Aug 09, 2010, 08:35 AM
Balsa Lover
Thread OP
Build Log

Peter Rake's Fokker F.II - 30" Prototype Build

Peter Rake kindly lets me build a prototype of his 30" Fokker F.II.

Currently i'm studying the plan and will probably visit my local modeling shop for laser cutting the parts later this week.

Quote:
From Wikipedia:

The Fokker F.II was the first of a long series of commercial aircraft from the Fokker Aircraft Company, flying in 1919. In a biplane age, it presented a distinct clean, high wing monoplane style that sold successfully across Europe and North America during the development of commercial passenger-carrying aviation

General characteristics
Crew: One pilot
Capacity: 5 passengers
Length: 11.65 m (38 ft 3 in)
Wingspan: 16.10 m (52 ft 10 in)
Height: 3.66 m (12 ft 0 in)
Wing area: 38.2 m² (411 ft²)
Empty weight: 1,200 kg (2,650 lb)
Gross weight: 1,900 kg (4,190 lb)
Powerplant: 1 × Armstrong Siddeley Puma, 180 kW (240 hp) each

Performance
Maximum speed: 150 km/h (93 mph)
Cruising speed: 120 km/h (75 mph)
Range: 1,200 km (750 miles)
Last edited by gupi; Aug 10, 2010 at 11:53 AM. Reason: Added data of the original Fokker F.II
to remove ads between posts
Aug 09, 2010, 08:37 AM
Balsa Lover
Thread OP
Pete,

I noticed two issues while looking at the plan:

1. On the plan it seems that rib R7 is marked twice, while R8 is missing.

2. On the sheet with the parts to cut, TE1 is missing.

gupi
Aug 09, 2010, 08:57 AM
Oops. The ribs themselves were correct, both on plan and cut file, I just labelled two the same. The missing trailing edge piece is now added and I've sent you the revised file.

Pete
Aug 10, 2010, 12:02 PM
Balsa Lover
Thread OP
Thanks, Pete.

I'm thinking to use the classic KLM color scheme. They were Fokker's first customer.

gupi
Aug 13, 2010, 12:11 PM
Balsa Lover
Thread OP
Finally it's getting serious. I visited my model shop today and printed out the plan two times: one for building on it and one to hang on the wall for reference.