Avatar
Hi,

I´ve recently bought the 5,8 200mw tx/rx but couldn´t fly, the picture gone just after the launch. I´ve just realiced the tx and rx channels are different, so if you set the plugs the same way the tx is on ch2 and the rx is on ch7....

And channels are different if you look at the webpage or if you look at the instruction sheet, at least in the rx side....

What´s the correct one?

Anyone knows the frequency of each channel?


Thanks
Andrés
Sep 21, 2010, 05:03 AM
Flying like an Angel.
BlueAngel2000's Avatar
here is the manufacturer:
http://translate.google.com/translat...ate.google.com

here are the right channels
Sky-RF 5,8GHz
1 5,705
2 5,685
3 5,665
4 5,645
5 5,885
6 5,905
7 5,925
8 5,945
Sep 21, 2010, 05:24 AM
Registered User
AndrésMtnez's Avatar
Thanks BlueAngel but, what´s the correct position of the switches on the tx and rx for each channel?

In my instructions for the tx/rx it´s:

u (up), d (down)

1: uuuu/dddu
2: duuu/uddu
3: uduu/dudu
4: dduu/uudu
5: uudu/dduu
6: dudu/uduu
7: uddu/duuu
8: dddu/uuuu

and I did set it up duuu both in the tx and rx, but the frequencies should be too far to see anything (ch2 on tx and ch7 on rx), and I had a perfect picture till the launch
Sep 21, 2010, 06:47 AM
Flying like an Angel.
BlueAngel2000's Avatar
I don't know which channel has which switches.
Best if you use:
uuuu/uuuu
or
dddd/dddd
Sep 22, 2010, 02:57 AM
Registered User
AndrésMtnez's Avatar
Thanks, but that was the problem. I did use uddd in both the tx and rx and they are different channels. I´ve done a test into my house, and with the switches like I tried to fly I loose the picture just when I go out of the room, but if I use the switches positions I said in the previous reply (different for the tx and rx, accordingly to the instructions) I can go to the other side of the house and still have some image, depending on the antenna position. With 2,4 I had a perfect picture at the other side of the house, but I guess with 5,8 it´s normal, so I´m confident

I´m going out to do a real test

Thanks anyway
Andrés
Sep 22, 2010, 11:10 AM
Registered User
AndrésMtnez's Avatar
Confirmed, that was the problem

I was trying to fly with ch2 at the tx (5685mhz) and ch7 at the rx (5925mhz), that´s what is setted with the switches duuu both on the tx and rx so I think the video gear, specially the rx, works flawlesly if I was watching some picture

I´ve been flying on a very hard environement for the video gear (next to a big RF tower) and even when I was suffering more glitches than with the 2,4g gear I think it works very nice. Both setups are 200mw and the range is very similar. I couldn´t check it like I would like because I had more rc glitches than video problems but I think the range with the 5,8g gear is very close, if not equal, to the 2,4g gear.

I´ve not gone further than 500m, but I know the place and it´s a good mark considering I was using the whip antenna on the rx. A better place to fly (any other place ) will give much better results for sure
Sep 22, 2010, 01:36 PM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
Does anyone know if there is somewhere on the board to tap 5v out for the camera or does the board step it down to 3.3v for the tx? I power my tx from a 3s lipo and it would be nice to get 5v out for the camera like you can do with the immersionRC 500mW tx.
Sep 22, 2010, 02:55 PM
Flying like an Angel.
BlueAngel2000's Avatar
No, there is only the step down to 3,3V for the module.

Just use a Recom 5V switching regulator or a linear 7805 vreg.
Sep 22, 2010, 04:19 PM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAngel2000
No, there is only the step down to 3,3V for the module.

Just use a Recom 5V switching regulator or a linear 7805 vreg.
I already use a 7805, but stepping down from a 3s lipo means that it gets quite hot. I have a dual voltage PSU from Foxtech the puts out 10v and 5v, but that is in another model. I really must get another one of those as it just takes a lot of hassle out of setting up an FPV system that needs 2 different voltages. Trying to keep 4 different FPV models in service takes some effort.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold generic 2.4g camera setup rgadagno Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 1 Aug 11, 2010 01:20 PM
New Product New 2.4G & 5.8G Double Frequencies Wireless Video FPV System--Upgrade Version bipowrc FPV Talk 7 Dec 19, 2009 04:18 AM
Discussion IF OSC camera lens needed zaguruinzasky FPV Talk 5 Sep 28, 2009 06:07 AM
Discussion 2.4G VTx + 2.4G Tx ? kason FPV Talk 6 Aug 27, 2009 04:59 AM
Question is there a modulair system for rx/ap/vtx/osd ? cmulder FPV Talk 14 May 20, 2009 08:52 PM