Aug 07, 2010, 02:42 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

A beginner with a brand-new plane -- HobbyZone Super Cub

Well, I bought a new plane yesterday. I am a beginner. My first plane was a HobbyZone Mini Super Cub, whose ACT (Anti Crash Technology) caused the plane to hit a fence and get split in half. And I didn't even know anything about balancing a plane, so the tail that I glued back together and added tape was very heavy. That was a bad start, but I loved the little time that it lasted. I loved this hobby before I started, and that's because I was obsessed with flying kites as I was growing up...

Then I got a GWS Slow Stick. One word, ouch. It would roll to the left and up. I was able to control the up thrust by moving the battery, but the torque roll to the left was absolutely horrible from day 1 until the fatal crash (due to a dead servo actually).

Yesterday I bought the HobbyZone Super Cub. It took me a few minutes to assemble the tail and landing gear. Everything else is ready. I have not maidened it yet because I will not fly anything before checking the CG. The manual does not mention a thing about the plane's CG; however, after searching the web, I learned that it is EXACTLY at 2.25". So, this morning, I inserted the battery pack in the compartment (wow, talk about a tight fit. It barely fits at all), and the plane was 100% balanced at 2.25". The manual won't even mention because the plane comes 100% balance (not 99.9%, 100%) right out of the box when everything is stock!

Now I hope the battery won't be damaged by the fact that it has to be jammed into the tight compartment, but at least it will never move inside during flight.

I've been meaning to get this plane from the very beginning, so I am very excited. From my research, I expect this plane to be totally repairable and easy to fly. I will be able to continue learning.