Aug 16, 2010, 04:01 PM
Real Time Recon
Thread OP
Discussion

Don't fly RC at an airport

Last edited by realtimerecon; Sep 22, 2010 at 03:52 PM.
Aug 16, 2010, 04:29 PM
Fault seems not to be with the RC pilot - be interested to see the damage on the full-size - looked like a wingtip strike!
Aug 16, 2010, 05:08 PM
GTH NFL
Whoa - here's an interesting and plausible post from Youtube.

Quote:
This took place at the Van Airpark North of Denver. The RC pilot was being spotted by the airboss and was following his direction. From what I can gather the full scale pilot did not respond to the airboss and made an unannounced fly-by. Chris had about 3 seconds warning before the impact. Not enough time to get a stationary airplane cleared of the area.
Aug 16, 2010, 05:19 PM
Why are RC planes flying at an active airport? Was that a AMA sanctioned event? Sorry but as a licensed pilot I feel the RC flier was crazy to be over the active runway. He is really lucky the pilot of the biplane was, I hope, uninjured. Wonder who is paying for the repairs and also wonder if the FAA got involved. That is scary.
Aug 16, 2010, 05:27 PM
Low, slow and dirty
At air shows with one landing strip. They usually shut down the airport while the RC guys fly!

RC activities are usually done at the end of the field
Aug 16, 2010, 05:36 PM
56S
56S
Certified Balsa Breaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by BE77 Pilot
Why are RC planes flying at an active airport? Was that a AMA sanctioned event? Sorry but as a licensed pilot I feel the RC flier was crazy to be over the active runway. He is really lucky the pilot of the biplane was, I hope, uninjured. Wonder who is paying for the repairs and also wonder if the FAA got involved. That is scary.